Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
A cracking read from start to finish. It draws you in from the very first chapter with a compelling central character in the shape of Joe Tesla - not forgetting his canine companion, Edison. Really well written by a master storyteller who also writes the Blood Gospel series with James Rollins.
An absolute steal. Looking forward to the next installment.
Published 5 months ago by Marta

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not so good
writing is a bit sort of plain for me - stark - it feels derivative - i know Cantrell has many followers who adore her work, but i am just left cold
Published 19 days ago by Leslie Gardner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 29 Jan 2014
This review is from: The World Beneath (Joe Tesla Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A cracking read from start to finish. It draws you in from the very first chapter with a compelling central character in the shape of Joe Tesla - not forgetting his canine companion, Edison. Really well written by a master storyteller who also writes the Blood Gospel series with James Rollins.
An absolute steal. Looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world beneath, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Beneath (Joe Tesla Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book it's the first I've read by Rebecca Cantrell but won't be the last. Is there really an old Victorian house underneath grand central station I'm gonna find out can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original hero with a psychological flaw, 3 Dec 2013
This review is from: The World Beneath (Joe Tesla Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Joe Tesla lives in the tunnels under New York's Grand Central Station, marooned there by an attack of agoraphobia that cripples him with panic if he tries to go outside. One night, as he roams his underground terrain, he comes upon a man, clearly ex-military, breaking down a wall to reveal a old train-car, the inhabitants bricked up alive to stop them sharing their secrets. When the man is murdered, and the madness he carried in his brain released, Tesla must race against time to stop more people being infected, as well as saving his own life from those who want to keep the secret hidden.

An original hero with a psychological flaw, Tesla and his dog, Edison, will keep you engaged until the end of this fast-paced thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Beneath (Joe Tesla Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Deep underground there is a house amongst the train tunnels which is occupied by an agoraphobic computer geek. Tesla, accompanied by his dog, become a force to be reckoned with. I look forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars claustrophobia underground, 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: The World Beneath (Joe Tesla Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Joe Tesla is agoraphobic and lives a New York life, underground away from people. Luckily he is rich and can afford to live in a posh underground mansion with his dog. He becomes caught up in a plot involving Dr Dubois infecting humans, germ warfare style. We follow Tesla, as he comes across a body and goes on the run to escape a killer.

An enjoyable adventure, that made me feel slightly claustrophobic. Amazing that most of the story takes place underground and Joe manages to survive this strange lifestyle with his faithful dog. After the historical Hannah Vogel series, I wondered if Rebecca Cantrell could work her magic again. She did. I really loved it and hope we see more of Joe Tesla again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Beneath (Joe Tesla Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
1st Novel I'd read by Rebecca Cantrell although read a book shed written with James Rollins which prompted me to read this. Very good read and will definitely read her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not so good, 5 July 2014
By 
Leslie Gardner (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Beneath (Joe Tesla Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
writing is a bit sort of plain for me - stark - it feels derivative - i know Cantrell has many followers who adore her work, but i am just left cold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Beneath (Joe Tesla Book 1)
2.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews