Customer Reviews


14 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding performance - a joy to listen to!, 20 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Your Tuneful Voice (Audio CD)
I was recently given this CD which is a glorious programme of arias from Handel's oratorios performed by the acclaimed counter tenor Iestyn Davies with The King's Consort directed by Robert King. It is a delight to be introduced to some of the lesser well known arias such as those from Esther (these are my particular favourites on the CD). After listening to this recording it's easy to understand why Iestyn Davies is in such demand!The recording has a wide variety of pieces comprising mainly solo arias together with more virtuosic ones (eg Up The Dreadful Steep Ascending, How can I Stay when love invites).There also two beautiful arias where Iestyn Davies is joined by the soprano Carolyn Sampson: Welcome as the Dawn of Day, Who Calls my Parting Soul from Death (the latter is a spine tingling performance) and both soloists sing with such sensual intensity.
The King's Consort as ever play with wonderful energy and style and also with great precision - they're on top form!
This recording should have a wide appeal to Baroque and Handel specialists, singers and players. It deserves to be a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, lovely to listen to, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is a pure delight. The orchestra and soloists are brilliant - especially Iestyn davies who has a lovely, pure voice. It's not music that I am at all familiar with - but listening to it I felt I had known it all my life.

Highly recommended for those who like Handel or Baroque music in general - and an absolute must for fans of Iestyn Davies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An earthly perfection, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iestyn Davies' voice is a thing of beauty, both ethereal and commanding. 'Eternal source of light divine' is ravishing, barely of this world.
When I die, and if I get to heaven, the angels will have their work cut out to produce anything that sounds more wondrous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iestyn Davies displays staggering control through all the range, sensitive, refined, an absolute joy. Track 2 'Mortals think that Time is sleeping' is pure magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb CD, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Tuneful Voice (Audio CD)
I am playing this CD frequently - it is a most wonderful collection of music for the counter tenor, superbly performed by this amazing singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This CD I love. His voice is clear and beautiful, 29 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Tuneful Voice (Audio CD)
This CD I love. His voice is clear and beautiful, if one can say that about the male voice. I play this in my car, and enjoy every piece. Handel is one of my many favourite composers, and I like the counter tenor voice.I would highly recommend this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handel arias, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Tuneful Voice (Audio CD)
A magnificent countertenor singing a fine selection of arias. He must be one of the foremost countertenors of today with a beautiful clear voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely wonderful cd of Iestyn Davies singing Handel, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Tuneful Voice (Audio CD)
An absolutely wonderful cd of Iestyn Davies singing Handel. The best counter tenor voice on the planet at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd of my favourite counter tenor, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Tuneful Voice (Audio CD)
its a wonderful cd - brings out the best of Iestyn Davies. I strongly recommend this cd to anyone interested in the counter tenor voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful album, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Tuneful Voice (Audio CD)
I heard this album first on a long haul flight and decided to buy it. As a listener who likes Handel and the counter tenor voice I have really enjoyed this album. The orchestra only tracks make for a nice balance. My only slight gripe is that the quality of the soprano voice is not in the same class as Mr Davies, however, that is really a reflection of how good he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Tuneful Voice
Your Tuneful Voice by George Frideric Handel (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews