Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COP WITH MORALS
This film is based on a true story, and stars Al Pacino as Frank Serpico, the title of the film. Newly recruited as a New York cop, Serpico sees the corruption that is going on, and wants no part of it. All he wants to be is an honest cop. But others around him think otherwise and try to tempt him into their corrupt world. He gets transferred several times to different...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by Graham

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no poster !!!!!!!
as great as the movie serpico is the only reason i bought this version of the film was for the limited edition poster.
Published 20 months ago by ewan forsyth


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Early Pacino, 10 Feb 2008
By 
Ian Shine (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I'd heard a lot about this film before I watched it - about the story; about how it made Pacino's reputation - and consequently expected a lot of it. I'm glad to say that it exceeded my expectations. The story was gripping and extremely well-told; in fact, I can't remember the last time I was so absorbed in a film. It's also interesting to see early Pacino, forging his explosive active style.
Thematically, it takes a different angle to many 70s films, with the liberal cop Serpico coming up against the more typical corrupt and right-wing cops and facing alienation because of his honesty.
A brilliant film that owes a lot to Pacino's performance, but is certainly more than just a line on Pacino's CV. It stands up for itself and merits 130 minutes of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooler than Samuel L Jackson................, 27 Dec 2003
By 
J. C. Eames "Winston" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I'll start by saying that another reviewer of this film wrote the following .......
" great film and a must for any Al Pacino fan."
Very true, yet this film MADE me an Al Pacino fan, for I had seen The Godfather trilogy in the annals of my past yet they do not focus entirely on him and could only vaguely remember them.
The reason I picked up this film is the fact that I am a big Robert De Niro fan for such films as Raging Bull and Taxi Driver, and know that the two are hotly contested for being peoples favourite actors. So having not seen many Pacino films decided to see one.
I was not dissapointed.
On first viewing i felt the film moved along at a steady to slow pace yet never got boring in fact was enthrallilng especially as it is based on fact.
Overall i enjoyed the film and found Pacino to be both funny and cool, yet showed at great lengths what his character was going through, and I really felt for him. That is the sign of a great actor, it's not the actor on the screen or a portrayal it is Frank Serpico himself.
It did not rank it as my favourite film at first viewing but on the second and beyond it's now damn close, iv'e recommended it to my friend and brother and have and will be buying more Al Pacino films for my collection.
Pacino exudes class on the screen, and his character of an honest cop fighting against corruption and fighting for his values and morals is one example of an honest person that is very moving, and for any film fan is essential viewing. The acting alone could have made this a classic especially the scene under the bridge where Pacino ( not on script ) gets so wrapped up in the moment sceams. It's just a classic and great film.
Yes friends that is the title I have given it for it is up there with my film greats.
(On a final note if anyone knows where i can get my hands on a hat like he wears in the film please drop me a line i would be very grateful!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING TRUE STORY, 8 Sep 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
serpico is the true story of new york cop frank serpico who risked his life and name when he went undercover to expose the failings and deception of fellow cops,which although commendable isnt great when the cops turn against you for turning tout.

The film is delicate at times,poignant,violent and mainly tense and taut and beggars belief at times in challenging the viewer into asking what they would do in the same situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I watched this many, many years ago and it's so good to be able to watch it again. Very nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
One of my favourite films, I cannot recommend this film highly enough, I am glad to have purchased this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Film. Classic, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Al Pacino in his younger years playing a tough cop trying to stop police pay off deals. Gritty performance. A must have film for Pacino lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An honest cop. Who would believe that?, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Serpico is directed by Sidney Lumet and adapted to screenplay by Waldo Salt and Norman Wexler from Peter Maas’ biography of NYPD officer Frank Serpico who stood up to expose rife corruption in the force. It stars Al Pacino, John Randolph, Jack Kehoe, Biff McGuire, Bernard Barrow, Nathan George and Tony Roberts. Music is by Mikis Theodorakis and Giacomo Puccini and cinematography by Arthur J. Ornitz.

Great story telling meets a first class acting performance in Lumet’s searing movie. Frank Serpico (Pacino), a legend to us mere mortals out on the street, but the most hated man on the NYPD, so much so he almost paid for his sense of what’s right and wrong with his life.

Picture follows Frank through his integration on the force and onto the build up of corruption he comes across. All the time we are also getting an insight into the man himself, his life and loves outside of work, with Lumet and Pacino making sure Frank is not painted as a saintly perfectionist, there is no halo above his head, he has flaws like everybody else. New York is expertly painted as a raw and grubby place, the hustle and bustle a nuisance, and the seamy underside where crims and dirty coppers dwell makes you feel like taking a shower. It proves to be a riveting character study and a thought provoking expose at the same time, while ultimately it proves to be a touching experience come the culmination of the drama.

Excellent. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite films, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Al Pacino at his best here. Interesting story based on real events and people. Would highly recommend this film .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Serpico, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Good entertainment - bit hard to watch his struggles in the first half of the film (knowing it was a real -life story) but glad we persevered as ultimately satisfying to some extent! Al Pacino excellent as always - additionally, good extra feature on making of the film.
So....... value for money!
IJA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic - one to watch again and again!!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Good film and gritty performances - one to keep in the collection and come back too. Would recommend if you haven't seen and like the period setting - all flares and disco cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SERPICO (Masters of Cinema) (Blu-ray)
SERPICO (Masters of Cinema) (Blu-ray) by Sidney LUMET (Blu-ray - 2014)
£14.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews