Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings (1927)
I've been waiting for this for some time after seeing it years ago on Channel 4 in a silent classics season (included "The Birth of a Nation" and "Intolerance") When I watched it all those years ago (around 1990?) I was stunned by the story telling, the acting and the brilliant camera work. The flying sequences are still to this day some of the best I've ever seen on...
Published on 1 Mar. 2012 by Moleman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good war film
Clever cinematography for its time, quite good action sequences and twists make the romance sequences palatable.
Published 3 months ago by It Stinks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Silent Picture, 8 Sept. 2012
By 
Mrs. Marilyn A. Rice "RR" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At last this classic silent WW1 movie is now available on dvd and blu ray and it was the first movie to win best picture in the academy awards and this and "The artist" are the only two silent movies which have won best picture. The aerial sequences are brilliantly made in it's day and Richard Arlen and Charles Rogers done all the flying sequences by themselves. Also a young Gary Cooper appears in one scene which launched his career in Hollywood and if you haven't seen this silent classic, then it's well worth buying on dvd or blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE VERY VERY BEST, 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Wings (1927) (DVD)
Just seen the film and it was truly terrific. View it on the largest screen possible and have good speakers because the orchestration is perfect.
This is a film you will want to see over and over again.................and with Clara Bow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth a watch, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mixture of the hammy silent movie stuff and amazing and realistic action sequences. Real flying real bombs and the trench scenes remarkabley graffic. Well worth a watch, if not just to see the lovely Clara Bow! and a guest appearance from a young Gary Cooper whose understated performance did not fit with the usual silent movie acting but did set him appart and no surpise be continued to make in the talking movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't wait to seemy husbands face he is into war and has most war films and will love this added to his collection, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have not watched it yet as it's a christmas present gorgeous my husband, we watched this film years ago at christmas time and have been looking for it ever since. I could not believe my luck when I found it, can't wait to seemy husbands face he is into war and has most war films and will love this added to his collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first film to feature actual fighter plane footage., 17 Jun. 2014
By 
Brent Bechtel "The Phoenician Cinephile" (Phoenix,Arizona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
Wellmann does the impossible here-he created both an impressive character piece and a brilliant batch of aerial footage to make one of the finest "anti-war" films of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
Very happy with this purchase .Apart from being a classic and the first Oscar best picture the special features are splendid. The film cost a fortune for the time but puts most of modern day movies to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wings - It's silent and Classic., 2 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (1927) (DVD)
OK this one is for (only?) the cineaste. Interested in cinema/history of cinema?
Picture/definition; well that's alright. Quite quite viewable; can't say more.
It's not re-mastered, I don't think, but it's quite well transferred onto DVD.
It's a S.American or Spanish DVD titled ALAS with Wings underneath.
You can watch it with Spanish sub-titles or not; you'll choose NO.
Then Ver Pellicula that is watch film and away it goes.
Sub titles are, of course, in the body of the film, asper silents.
Maybe a little slow by modern standards but hey if you got it you're
judging by facilities and standards of 1927.
Pre./Post/during WW1. Love story and planes in combat.
Nuff said - CLARA BOW is the girl! Gary Cooper; in
maybe his first film appearance gets a small part.
If you want to take in a little Spanish leave sub-titles on.
Thi is/was a very big production and the aerial dog-fights are
well done. 'Course you'll like Clara Bow - that's mandatory.
Welcome comments. Asper usual Amazon had this and other
selections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is film is worth watching even from a historical ..., 23 July 2014
By 
MikeG "MikeG" (Warwickshire.UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
This is film is worth watching even from a historical point of view to see the old/original fighter planes and bombers in an authentic setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good war film, 15 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Wings (DVD)
Clever cinematography for its time, quite good action sequences and twists make the romance sequences palatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful copy., 15 Aug. 2014
By 
Steve Paradis (Davison, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
While the Blu_ray was Europe specific, DVD's were playable on any region-free player. Beautiful copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wings (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD)
Wings (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) by William A. WELLMAN (Blu-ray - 2014)
£15.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews