Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings (1927)
I've been waiting for this for some time after seeing it years ago on Channel 4 in a silent classics season (included "The Birth of a Nation" and "Intolerance") When I watched it all those years ago (around 1990?) I was stunned by the story telling, the acting and the brilliant camera work. The flying sequences are still to this day some of the best I've ever seen on...
Published on 1 Mar 2012 by Moleman

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film but DVD stuck
A really great silent film but my viewing was ruined by the DVD sticking throughout (not my DVD player ). I tried cleaning the DVD but no improvement . The whole write up on the cover is in Chinese and also subtitles on film has the same with the original English above .
It was a lot of money to pay for a faulty DVD, so needless to say Im deeply disappointed in...
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by Mr. Geoffrey L. Woodland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth a watch, 6 Aug 2014
Mixture of the hammy silent movie stuff and amazing and realistic action sequences. Real flying real bombs and the trench scenes remarkabley graffic. Well worth a watch, if not just to see the lovely Clara Bow! and a guest appearance from a young Gary Cooper whose understated performance did not fit with the usual silent movie acting but did set him appart and no surpise be continued to make in the talking movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first film to feature actual fighter plane footage., 17 Jun 2014
By 
Brent Bechtel "The Phoenician Cinephile" (Phoenix,Arizona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINGS (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
Wellmann does the impossible here-he created both an impressive character piece and a brilliant batch of aerial footage to make one of the finest "anti-war" films of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars astonishing achievement in every way, 23 May 2014
By 
M. FUSCO "yawnmower" (NEW YORK, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINGS (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
One of the most impressive, dramatic, emotional, beautiful silent films I have ever seen. The live shots of such early warplanes is nothing less than astonishing. And the stars themselves piloted the stunts for the most part, with cameras mounted on the front of the plances: they had no choice as there was no CGI in those days.

The actors are beautiful and portray their emotional with great profundity -- another astonishing achievement as they do not have the aid of spoken dialogue.

A great achievement by the filmmakers, and kudos to Masters of Cinema for making it possible to see such a wonderful print of such a marvelous film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINGS (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
Very happy with this purchase .Apart from being a classic and the first Oscar best picture the special features are splendid. The film cost a fortune for the time but puts most of modern day movies to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wings - It's silent and Classic., 2 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (1927) (DVD)
OK this one is for (only?) the cineaste. Interested in cinema/history of cinema?
Picture/definition; well that's alright. Quite quite viewable; can't say more.
It's not re-mastered, I don't think, but it's quite well transferred onto DVD.
It's a S.American or Spanish DVD titled ALAS with Wings underneath.
You can watch it with Spanish sub-titles or not; you'll choose NO.
Then Ver Pellicula that is watch film and away it goes.
Sub titles are, of course, in the body of the film, asper silents.
Maybe a little slow by modern standards but hey if you got it you're
judging by facilities and standards of 1927.
Pre./Post/during WW1. Love story and planes in combat.
Nuff said - CLARA BOW is the girl! Gary Cooper; in
maybe his first film appearance gets a small part.
If you want to take in a little Spanish leave sub-titles on.
Thi is/was a very big production and the aerial dog-fights are
well done. 'Course you'll like Clara Bow - that's mandatory.
Welcome comments. Asper usual Amazon had this and other
selections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE VERY VERY BEST, 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Wings (1927) (DVD)
Just seen the film and it was truly terrific. View it on the largest screen possible and have good speakers because the orchestration is perfect.
This is a film you will want to see over and over again.................and with Clara Bow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is film is worth watching even from a historical ..., 23 July 2014
By 
MikeG "MikeG" (Warwickshire.UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINGS (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
This is film is worth watching even from a historical point of view to see the old/original fighter planes and bombers in an authentic setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful copy., 15 Aug 2014
By 
Steve Paradis (Davison, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINGS (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) (Blu-ray)
While the Blu_ray was Europe specific, DVD's were playable on any region-free player. Beautiful copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film but DVD stuck, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (1927) (DVD)
A really great silent film but my viewing was ruined by the DVD sticking throughout (not my DVD player ). I tried cleaning the DVD but no improvement . The whole write up on the cover is in Chinese and also subtitles on film has the same with the original English above .
It was a lot of money to pay for a faulty DVD, so needless to say Im deeply disappointed in this product .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent film making at its best for action, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings (1927) (DVD)
It was well shot with a decent, if predictable , story line. The quality of the enhanced film was really good with no jerkiness or blips. It had future stars like Garry Cooper in a cameo role . The flying scenes were interesting if somewhat unambitious, that is, shot at distance. The acting was of a much better standard than usually seen on old films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WINGS (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD)
WINGS (Masters of Cinema) (Dual Format Blu-ray & DVD) by William A. WELLMAN (Blu-ray - 2014)
18.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews