Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COP WITH MORALS
This film is based on a true story, and stars Al Pacino as Frank Serpico, the title of the film. Newly recruited as a New York cop, Serpico sees the corruption that is going on, and wants no part of it. All he wants to be is an honest cop. But others around him think otherwise and try to tempt him into their corrupt world. He gets transferred several times to different...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by Graham

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no poster !!!!!!!
as great as the movie serpico is the only reason i bought this version of the film was for the limited edition poster.
Published 16 months ago by ewan forsyth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COP WITH MORALS, 26 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
This film is based on a true story, and stars Al Pacino as Frank Serpico, the title of the film. Newly recruited as a New York cop, Serpico sees the corruption that is going on, and wants no part of it. All he wants to be is an honest cop. But others around him think otherwise and try to tempt him into their corrupt world. He gets transferred several times to different police precincts that are 'clean'. But once there, he finds that there is no such thing, and becomes a lone crusader trying to clean up the New York city police force. The trouble is no one wants to know, and his reputation follows him, and he soon becomes the most disliked cop in New York.
Every once in a while along comes a film that has something special, and this film is one of them. It concentrates on story rather than action, and tells a good one. Anybody who likes 70's cop films, or is a fan of Al Pacino MUST SEE THIS FILM. The New York locations are gritty and real (104 different locations). And portrays the seedier side back in the 70's. This ranks high on the list of Al Pacino's greatest films, and proves that a good film done right does not need to rely on action sequences to make it a box office hit, and this film was done right. This borders on the edge of brilliance.
The film is presented in a ratio of 1.78:1. The original ratio was 1.85:1. But most of Paramount's dvd releases are in this ratio if the original was shot in 1.85:1. Picture Quality is razor sharp, with no grain at all, and according to the box the audio is in 5.1. (The film was originally shot in mono).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great movie, 15 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Serpico [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Taken from the true story of the life of Frank Serpico, this important film stirred up controversy and showed us a side of police departments that they certainly don't want shown. Serpico plays the only honest cop who doesn't take bribes and kickbacks. What is scary is the casual manner the other cops in the film just view taking the graft is just part of the job just like loading their guns. We also see a scary lesson of what happens when one honest man takes on an entire bureaucracy that does not welcome him and what can ultimately happen to him. How many other Serpico's are out there past and present who never got to tell their story for one reason or another. A powerful film that is just as relevant today as when it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Al is the man, 16 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Great movie by Sidney Lumet (sreenplay by Waldo Salt, who wrote Midnigt Cowboy). Based on the real-life story of NYPD Detective Frank Serpico, who refused the, at that time, standard practice of being paied of by the mob. This was Al Pacino's first movie after finishing Godfather part I. It is hard to say anything negative about this film. The story is great, Al has not yet become over the top in his style of acting and script and direction is inspired. If you love the films from the period this is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typifies the 1970's U.S. gritty cop thriller, 29 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
There's so much about Serpico that typifies urban crime in '70s America. This true-life account of police corruption benefits from Sidney Lumet's workmanlike and unflashy direction, with gritty streets with their even grittier natives, providing the backdrop.

Al Pacino produces one his best ever (Oscar nominated) performances, unsullied by the overacting that blighted his later career. Going undercover and wishing to remain as un-policeman like as possible, at least in appearance, Frank Serpico has a complex home life, that we fortunately get to share, as this helps us establish his character.

For 1973, we are allowed many subjects that we now take for granted but few could, or dared back then. Drugs, an overwhelming paranoia over homosexuality in the force and some graphic violence are handled - times have moved on, of course and so their treatment is varied, shall we say.

There is a lot of detailed talk and natural scenarios that lead onto other scenarios and as such, there aren't shoot-outs every five minutes. This is an intelligent film that does have its moments of action but it's about the man Serpico and his mounting enemy - his own employers. That's enough for any person to handle and Serpico doesn't always handle them well. But, that all adds up to an even more interesting story.

John Randolph co-stars as Serpico's Chief and the whole cast, a plethora of people from low-lifes to cops are all uniformly good.

Why only four stars? This film has been round for quite a while and this latest viewing must have been my fourth. It remains very watchable, every now and again but it has lost its bite a bit and its length is just a bit more than one can about bear, at 130 mins. For Pacino watchers and those who enjoy a good, absorbing cop drama, especially an adult gritty one, then Serpico is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Way For The Bad Guys., 19 April 2011
By 
Duluoz Lautrec (Dewsbury, Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
'Serpico' sees Frank Serpico (Pacino) graduate from the police academy and join the NYPD as a uniform officer before working his way through the ranks to become a plain clothes undercover cop. The expected etiquette is to be on the take from illegal gambling organizations, drug dealers and the rest of the criminal fraternity trying to cut themselves a deal. Serpico is clean and wants to perform his job with integrity, arrest the bad guys and sleep with a clean conscience.
Pacino is brilliant, first as the clean cut innocent rookie and later as the frustrated undercover cop, I can't recommend this highly enough as Pacino never puts a foot out of place and this film is a stonewall classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cops In The Raw, 28 Dec 2010
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Looking at this nearly 40 years on, it's hard to imagine that policing was ever like this. On the face of it, being a cop was seen by many as a simple way of creaming some fairly hefty amounts of cash from criminals and business owners alike and simply keeping out of harm's way. This wasn't a time when you'd want to need police or medical support. The hospital in the film is a million years away from ER and the like, but no doubt representative of the time.

It's shot in a very realistic almost documentary-like style, possibly ahead of its time, and has an outstanding performance from Al Pacino as the cop with scruples and integrity. You don't even think he's acting, he's so perfect in the role. The supporting cast is unknown, which adds to the sense of realism.

Apart from a wonderful Pacino, the film, which was shot in 1973 is fascinating just for the real-life costumes and sets. The cops were mostly out-of-touch throwbacks to the conformist element of the 60s, whereas Serpico was in touch with the street and stuck out like a sore thumb in the force with his hippyish gear and mental hats.

If nothing else, the film shows how much things have hopefully improved over the years. Who would choose to go back to that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Time Classic, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Its a pity they dont make movies like this anymore. Gritting reality in the way New York City really was in the early 70s.
Funky suits, big cars, the Bronx and Brooklyn. If you enjoyed The French Connection, you'll love this.
One of Pacinos best performances along with Dog Day Afternoon in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine performance from Pacino, a compelling true story film, 8 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
This ranks for me as one of Pacino's best on screen efforts, though I like numerous other films he's done too.

Here we have a true story which follows Police Officer Frank Serpico whom is played by Pacino convincingly, he starts off a a normal "green" cop, but soon finds a taste for the undercover plain clothes operation. Serpico is a man of morals and refuses to accept bribes from local mobsters and the Mafia. Soon he finds himself on the outside of the police community as they see him a risk and loose canon, Serpico's oddball looks and refusal to accept pay off's soon puts his life in danger as his colleagues turn the other way at critical times. He faces a choice to either go with the police corruption or testify against his colleagues and expose the department to the Knapp Commission.

It's a simple plot one honest cop's stubborn refusal to bow to pressure; his personal life suffers and his career is sidetracked as he stands alone in his department. Pacino does a fine job of portraying the stress and edge of Frank Serpico. Script is excellent as is direction from Sidney Lumet, even the soundtrack is worthy of a mention. Everything fits together very well in a polished production, the film was a commercial success despite a fairly modest budget from the studio. This is more a thinkers film with some smaller action parts, more an exploration in a slower burn way..not really a fast pace, but the story unfolds in a way which never leaves your attention wandering.

Not an easy job to play this part with such conviction, but Pacino has real edge and is completely immersive in his performance. One of the most appealing aspects of the film is the true nature of events, it's a hard film to fault in many ways. A real must watch despite the somewhat dated feel, some great acting here (not just Pacino). This should feature high up the list of true story film fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Al Pacino / Serpico, 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Morrison "Robbo" (Bedford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
One of his best roles not forgetting Scarface :) if you like Cops films def up there and always a fair and good price dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooler than Samuel L Jackson................, 27 Dec 2003
By 
J. C. Eames "Winston" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serpico [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I'll start by saying that another reviewer of this film wrote the following .......
" great film and a must for any Al Pacino fan."
Very true, yet this film MADE me an Al Pacino fan, for I had seen The Godfather trilogy in the annals of my past yet they do not focus entirely on him and could only vaguely remember them.
The reason I picked up this film is the fact that I am a big Robert De Niro fan for such films as Raging Bull and Taxi Driver, and know that the two are hotly contested for being peoples favourite actors. So having not seen many Pacino films decided to see one.
I was not dissapointed.
On first viewing i felt the film moved along at a steady to slow pace yet never got boring in fact was enthrallilng especially as it is based on fact.
Overall i enjoyed the film and found Pacino to be both funny and cool, yet showed at great lengths what his character was going through, and I really felt for him. That is the sign of a great actor, it's not the actor on the screen or a portrayal it is Frank Serpico himself.
It did not rank it as my favourite film at first viewing but on the second and beyond it's now damn close, iv'e recommended it to my friend and brother and have and will be buying more Al Pacino films for my collection.
Pacino exudes class on the screen, and his character of an honest cop fighting against corruption and fighting for his values and morals is one example of an honest person that is very moving, and for any film fan is essential viewing. The acting alone could have made this a classic especially the scene under the bridge where Pacino ( not on script ) gets so wrapped up in the moment sceams. It's just a classic and great film.
Yes friends that is the title I have given it for it is up there with my film greats.
(On a final note if anyone knows where i can get my hands on a hat like he wears in the film please drop me a line i would be very grateful!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SERPICO (Masters of Cinema) (Blu-ray SteelBook)
SERPICO (Masters of Cinema) (Blu-ray SteelBook) by Sidney LUMET (Blu-ray - 2014)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews