Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ticket to turbulence!
A shocking depiction of forced emigration, slavery and abuse. Susie is a single mother who when rejected by her family and society, boards, what she believes to be, a boat of hope to Australia. Then her nightmare begins.
The character of Susie, like all the main characters in the No Greater Love series, is a testament to the strength of the human spirit. Mrs Prowse...
Published 7 months ago by Annmarie Lee

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was a good book
but too short. I have now read all of Amanda Prowse's books and would recommend them all & waiting for the next one.
Published 6 months ago by Denise 07110


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ticket to turbulence!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
A shocking depiction of forced emigration, slavery and abuse. Susie is a single mother who when rejected by her family and society, boards, what she believes to be, a boat of hope to Australia. Then her nightmare begins.
The character of Susie, like all the main characters in the No Greater Love series, is a testament to the strength of the human spirit. Mrs Prowse has a knack for making roses bloom in savage gardens - loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ten-pound Ticket, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
A story of total apathy of a young girl with a baby and absolutely penniless in 1962 on a relentless Journey across the world to a night and daymare dust laden backdrop cattle ranch, in search of a richer life for the two of them on a ten pound assisted ticket well a frightening experience for anyone including the reader of the story wanting to know the outcome in fear of what was going to happen, certainly very intriguing short story and Amanda Prowse has done it once more got the reader chomping at the bit in wanting to turn the page to see the outcome of what was on the cards.....a good read so well done Amanda Prowse more please loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " Ten pound ticket" xxx, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
I luv this story with Susie and Baby Nicky who we know from #CloversChild :-) Susie has such a tough time trying to care for Baby Nicky and keep him safe! Another Fab story by the Fab #AmandaProwse Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
So lovely to catch up with Susie from Clover's Child! That was a nice surprise. I really liked the story, bit different to Amanda Prowse's other stories, but great characters and setting as usual. I love everything she writes and this one was no exception. Can't wait for her next novel!!! I wish she'd write them as fast as i read them! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was a good book, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
but too short. I have now read all of Amanda Prowse's books and would recommend them all & waiting for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Read!, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
Another fabulous read by Amanda Prowse. One of the only authors I read whose characters make me angry, sad, happy... I feel every emotion. It was good to read about a character previously mentioned in another book (don't want to give too much away!) I thoroughly enjoyed it. Can't wait for her next one, keep 'em coming Amanda!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
Another great story from Amanda Prowse,...her stories are so easy to read and believable. I have never been a great reader but I have read all her stories now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
A short story that could have been longer , what a shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amanda Prowes writes a good story., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
Found this a most enjoyable read.
Why was her Mother such a nasty bitch.
How scary to go to the other side of the world with a tiny baby.
Then to arrive and have to live in those conditions with all those men around a lovely young girl.
The Abbo lady was a godsend,at least she had one person to lean on even though she was being badly treated herself.
Was so well written,you could imagine the heat and flys and having to cater for all those men on her own with a woman she was a bit afraid of as the only company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I actually really liked it until it wrapped up in to the end ..., 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
I actually really liked it until it wrapped up in to the end within about four pages, story became far fetched at this point, if a book asks you to think deeply about the story and characters if it doesn't fulfil itself right to the end it leaves you feeling somewhat mugged off and this book does that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ten-pound Ticket (No Greater Love)
£0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews