Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and educational, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
CycleRacing (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
A well written and interesting book.

A good background and history of our reliance on boats and the water. Still even today the vast majority of trade products travel by sea and it is fascinating to read the background behind this.

Another part I found good is the way this book opened my eyes to was the ways in which history has been made on the sea. Many people seem to have a huge knowledge of history but not enough people realise or recognise the pivotal role that the maritime has played in this.

An interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "By the Sea, By the Sea, By the Beautiful Sea" - Harold R. Atteridge, 25 April 2015
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I like to collect books on how commodities such as salt, cinnamon, cochineal, and indigo were developed in transported from one location to another. However we need to keep in mind that these products even though might have inspired maritime travel it is secondary to those of the people that actually did the traveling.

Lincoln Paine in "The Sea and Civilization" shows how waterways contributed to spreading many of the great cultures of mankind. One of the main parts of the book are the maps. I have a fair knowledge of where things are in the world of today and the world of antiquity. But without a clear picture the names of places are just that the names of places. So pay close attention to the maps in the book will be even more interesting.

The whole book is interesting but if I had to pick a favorite spot it would be the chapter on "The British Global Trade" once again I find it interesting looking at the maps. Conspicuously missing is the Piri Reis map.

There is an extensive bibliography and enough notes to know that Lincoln Paine knows his maritime history. We can also use the bibliography for further reading. Still this book is so compact with information that you will have to probably reread it to remember the small pieces of information that can easily be overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the Good Research I like to read, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sea and Civilization: A Maritime History of the World (Kindle Edition)
Basically a thoroughly well researched history - sometimes a bit repetitive - but well written.
It is a pity one cannot read the illustrations clearly on Kindle - too small !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Tome, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazingly full and detailed history of mankind's development in the use of the seas and oceans to spread civilization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man and the sea., 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb history of humanity's mastery of the world's seas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very comprehensive tome - it's what the title says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Now I'd like one too!, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a gift, but looked beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating way to see world history, 21 April 2014
By 
Charles Lowe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazon have asked me to review this book before I have finished it, however I am already well into it and finding it hard to put down. It is a brilliant way of telling world history, bringing it to life from analysis of wrecks, ruins, carvings and written material, showing the key role the seas has played.

I cannot recommend it highly enough.

One tiny word of warning though, the beautifully-produced book weighs 1.4 kilos so can be challenging to hold comfortably when reading in bed without a support of any kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and interesting, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Be in no doubt that this book will give you value for money. Of door stop proportions and in smallish print I am only just emerging out of the BCE years. 2000 years to go but looking forward to the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An informative and absorbing read., 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Informative and well researched read which deserves time and concentration in reading to get the best out of this book. Will be used in future for reference as its stacked with facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews