Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of Solstice
Young prog fans in the UK in the early 1980's had some good times. There were enough bands (Twelfth Night, Marillion, IQ, Pallas, Pendragon, Solstice etc.) to create a lively scene (which became known as 'neo-prog'), enthusiastic audiences, plenty of gigs in decent venues (The Marquee and The General Wolfe were my usual hunting grounds) and a sense of expectation that one...
Published 10 months ago by Gregory Spawton

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solstice Prophecy
still listening to this and hoping that it will click, but 1st the plusses - well, the musicianship is of course first rate and if you've ever seen the band live then you'll know what I'm talking about. Andy Glass's style is certainly reminiscent of Andy Latimer, although he veers into David Gilmour territory on a least one track. What stands out for me is the vocal...
Published 9 months ago by Mike Progfan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of Solstice, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Gregory Spawton (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Audio CD)
Young prog fans in the UK in the early 1980's had some good times. There were enough bands (Twelfth Night, Marillion, IQ, Pallas, Pendragon, Solstice etc.) to create a lively scene (which became known as 'neo-prog'), enthusiastic audiences, plenty of gigs in decent venues (The Marquee and The General Wolfe were my usual hunting grounds) and a sense of expectation that one or more of the bands would break into the big time. Personally speaking, I was also very lucky to have an indulgent mother who was brave enough to let a young teenager from the Midlands head off on his own to London and elsewhere to pursue his passion for music.

My favourite bands from that period were Twelfth Night (who released a really strong album called Fact and Fiction), IQ and Solstice. I saw these three bands more than any other. Solstice were a powerful live act with strong compositional skills and great musicianship throughout the band. In particular, I was a huge fan of their guitar player, Andy Glass, who specialised in truly epic solos. Whenever I got there early enough, I would pick a spot right in front of Andy so I could be close to the action as his soloing took flight (the poor bloke must have thought he had a stalker.) Andy's playing was one of the main reasons I picked up a guitar and started Big Big Train.

Despite many amazing gigs and a devoted following, commercial success never quite happened for Solstice. They made an album called Silent Dance but, despite the hard work of all who made it, the album didn't capture the power and majesty of the band at their best. One of their contemporaries, Marillion, went on to major success, and some of the other neo-prog bands were signed to decent labels, but Solstice fell behind and then fell apart.

However, there have been occasional signs of life from the Solstice camp since the mid 1980's (some re-issues and re-union gigs and even some new music) and now, in 2013, the band are signed to a supportive label and have released a fine new album.

Prophecy consists of a suite of 5 excellent new songs. There are many wonderful passages of music on this album (in particular the epic West Wind and the understated but majestic closing sections of Warriors and Black Water). As if that isn't enough, there are also three bonus tracks from the Silent Dance album which have been remixed by Steven Wilson.

And it turns out that the Silent Dance LP did, after all, capture the power and glory of Solstice in the early 1980's, it was just that the album needed the mixing and engineering skills of somebody like Steven Wilson to bring out the full quality of the audio recorded onto the multitrack tapes.

If you haven't bought any Solstice music before and need a pointer to their sound, imagine a mid-point between Yes and Camel, then add some fiddle. But Solstice have always had their own identity and I strongly recommend checking out Prophecy to get a good idea of what they are all about. Whether on new songs like West Wind or on reborn classics such as Return of Spring, this album shows them in fine form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Album, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Audio CD)
Can't recommend this highly enough brilliant thoughtful piece of music. Superb guitar sound that soars through the classy songs with a hint of jazz and fusion within the overall rock/prog sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solstice on top form, 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: Prophecy (Audio CD)
Solstice are a wonderful band that I first saw supporting Marillion back in 1982. I remember thinking it was like Marillion were the new Genesis and Solstice were the new Yes! Many memorable live shows followed at the old Marquee in London....Fast forward to 2013 and the band have produced one of their best albums. Prophecy is right up there with my faves of the year plus a few tracks from their Silent Dance debut are included as remixed by Steven Wilson no less. For fans of prog with a folk edge, this album is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 23 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Prophecy (Audio CD)
This is not bad at all , just gave it 5 stars to annoy the guy trashing it.
Everone one has there opinion but this is alot better than his review would
suggest and some tracks sound more Jon Anderson than yes,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Folk/Hippy Prog, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Audio CD)
Solsctice have always had a melodic tinge with a sort of edge that I tried to describe in the Title.However the guitar playing is of substantial quality whether in the acoustic mold or the electric mode.It therefore is definitely edging to the Prog vein,although not to everybodys taste maybe.The remastered songs are good so overall an album worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solstice Prophecy, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: Prophecy (Audio CD)
still listening to this and hoping that it will click, but 1st the plusses - well, the musicianship is of course first rate and if you've ever seen the band live then you'll know what I'm talking about. Andy Glass's style is certainly reminiscent of Andy Latimer, although he veers into David Gilmour territory on a least one track. What stands out for me is the vocal harmonising of the two girls, Emma Brown and Jenny Newman who also excels on violin. The album opens and closes very gently when I think a more dramatic climax might have been more suitable. There are a number of strong songs here, most are a little bland and clocking in just under an hour demands a lot of attention. I will keep at it and I hope the band do too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who's give this 5 stars?, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: Prophecy (Audio CD)
What sad b******d has give this load of crap 5 stars!
It's like those boring old farts East of Eden'
Saying its like Camel and Yes, you want to get yourself a hearing test mate!
Crap, crap and more crap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prophecy
Prophecy by Solstice
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews