Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Little Album
I'd only heard a couple of tracks by Mount Kimbe before I bought this CD, but it was a massive surprise. It is a beautiful little album. If you're into anyone electronic from Aphex Twin to Zomby, it is highly recommended.

This is one of those albums where a track finishes and rather than getting more of the same, you're surprised by something totally different,...
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by W. Tolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever
prodction, but ultimately somewhat uninvolving; some if not most tracks feel if not a little half-hearted, then kind of unfinished.
Some good use of their sound palette, but can feel a little too clever and cold at times for me.
Look at product from such as Burial if you like a little more soul or emotion in your glitch/dubstep or whatever.
Had this for...
Published 17 months ago by groucho


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Little Album, 14 Sep 2010
By 
W. Tolley (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CROOKS & LOVERS (Audio CD)
I'd only heard a couple of tracks by Mount Kimbe before I bought this CD, but it was a massive surprise. It is a beautiful little album. If you're into anyone electronic from Aphex Twin to Zomby, it is highly recommended.

This is one of those albums where a track finishes and rather than getting more of the same, you're surprised by something totally different, that still manages to maintain the pace and flow of the album. It feels like a real record, not a collection of random singles. Songs take their time to blossom, melodies and rhythms cleverly flutter around before you fully get the picture. It manages to sound extremely organic and natural, yet it employs a lot of woozy.. even maybe funky bleeps and bloops warp-style.

Overall I would say this is a stunning album. Call it dubstep, garage, IDM or house, call it whatever, but it most definitely could not describe the clever orginal sound that these guys have cooked up with their beats. I look forward to when these guys get even better at their craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming Dubstep - you don't get to say that often!, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: CROOKS & LOVERS (Audio CD)
It's been said before, but Dubstep is a fascinating genre. And it's one that is fast losing a middle ground, as it splits between mainstream friendly acts like Skrillex who focus on 'drop' intensity and belligerent synth riffs, and the Post-Dubstep community - populated by acts like James Blake, Fantastic Mr. Fox and Mount Kimbie, who favour ambient loops and abstract rhythms over adrenaline pumping decimation filters. This album is a fantastic flagship for the latter, buttery with chords and honey-soaked samples oozing over intricate beats - constantly unfolding and evolving as it progresses.

Crooks and Lovers kicks off with Tunnelvision, featuring soft guitar strums, distant vocals and wonderfully off-kilter rhythms, giving a taste of what's to come. As the track fades away, chatter and ambient noise rises from the ether, and is soon joined a head nodding melody and beat combination reminiscent of 'chopped and screwed' hip-hop. This of course, is the arrival of the second track Would Know, which not only delights with soothing chords but also surprises with synth refrains which break up the action beautifully.

And so it goes on, a constant series of surprises, unexpected sounds and delicately assembled production - from the heart warming beats of Before I Move off, to the frantic agitation of Blind Night Errand. From the toe-tapping vibes of Adriatic, to the slow rocking of Ode to Bear, it is an acoustically dazzling reassertion of what Dubstep is. If you like lo-fi sounds mixed with warm reverb and crisp drum patterns then there really is no question, this is the album for you.

Whilst it certainly features a lot of unorthodox experimentation, it is by no means a painful or challenging listen, so you should be able to dip in and out as you please without losing the feel - although I feel it is best appreciated with a complete start-to-finish play through.

In short then, this album Crooks and Lovers is to Post-Dubstep what Daft Punk's Discovery is to House. Phenomenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genre-Free and Fair of Face, 23 July 2010
This review is from: CROOKS & LOVERS (Audio CD)
Slip off your blazer, smooth down your deck pants and get your finest show pony set for a gambol through Mount Kimbie's engrossing new Garden of Electrotainment. Holster that riding crop and let your charge leisurely lead you through this carefully cultivated landscape of audio cuttings, babbling bass lines and meandering electric licks. By turns playful, pulse-quickening and splendidly soporific, Crooks and Lovers may not be profound enough to entice you to pitch your tent, but it's an extremely pleasant place to take a stroll this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crooks & Lovers (MP3 Download)
Really good album! can't wait for their 3rd coming album when ever they release it, totally worth getting Cold Spring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clever, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CROOKS & LOVERS (Audio CD)
prodction, but ultimately somewhat uninvolving; some if not most tracks feel if not a little half-hearted, then kind of unfinished.
Some good use of their sound palette, but can feel a little too clever and cold at times for me.
Look at product from such as Burial if you like a little more soul or emotion in your glitch/dubstep or whatever.
Had this for maybe a year, and although I'm fond of tracks like Carbonated and Mayor, this rarely gets played, so it's a 2.5/3 for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better, 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: CROOKS & LOVERS (Audio CD)
This deserves 5 stars.

It took a while to get into but if you persist you will be rewarded. Also check out the EP's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Took me a while to..., 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CROOKS & LOVERS (Audio CD)
I ordered this and i listened to the first few songs in my car and rejected it. Then put it on in my lounge whilst surfing the net and i like it. Good album. Quite relaxing in a way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Blips, Drips and Strips, 14 Sep 2011
By 
A. Clarke "Kit Nubbles" (South Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CROOKS & LOVERS (Audio CD)
Have listened to this a few times now but I just can't get into it, there is no substance in this music at all. My other half thought that somebody was playing ping pong on one of the tracks. Too shallow for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new take on 'dubstep', 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: CROOKS & LOVERS (Audio CD)
In a genre, taking little pockets of people by surprise and wrapping them up in the ever growing snowball of fans, lays `Mount Kimbie' cleverly tripping off into commercial obscurity amidst their ambient, flowing sounds. In recent interviews, the duo have expressed no shame in producing music belonging to a movement that's so rapidly expanding, it would be easy to label them as another bandwagon jumper, but that would be arrogant.

It only takes a brief listen to realise that this style of dub, no matter at what stage produced, could actually be revolutionary to the whole genre, a world away from where it started. With eery, click-y, atmospheric sounds, we also feel the punch of the kick and snare and a touch of sub to complete the recipe of genius that is `Crooks & Lovers'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Help - I didn't order this, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crooks & Lovers (MP3 Download)
I didn't order it and it's appeared on my Review of Purchases. There isn't a route that lets me email the sender to ask for a refund. Can anyone help?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crooks & Lovers
Crooks & Lovers by Mount Kimbie
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews