Customer Reviews
Von


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really original stuff
This was an interesting cd to listen to as i heard all their albums in reverse order, as in got Takk... first then the other two, and bought this one a few days ago.

It is really weird and different, particularly track one (which terrifies me!) because, particularly that track is all ambient noise and is very experimental but you can hear their emerging sounds...
Published on 18 May 2006 by Hugo Busbridge

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Not-So-Alright Start ...
Before Sigur Rós became the alternative music darlings of the new millennium with their justly revered breakout album, Ágætis byrjun, their local reputation in Iceland was primarily presented in the form of this, their debut album Von, pressed and released under the Bad Taste label formed in the `80s by some of Iceland's more prolific punk music tearaways...
Published on 2 Nov. 2006 by G. Bowden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Potential, 18 Jun. 2009
By 
J. Murray (Northern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Von (Audio CD)
I think the band themselves have said that they don't think this album is that great, however they're probably doing themselves a disservice as by anyone else's standards it's an interesting, if slightly unfocussed, debut.

The first two tracks can't really be classed as music, that's not to say that they aren't hugely atmospheric and exhilarating. The third track, Hún Jörð, is the closest we come to a real "song" on the album, and it's a terrifically frightening racket which is the closest I've heard to an industrial beat from the band. After that, it's fair to say some of the middle tracks in the album merge into a bit of a general lull, although they're listenable enough as background music. The highlight of the album for me is the penultimate track, Syndir Guðs, which is one of the eeriest pieces of music I've ever heard. Shrill whistles, doors creaking, distant cries, whispering Icelandic voices - this is the stuff nightmares are made of and it's every bit as engrossing as any of their later work in my opinion.

Four stars is perhaps a little generous, but it certainly deserves more than three and it's not hard to see how Sigur Ros developed on this sound over the years. 3.5 out of 5, or 7 out of 10, would probably be a fairer review. I also think you have to take into against that this was an unknown band releasing a low-budget album originally to something like 3,000 copies in Iceland, and was never geared towards the world audience it has today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the other reviews might appear, 14 Nov. 2007
By 
Doug Futers "dougfuters" (Nottingham, Kingom of Mercia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Von (Audio CD)
Just bought this after having had the other three albums for a number of years, and I have to say it's my favourite. Strongly reminiscent of Hawkwind & early Pink Floyd, especially Saucer Full of Secrets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars nice case, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
A. Unsworth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Von (Audio CD)
Come on guys its just not that good! i might pretend its good because its Sigur Ros but honestly i've probably played it 3 times, compared to the literally hundreds of times ive played the next 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Von (Audio CD)
Bought as Xmas gift for my daughter and as I haven't heard anything to the contrary it must be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the album before they got REALLY good, 4 Mar. 2005
By 
Mr. P. A. Rushforth "dilbthelame" (cornwall, uk#) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Von (Audio CD)
this is the first sigur ros album and was released( i think) originally in 1997. first of all, it doesn't contain as much downright prettiness as say, Ba ba ti ki di do, or agaetis byrjun, nor does it have the focus and intent of ()- but it is a worthwhil album even if it's not a world beater.
I think the main problem with this album is that there's too muc ambient noise- the first track is about 10 minutes of this, the second track is basically the same but with a bit of choir.
there are a couple more tracks on this album which do nothing for a few minutes and the ngo- hence why i don'#t rate this as essential as agaetis byrjun.
of the songs that are here, track 3 is brilliant mixing a choir with a distorted rock sound. then track 8 (ish) is also nice, a pleasant drum riff and horn noises blend nicely together with the vocals.
there are a couple more nice tracks as well, but the last song has 6 minutes of silence before the song kicks in- and even then half of it sounds like it's pplaying backwards.
overall i would say that when this album is good, it's very very good- a glimpse of the early stages of sigur ros, with choirs and whales and allsorts. however, when this album is boring, it can be very boring- too much random noise rather than actual music.
but it's definitely worth a ;listen, even if it's not a masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-releason on DMM vinyl!, 28 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Von (Audio CD)
one of the most exciting bands and one of the best releases ever!
i have the CD that i really really enjoy and now i pre-ordered the heavy-vinyl on DMM format (better sound quality).
recommended!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Von (Audio CD)
good beats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Von [VINYL] (Vinyl)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SIGUR ROS - VON - DMM, 16 Jun. 2009
By 
Ricardo Luis Silveira "Ricardo from Brazil" (Americana-SP-Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Von [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Destaco que se trata de um DMM em 200gr. Esse formato apresenta uma qualidade inigualável. O fundo desse vinil é absolutamente silencioso, mostrando ao ouvinte tudo o que Jonsi quis que coubesse nessa gravação.
A princípio, algumas faixas podem criar um clima de filme de terror e suspense, mas isso é o rock glacial do Sigur Ros: Cru e sem disfarces comerciais.
Posso afirmar que esses quatro meninos são a reencarnação dos Beatles. Se os quatro meninos de Liverpool tivessem começado a carreira agora, eles seriam SIGUR ROS.
Se você não conhece sua obra, comece por Agaetis Byrjun, vá crescendo dentro da evolução dos discos seguintes, e, por último, receba VON. Será uma aula de conhecimento musical, tese e antítese.
Você concordará que eles não são desse planeta, e sim, do planeta música que John Anderson previu em Olias of Sunhillow, há exatos 33 anos atrás.
Ricardo From Brazil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhythm form a spoon, 2 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Von (Audio CD)
most band forget you can get a rhythm form something as simple as a spoon! sigur ros dont! there usual brand of etherial chill out is turned upside down the noramly passive drums come to the fore midway throught this album make the soudn complete its good to see where they came from. an amazing album not as good as () but certainly shows a reprisentation of the great depth of teh group A must Buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Von
Von by Sigur Rós (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews