Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted
If you enjoy a good detective thriller, thus is for you. Two police officers work together to try and find a sadistic killer who believes he will meet his master after carrying out particularly gruesome murders.
The book doesn't slow down at all and completely holds your attention through to the end.
Would strongly recommend.
Published 9 months ago by H. Wiseman

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be misled.............
Bought as a "Daily Deal" on the strength of the five posted reviews which were all either 5* & 4*, this purported to be a new European crime thriller with a principal to rival Aurelio Zen, Commissaire Adamsberg & Salvo Montalbano - it isn't.
It's extremely poor - the characters are flat, unconvincing and derivative, the dialogue pedestrian and the more florid...
Published 9 months ago by SteveN


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
H. Wiseman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy a good detective thriller, thus is for you. Two police officers work together to try and find a sadistic killer who believes he will meet his master after carrying out particularly gruesome murders.
The book doesn't slow down at all and completely holds your attention through to the end.
Would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bloodthirsty villain, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book! I thought it was going to be a bit boring until suddenly the perspective changed to the killer who is a complete psychopath! (Seriously, Hannibal Lector is a sissy compared to this guy!). This ploy continues through the book, the point of view changing from character to character, and this really helped to keep me hooked. The fabulous Spanish locations were also really interesting and made a nice change. The novel is a translation from Spanish but the English flows naturally, I didn't really notice it was a translation at all. Just one warning: this book is definitely not for the faint-hearted - the killings are seriously twisted. I was left feeling quite disturbed at times, for me that's part of the fun, but it might not be for you.
All in all I'd recommend it if you want an easy read, something with lots of action, not too much boring description, some really tense moments and a very scary killer. Just be warned, it's brutal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good crime novel, 11 July 2014
By 
M. VALDIVIESO (Espagne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
I have read the Spanish version of this book two years ago.
It is a book you can't stop reading. Rythme, surprises, interest, good scenes...
A novel with great characters: A serial killer we can really know because we always know why he commits his crimes, two police very different who make a spectacular couple...
"Color of evil" is, realley, a very good crime novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
In all the years I have been reading CRIME , never have I come across such a sadistic and brutish story. Apart from that it must be said that it it one NOT TO MISS if you like something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Self-paced thriller, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
David Ruiz Arenas (San Sebastian de los Reyes, Madrid) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
I read the original version in Spanish and was impressed. After a stunning cover, the book grabs you on a sequence of police investigations, pursuits, travel, love, violence, and muchmore ... I loved this story and enjoyed reading it!!

The novel has a rate that increases while the plot progresses. In my opinion, it would be a fabulous story to adapt to the movies or televisión. I'd love to see a film about 'Color of evil'!

Do not hesitate more and discover the adventures of Jason, a very peculiar killer racing across rural places from Spain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colour of evil, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
Four stars for this book had never heard of this author before but found book interesting sometimes a little bit graphic but couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
Adrian Dent (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant book that has an elaborate plot. Keeps you intrigued
Right to the end. An excellent translation that keeps the story true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
Liked it. Smart and original plot. Great background story on the killer's past. Smoothly written/translated. One of those books that manages to be good fun but also very dark. The fantastic Spanish settings could have been more richly evoked, in my opinion, and some of the dialogue was a bit repetitive, but that didn't take anything away from it - was still a gripping read. The killer was so good I almost wanted him to succeed. Would definitely read more of Bermejo and Roncero's adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour of evil, 27 Aug. 2014
By 
Spencer Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
Simply awesome!
A must read for any reader of crime, psychology and horror.
I will be looking for more titles from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be misled............., 10 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color of Evil (Kindle Edition)
Bought as a "Daily Deal" on the strength of the five posted reviews which were all either 5* & 4*, this purported to be a new European crime thriller with a principal to rival Aurelio Zen, Commissaire Adamsberg & Salvo Montalbano - it isn't.
It's extremely poor - the characters are flat, unconvincing and derivative, the dialogue pedestrian and the more florid passages reminiscent of someone's first attempts at Creative Writing. It's procedurally inept (for example, apparently in Spain, Police can identify vehicles' makes & models from tyre tracks - but, unfortunately, not their colour!) and the plotline is full of holes - the passage towards the end of the book in which the villain blackmails one of the two principal detectives into obeying his commands is frustrating in the extreme. The denouement itself is anti-climactic and, frankly, incredible in procedural terms.
I note that, since purchasing, another reader has also given a1* review. I agree - 1* is harsh, I know, & I very rarely award it, but, in all conscience, I can't give more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Color of Evil
Color of Evil by Armando Rodera
£3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews