Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Great conclusion to the trilogy, particularly love the ending. Blake Crouch's prose is so vivid and accurate and the writing style very cinematic. Can see this being adapted well to screen. Absolutely loved spending time in Wayward Pines, what a creepy, cool world it was. Sad it's come to an end.
Published 1 month ago by BritReader

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous 2 books
I loved the first 2 books, as the world described by Blake Crouch is so unlike anything I'd ever read before. However, I think this one fell a bit flat. In my opinion, nothing much really happened in this book that couldn't have been summarized into 20-30 pages at the end of the previous book.

* Spoilers Below *

Most of the book is just describing...
Published 1 month ago by The Captain


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous 2 books, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the first 2 books, as the world described by Blake Crouch is so unlike anything I'd ever read before. However, I think this one fell a bit flat. In my opinion, nothing much really happened in this book that couldn't have been summarized into 20-30 pages at the end of the previous book.

* Spoilers Below *

Most of the book is just describing the bloody consequences of the gate being left open at the end of the previous book. After that, a new problem of diminishing resources is introduced.

I did like that they introduced some backstory, describing how Pilcher's crew built the town in the first place. However, it introduces a major flaw in the entire premise of building Wayward Pines: How is it that he has a crew of hundreds of people that are 100% devoted to him, completely trustworthy, and reliable, and yet his "town population" need to be deceived, lied to, and manipulated into accepting a fake reality?

In the first book it was explained that "we tried telling them the truth but they all committed suicide", but now that the town's backstory has been revealed somewhat, it just doesn't make sense anymore. How come his crew didn't kill themselves? They built an entire town from scratch, why couldn't he have just recruited more of that sort of person instead of kidnapping people in order to build this weird "aquarium" of people to look at?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 July 2014
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Great conclusion to the trilogy, particularly love the ending. Blake Crouch's prose is so vivid and accurate and the writing style very cinematic. Can see this being adapted well to screen. Absolutely loved spending time in Wayward Pines, what a creepy, cool world it was. Sad it's come to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant end to a brilliant trilogy., 16 July 2014
By 
Flew21 (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Same as some other reviews - having read the first two i COULDN'T wait for the third and final (?!) installment. I read it all in one go on the day it was released and I think its the perfect way to wrap up the series. Pace, plot, everything is spot on, and you do get the back story 'fleshed out' a fair bit.
Blake Crouch is far and away my new favourite author, and i cannot wait for his next book-be it something new or (fingers crossed) one more visit to Wayward Pines!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent ending..., 22 July 2014
By 
S. Coleman "pootercommuter" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I've loved reading this trilogy - so imaginative and gripping - and had pre-ordered The Last Town as soon as I'd finished the first two books... it was worth the wait!

The Last Town is very well-thought out, very tense and, ultimately, very surprising at its conclusion. Crouch has an excellent writing style and I've found all three of the books real page-turners that I've stayed up waaaay past my bedtime to finish (and that's saying something at my sort of age - I love my sleep!!).

I'd thoroughly recommend the trilogy to anyone who loves a good sci fi/post-apocalyptic story. I'm going to be looking at his other books now with keen interest...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A suitable end(?) for the series...., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Although the book reads like a movie script, (it should make for interesting viewing, this summer!) it's no worse for it. After the cliff-hanger ending of Wayward, the pace immediately resumes and rushes you through most of the rest of the book. It relents only in about the last fifth.
The two previous instalments must be read prior to diving into book 3. There is some background, but the author rightly assumes you've read the first two books. The fundamental premise is revealed towards the end of Pines.
I'd love there to be a continuation of the series and the epilogue provides the starting point....
Overall a satisfying end to the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of a good story....., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I looked forward to the thrid book of the series to be released, and overall, it was good, but perhaps not quite as good as the first two books.

Once again, the story progressed well explaining what happened to the main characters and what kind of future they (and humanity) would have. This book was perhaps a little more predictable than the previous ones, but it brought the series to a decent ending - although perhaps an ending that was too easy.

If you enjoyed the first two books, The Last Town is a 'must have' if only to end the experience. It was an enjoyable read and i'm pleased I brought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read with many sub-plots within the main story., 16 Aug 2014
By 
MR P J FAIRWEATHER (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the first two books in the Wayward Pines Trilogy I was keen to find out how the story ended.

Initially I found the style in which this book was written difficult to follow as it is quite different to the previous two. In this book the chapters are named according to which character's point of view the story is being told from and the author uses this opportunity to fill in details not covered in the previous books - this does mean that the story jumps from one era to another in rapid succession. It was more of an 'easy read' rather than a 'gripping tale' but this was not a bad thing as there were many sub plots to consider as I worked my way through the book. Eventually all the loose ends are cleverly pulled together and the story concludes in an unexpected manner which left me wondering whether there may be another book in the future.

I enjoyed reading this trilogy which was quite different to my usual reading matter and I am now looking at some of the many other titles by Blake Crouch for my next book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's going to happen next???, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
All three books are easy to read and gripping. Page turners from the get-go! It's not often a book or series leaves me with an "Argh, what is going to happen next?" feeling and I truly loved the ending. But Blake Crouch, seriously, what is going to happen next?
If you like apocalyptic fiction then The Wayward Pines Trilogy is for you. The character development is good, the suspense is built nicely and there's never a dull page. Great, fun, fast-paced trilogy full of intrigue and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book...shame about the gorey detail, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The last town was the last in a series of books by Blake Crouch. I read and enjoyed the first 2 but i had difficulty getting through this one. It was far to gorey for me and went into too much gorey detail. It's a shame really because Blake Crouch is a really excellent imaginitive writer and he doesn't need to use this sort of tactic to keep your interest. It has the opposite effect on me i was tempted to stop reading it and i will think twice befor i choose to read another of his books now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars RCH1708, 28 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Town (The Wayward Pines Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The first two books in this series were brilliant, this one a let down. It was really just mopping up the remains of the story set in the previous books. It should really have been part of book two. Or alternatively the author should have made more of the story threads he created, eg the whole 6 year trip of Adam turned out to be a complete anti climax, he really added nothing useful to the plot.

Nevertheless, it is necessary to read this book if you've read the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews