Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Where Would Love Be Without Fools Like Me..."
**** This Review is for the 2CD DELUXE EDITION ****

EC fans will have seen "461 Ocean Boulevard" re-issued just one too many times in the last 8 years on a plethora of formats - and here it comes again. But this time I'd argue you should sit up and take notice because this vaults trawl is a superb reissue - and in a festive season of over-priced and dubious...
Published 4 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Do read the subscription!
I didn't read the subsription at this box and aspected 'Eric was here' also. Was disappointed! Choose the complete box.
Published 10 days ago by Jan from the Netherlands


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Where Would Love Be Without Fools Like Me...", 10 Dec 2013
By 
Mark Barry (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
**** This Review is for the 2CD DELUXE EDITION ****

EC fans will have seen "461 Ocean Boulevard" re-issued just one too many times in the last 8 years on a plethora of formats - and here it comes again. But this time I'd argue you should sit up and take notice because this vaults trawl is a superb reissue - and in a festive season of over-priced and dubious Deluxe Editions - a star in a reasonably price car.

Firstly - there are two versions of "Give Me Strength..." this 2CD DELUXE EDITION which is called "Give Me Strength: The '74/'75 Studio Recordings" - and a 5CD/1DVD SUPER DELUXE EDITION Book Set which drops the word 'Studio' in its title because it includes lots of live stuff (the "EC Was Here" album and more). Both are released Monday 9 December 2013.

This review is for the 2CD edition - Universal/Polydor 0602537618583 breaks down as follows...

Disc 1 "461 Ocean Boulevard Expanded Version" (79:31 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 10 are the vinyl album "461 Ocean Boulevard" issued July 1974 in the UK on RSO Records 2479 118 and SO 4801 in the USA.
Tracks 11 to 18 are Session Out-Takes:
"Ain't That Lovin' You" (11) was first issued on the 4CD/6LP "Crossroads" box set in April 1988
"Meet Me (Down At The Bottom)" (12) and "Eric After Hour Blues" (16) were first issued on the "Blues" 2CD set in July 1999
"Lonesome Road Blues (Walking Down The Road)" (13) was first issued on the 4CD box set "Crossroads 2" in April 1996
"Getting Acquainted" (14), "Getting Acquainted 2 (Too Late)" (15), "Please Be With Me (Acoustic)" 17) and "Give Me Strength (Dobro 1)" (18) are all PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED

Disc 2 "There's One In Every Crowd Expanded Version" (71:04 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 10 are the vinyl album "There's One In Every Crowd" issued April 1975 in the UK on RSO Records 2479 132 and SO 4806 in the USA.
Tracks 11 to 17 are Session Out-Takes:
"Burial" (11) and "Fool Like Me" (15 are PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
"Whatcha Gonna Do" (12), "I Found A Love" (13) and "(When Things Go Wrong) It Hurts Me Too" (14) first appeared on the 4CD/6LP box set "Crossroads" in April 1988
"Knockin' On Heaven's Door" (16) and "Someone Like You" (17) are a non-album 7" single issued in the UK and USA in August 1975 on RSO Records 2090 166 and SO-513.

Compiled by BILL LEVENSON - the 24-page booklet has in-depth liner notes by JOHN LYNSKEY on both albums and is filled with the kind of facts fans love. They do at times refer to tracks that are clearly on the 6-disc version (especially out-takes), but that's only a minor irritation. The annotation at the rear is also admirably laid out.

Tape Research and Transfers were handled by ELIOT KISSELEFF and ANDY SKUROW with the Remasters and Mix Engineering by SETH FOSTER and KEVIN REEVES (names that have graced hundreds of Universal reissues). Both Foster and Reeves handled the sonically praised "Slowhand" Deluxe Edition issued in 2012. The sound here is fabulous - it really is. Never too showy - loads of presence - especially in the rhythm section of Bass and Drums with Tom Dowd's original production values now more evident than before. On tracks like the Traditional "We've Been Told (Jesus Is Coming Home)" and the lovely vocal break on the infectious "Pretty Blue Eyes" - the audio is so warm and there - just like you'd want it to be. I'd also forgotten how good most of "There's One In Every Crowd" was - excepting the terrible cod-reggae of "Don't Blame Me" - nuggets like the blues cover of Mary McCreary's "Singin' The Blues" and Clapton's own "Better Make It Through Today" are superlative (especially the gorgeously soulful keyboard work by Dick Sims when it meets with Clapton's plaintive solo). I've had the Deluxe Edition and 2004 SACD of "461 Ocean Boulevard" and the remaster here is subtly different. I'd have to say the SACD has the edge in terms of sheer power - but when I play the Elmore James opener of Side 2 "I Can't Hold Out" - I'd swear the mix here is more upfront (which is what I want).

The out-takes (as fans have known since the "Crossroads" release in 1988) are amazingly good - and in some cases - should have been on the album. The 6 previously unreleased on here are certainly not scraping the bottom of the barrel. "Getting Acquainted" are funky rock work out instrumentals with the second being shorter but so much better and tighter (and features some superb fretwork from EC). Rougher round the recording edges is a truly lovely acoustic take of "Please Be With Me" minus Yvonne Elliman's duet vocals - very sweet indeed. The Dobro jaunt through "Give Me Strength" again has that same kind of intimacy but this time with wicked slide work. I could live without the cover of Peter Tosh's "Burial" quite easily but the rocking blues of "Fools Like Me" is just the kind of out-takes fans love. It was written by Jack Clement and Murphy Maddux and was recorded by Jerry Lee Lewis on Sun - it chugs along and features trademark languid slide (lyrics from it title this review).

To sum up - at just over a tenner you're getting two quality Eric Clapton albums with superb sound quality, thorough presentation and out-takes actually worthy of the moniker 'bonus'. I'm seriously tempted now to fork out on the bigger 6 disc issue.

Never the flashiest of artists - Clapton's classiness nevertheless exudes here - and how good is it to hear him get down and dirty with that mean blues slide...

Top stuff - and for me a clear reissue of the year for 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old sock, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Victor Best "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me Strength (Audio CD)
I wanted this collection before Christmas but I could not afford it
no problem I had to make do with the 2cd version
I thought I'll wait until the end of January to order the box set
I could not believe it was unavailable in the UK
import copies add vat and there's likely to be a post office storage charge
this would mean a total cost of around 80 and probably a damaged book
I'm not interested in a download, I want the 461 Blu-Ray
hopefully it will be reissued before next Christmas
eric must have a lot of fans who are out of work?
come on old sock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull to hear all this music again!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me Strength (Audio CD)
Since I am a huge Clapton fan and always has been, I can of course only love this great collection. 461 Ocean Boulevard was a wonderful return by the man himself, and I love almost all numbers on that record. Well, I have heard most of it before except the Freddie King cd, and have the records on vinyl, but with bonus numbers, outtakes, previous unreleased numbers and more, I still find this box fully worth the money. The blue-ray I can play on my blue-ray player, but I don't have speakers and stuff for quadrophonia, surround sound or whatever, so I would have preferred a biographic film from the sessions or about that period of Clapton's life. In the book there are some nice photographs and a short but well written text about the recording sessions and Clapton. But I actually still miss some kind of real biographic movie-story about Clapton and his time from the start till today, maybe one day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give Me Strength - Super Deluxe Box 5 CDs with BluRay, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: Give Me Strength (Audio CD)
This box covers most of Eric Clapton's studio work in 1974 to 1975. The sound is stunning, it has a very natural sound, doesn't seem overly compressed as with the Derek & The Dominos Layla CDs re-master had 4 years ago. There are little unreleased tracks here however the few that are included are great. The unreleased song 'Burial' is a surprise hearing Eric trying to sound like Bob Marley. The other nice surprise is the blues jams with Freddie King are fantastic!
The booklet is nothing special for me, nothing exciting to read unfortunately, but does have a good description of the music enclosed on the discs.
The BluRay took a long time to load up but when it finally did I enjoyed the 5.1 mix of Eric's 1974 recordings but I didn't get the same feeling with the Quad mixes.
The 2 'Live' CDs that have the title EC Was Here is a full concert that contains songs mostly available on several EC box sets. These tracks are remixed and have an improved sound from the previously available versions.

Overall this is a good collection of Eric Claptons career from 1974 to 1975 that has a few extras to sweeten the cost of this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Do read the subscription!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't read the subsription at this box and aspected 'Eric was here' also. Was disappointed! Choose the complete box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars eric clapton-give me strength, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me Strength (Audio CD)
being an massive ec fan i bought this knowing that most of these tracks have been released before,in some cases three times,but the unreleased tracks are good stuff to have ,the booket is pretty dull and the photos have been seen in other mags etc,but having said all that ,if you have not got any ec stuff you might want to invest in this to get you started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give me Strength, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another Clapton CD to add to my collection and it which makes good listening. Buy his CDs when released and if there are new or re-recorded tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Compilation, 14 Mar 2014
By 
J. Connelly "JimUddingston" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excerpt from the larger box set but it is not the best that could have been taken from it. 461 had already been issued and the other CD is not the best material. It would have been better with the 'EC was Here' part of the box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love anything Eric Clapton does and it was nice to get this double album as it had lots of previously un- released tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage EC, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me Strength (Audio CD)
This shows why artists like EC will always be great pure magic Always worth buying EC box sets as such good musical value new and old fans will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Only search this product's reviews