Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story
I wasn't sure what to expect and took a gamble when I bought it. I am glad I did. I don't want to give away any plot details so the best way I can describe it is as a western. It has the hallmarks of a classic western story, the quiet stranger comming to town and getting caught up with the local problems, while trying to avoid or forget his past. The ranchers are the...
Published 1 month ago by Ahmi

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't bother
Not exactly as described by the blurb!

Focused elsewhere on a very short time period, hardly Obi Wan's transformation into Ben
Published 2 days ago by D. Lipecki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't bother, 9 July 2014
By 
D. Lipecki (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Kindle Edition)
Not exactly as described by the blurb!

Focused elsewhere on a very short time period, hardly Obi Wan's transformation into Ben
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not good enough, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Kindle Edition)
Unfortunately it's a poor story, pointless characters and nowhere near enough info about kenobi. Could of been so much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't sure what to expect and took a gamble when I bought it. I am glad I did. I don't want to give away any plot details so the best way I can describe it is as a western. It has the hallmarks of a classic western story, the quiet stranger comming to town and getting caught up with the local problems, while trying to avoid or forget his past. The ranchers are the moisture farmers, with Tusken Raiders standing in for the apaches. It's still Star Wars though, in the best way possible and it captured the essence I think of the character of Obi Wan and let's you understand why Owen Lars declared "that wizards just a crazy old man".

It was well written, enjoyed the characters and near the end there was a little nod toward Ewan McGregor and his part in the Moulon Rouge as Obi Wan mentions an effection for a lady called Satine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good Star Wars Novel, 30 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Kindle Edition)
This is perhaps one of the best Star Wars tie in novels I have read. This tells about Obi Wan's time setting himself up on Tatooine and it does a great job. More of a western feel, Ben Kenobi is given he stranger with no name treatment. I really loved having a story with a minimum of lightsabers and that didnt rely too heavily on nods to the technical gobledeegook that has become commonplace in modern star wars fandom. This felt old skool in that it stands alone. Loved this book. Would be a good movie if they could get Ewan McGregor to agree to star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Hardcover)
Great book, fills in a lot of gaps about Kenobis time on Tatooine during his arrival and how he sets up his life there. Hope we get a sequel or two as this book just leaves you wanting to know more.

If you like Star Wars, Obi-Wan Kenobi, the Jedi or even Westerns then you wont be disappointed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Hardcover)
The book has a great story line and once you start reading is hard to put it down a must to alk star wars or scifi fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A deeper insight, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Kindle Edition)
I read most of the star wars novels as I love the expanding universe. This book will give you a deeper insight into the man that is behind Obi Wan, but I also thought that this was a great novel in itself. It was a nice easy read with enough action to keep you interested and a welcome break from the political back drop of many of the Star wars novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a movie this would make!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Kindle Edition)
If Disney need an idea for a movie with an existing character, they could do a lot worse than producing a screenplay from this excellent book. A Star Wars western, with a soul and enough references to the universe we know and love to keep it very much Star Wars. Brilliant - I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Wild West, 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Hardcover)
As explained by the author, this was originally a planned outline for a graphic novel in a western style which he eventually developed into a full novel.
What we end up with is a rather good piece of prose that takes a hefty handful of classic western themes and characters - the plucky store owner and her family one of whom has fallen in with the wrong crowd, the local big-wig who has a shady past and is not what he seems, the old farmer who holds out against change etc.
Chucked into the mix are the sandpeople, who while filling the native american role, are a lot more complex, plus there are some well placed back references to events both in the films and the canon of other books.
This is, overall, a well written addition to the series and considerably better than many of the works of late under the Star Wars banner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly excellent story, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Kenobi (Kindle Edition)
Very good storytelling, and a must for all Star Wars fans.
It does not dwell to much on the other Star Wars no to make it boring.
Very good pace, and great believable characters in the settlement where Kenobi finds himself helping and further trying to negotiate peace.
Also a very good background to the Sand-people and sympathy for the hardship the endure in their dessert life, explains some of their actions in the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Kenobi
Star Wars: Kenobi by John Jackson Miller
8.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews