Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Backdrop.
Shetland is based on the Ann Cleeves novels featuring the detective Jimmy Perez and I feel they have translated to the small screen just as successfully as Cleeves female detective Vera Stanhope in the series Vera.

Shetland returns for a second series in the form of three two-part stories and comprises the episodes:-

Raven Black: When the body of a...
Published 3 months ago by Pigwin

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, if not brilliant, and definitely recommended
Shetland is a very enjoyable series, with the magnificent scenery of the islands (or wherever it was actually made.) The plots are good, if not brilliant, and the acting first rate. Detective Jimmy Perez is a charming and sympathetic character, the islanders nicely realized. Despite the Scots accents, the dialogue is very audible and comprehensible. It all adds up to...
Published 16 days ago by Daniel Gavron


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Backdrop., 23 April 2014
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Shetland is based on the Ann Cleeves novels featuring the detective Jimmy Perez and I feel they have translated to the small screen just as successfully as Cleeves female detective Vera Stanhope in the series Vera.

Shetland returns for a second series in the form of three two-part stories and comprises the episodes:-

Raven Black: When the body of a teenage girl is found on a deserted beach D.I. Jimmy Perez leads the investigation into her murder and it seems the case may be linked to the unsolved disappearance of a young girl nineteen years earlier.

Dead Water: A journalist is killed in a road accident and it emerges he was an old pal of Perez. As the investigation progresses it seems the victim Jerry's, return to Shetland was connected to plans for a controversial new gas pipeline.

Blue Lightening: This double episode has shades of Agatha's Christie's "And Then There Were None" as when a scientist is discovered murdered in a bird sanctuary on Fair Isle and Perez returns to his childhood home to investigate a storm forces Perez and the suspects to remain enclosed under the same roof.

The stories are well crafted and interesting with a credible number of potential suspects, the acting is of a high quality and the regular cast has been well-chosen; also the series has attracted some fine guest stars including the wonderful Brian Cox in the opening episode. The rugged Shetland landscape with its long stretches of beach, cliffs and hillsides forms a wonderful backdrop for these murder mysteries. In fact, one of the things I appreciate most about Shetland is Shetland itself which at times has an almost Nordic bleakness and at other times we see the Island in summer sunshine; the long, long summer nights often give rise to insomnia.

A captivating and beautiful setting which adds to the series' allure.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this series to viewers in general but in particular to fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'Yank', who loved it, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Shetland is a terrific little detective show very much in the vein of "Single Handed" the wonderful rural Irish Police drama. This show follows DI Doug Henshall and his very good supporting cast thru several cases that are thoughtful and compelling. Unlike most American 'cop shows', this series has no car chases or violent gun play--its the story & the brains of the 'coppers' that matters. Thank god the show HAS SUBTITLES for us hearing impaired folk. Even with the closed captions many of the names for things (like a house) these fine folks use will not make sense to Americans, but you quickly catch on and then truly appreciate the pace of these films and you will want to move there for the landscape. Bring on another season of this fine show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't had the good press that it deserves, 31 Mar 2014
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Quite why 'Shetland' hasn't had the acclaim that other crime thrillers have had is lost on me.
Okay, so it's not as thrilling as some other 'thrillers', but its slow paced brooding nature perfectly matches the setting and the feeling of isolation is palpable.
More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars waiting impatiently..., 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Can not wait to obtain the DVD for my mum, I read the books & am watching the series now, I know its something she will love too. I think Douglas Henshall is brilliant as inspector Perez, just as I imagined, wonderful scenery, set in a beautiful part of the world, love it so much would highly recommend it to anyone who loves murder mystery, drama & crime investigation away from the beaten track..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best detective drama in a long while, 17 April 2014
By 
HJ (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I like this nearly as much as The Bridge, in fact I can't quite decide if I like it even a little more than that but The Bridge wins because of the neutral colour tones and it's quite cinematic, plus it can also be rather amusing in parts, but as I say I like Shetland next best. I don't know the crime stats but I suspect murder is less common there than the series allows but that is the only 'flaw' for me and an easy one to live with. What Shetland does have going for it is the beautiful scenery, it's low-key, like nordic noir, and I find it entirely unpredictable whereas with most homegrown detective drama I don't watch because it's too paint by numbers and often easy to work out. I also find the motivations of the crimes to be plausible, and the nature of the crimes themselves, not ridiculously over the top. The characters are all well fleshed out, too and Jimmy Perez is a very likeable DI, what comes across is a genuine concern for people (and animals, more specifically the raven in first story of second series) but no pushover, someone who is proficiently astute, and pleasingly soft-spoken. I was surprised to like this second series as much as I do because I found the first story of series one to be only average and I did find that case a little far-fetched, but on the back of series two I can't wait for more. A bonus to have strong guest roles, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
brilliantly atmospheric, characters played brilliantly. love perez. cant wait for serious 3.now want to visit Shetland and experience the beautiful scenery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant drama., 26 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
It takes Douglas Henshall to carry the lead role in this new drama but I think it is brilliant. I look forward to many more years of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top viewing, 15 July 2014
By 
Cisco Kid (Brisbane Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this show. No knowing much about the Shetland Islands made it more enjoyable. The scenery of the Islands is bleak but it has a rare beauty about it. I have always enjoyed David Henshall's work and he does not disappoint here. You will not be sorry if you purchase this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the programme, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Did not see the early episodes so needed the box set. Loved the programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this series.... very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD]
Shetland - Series 1-2 [DVD] by Douglas Henshall (DVD - 2014)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews