Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry In Motion
Maximo Park's fifth album Too Much Information is now out on release.Originally an EP,it was decided by the band that their songs were good enough to use on a full length album. The album is a riveting piece of work and is warmly welcomed by the band's fans old,new and embryonic.

"Give,Get,Take",the first track,is a sensuous teasing song made all the...
Published 15 months ago by juliet R

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THAT DIFFICULT FIFTH ALBUM
I am a Maximo fan, but this album doesn't seem to have a lot going for it. Perhaps it will be a grower, but the initial impression is one of disappointment. The third and fourth albums had, in my view, seen a bit of a decline and that downward spiral continues here. However, whilst those albums still had some standout songs, nothing here immediately grabs the attention. I...
Published 14 months ago by Ronaldo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry In Motion, 5 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Too Much Information (Audio CD)
Maximo Park's fifth album Too Much Information is now out on release.Originally an EP,it was decided by the band that their songs were good enough to use on a full length album. The album is a riveting piece of work and is warmly welcomed by the band's fans old,new and embryonic.

"Give,Get,Take",the first track,is a sensuous teasing song made all the more intriguing by the words "I'd forgive you anything -you are a direct inspiration,"as,in the CD's credit,leadman Paul Smith's entry "Love to Becca-you are a direct inspiration",has the listener wondering if there's a romantic connection between Becca and the love interest in "Give,Get,Take".

But I digress. Too Much Information has a poppy,upbeat feel to most of the songs,but is rescued from too much mainstream information by tracks such as the subterranean"Brain Cells" and the Jonathan Richmanesque"My Bloody Mind".

Well-produced by the band themselves and engineered by David Brewis(Field Music),Duncan Lloyd and Lukas Wooller from Maximo Park,this album is a rich mix of words and music which holds the listener's ear immediately.

It's a newish direction for the band,but thankfully that old mysterious magic that they still retain secretes itself through this album's music.

The best and most "connected" track is,in my opinion,"Leave This Island".The tune is exceptional,the instrumental backing is tight and unflawed,and the steady drumbeat (Tom English)shows how Maximo Park,at their best,can be on top of their game.
A chart success?I'm really hoping so,with this song.

"Drinking Martinis"is rather a lovely song-a sad tale of romantic loss...and "Midnight On The Hill" is another poetically-worded track with a strong backbeat."Her Name Was Audre"is a rocking tribute to black poetess Audre Lorde,perhaps not a literary figure known by everybody,but nonetheless worth singing about.

The last track "Where We're Going" has singer Paul Smith in very good voice;it's a ballad-style song with beautiful backing vocals from MP's Duncan Lloyd.

The bonus CD of cover songs is also worth hearing.I particularly liked "Northern Sky" and "I'll Be Here In The Morning",by Nick Drake and Townes Van Zandt respectively.Both very beautiful,poignant songs.

TMI is an album which appears superficial on first hearing,but in fact has many layers to it. In some ways,it's a little more heavy-going than MP's previous four albums,but that's not to criticize.Suffice it to say that MP's followers will recognize it as another triumph for the band and for their fans.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different to the first four albums.........but still brilliant., 5 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Too Much Information (Audio CD)
This should have been the follow up to Quicken the Heart as the overall feel is similar with excellent lyrics and fewer guitar songs. (The National Health should have been the 3rd album after Our Earthly Pleasures!). First few listens reveal some great songs which i'm sure will get even better with further plays. The EP with 6 cover versions (all with the MP stamp on them) is also excellent and well worth the extra couple of quid. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid album from Maximo park, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Information (Audio CD)
Great album , leave this island and midnight on the hill great great songs and their version of Northern sky beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Quality LP, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Information (Audio CD)
Ok, I'm a Maximo Park fan, so may be bias! But this LP has the energy and quality of their Debut album. So far I've 5 star 5 songs out of 11 songs. I saw them live and they were as good live as I could of hoped for! These songs sound even better live and Paul Smiths voice is quality and what a front man!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THAT DIFFICULT FIFTH ALBUM, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Information (Audio CD)
I am a Maximo fan, but this album doesn't seem to have a lot going for it. Perhaps it will be a grower, but the initial impression is one of disappointment. The third and fourth albums had, in my view, seen a bit of a decline and that downward spiral continues here. However, whilst those albums still had some standout songs, nothing here immediately grabs the attention. I would suspect that, in 10 years, when they do their 20th Anniversary Tour they won't be singing many songs from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant band good quality vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid record, 22 July 2014
By 
J. Leggett (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Impressive return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maximo brilliance, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Information (Audio CD)
Maximo brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I bought a gig ticket!, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Information (Audio CD)
As always the lyrics are first class!
Maximo Park at their best.....roll on the tour St Patrick's day gig at the UEA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker., 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Information (Audio CD)
I was very pleased when I heard that Maximo Park were doing this ,their 5th album and excellent it is too. I had to buy the special one with the e.p. and it doesn't disappoint. Going to see them in Leeds soon (for the 6th time) so as you can probably tell I'm a big fan. Can't wait, I hope they play all the new stuff and throw in a few older songs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Much Information
Too Much Information by Maxïmo Park (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews