Customer Reviews


497 Reviews
5 star:
 (332)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More accessible than you might expect...
Great cookbook full of interesting recipes and nowhere near as difficult for a half competant cook to source & make as some reviews would have you believe. Aside from some of the errors mentioned elsewhere it's a cut above a large number of cookbooks but without requiring a huge amount of kitchen machinery or specialised gear...
Published 4 months ago by AbsoluteSpirit

versus
265 of 283 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "As-salt-ed" by Tom's lack of proof reading!
Tom, have you actually tried cooking any of your recipes from this book using the weights and measures you have written down?

a 25% brine for salt beef is far too high and will make for an unpalatable cure, assuming you survive the dangerously high concentration of saltpetre!! 50g is enough for 2 gals of brine and way over the EC limits for curing meats...
Published 14 months ago by Mc Blades


‹ Previous | 136 37 3850 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful seller, great prices, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After an issue with royal mail the seller was extremely helpful in sorting it out and refunding postage. Good communication, would definitely recommend and great prices. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a fairly accomplished cook and really enjoyed the T.V. series so thought the cookbook would be a welcome addition to my collection! The dish I wanted to cook was battered fish,never having prepared a batter before I simply followed the recipe.The balance of the batter was obviously out of kilter in some fashion.I had to add almost 500ml of beer.On reading reviews online I was only one of many .I lost confidence in the entire book,sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't float my boat, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Aims much higher than a pub food book - there's nothing in here that isn't high quality restaurant food and I was after something a bit easier, earthier. I had hoped (naively) that this was going to be modern interpretations and invigorations of classic pub food. But it's not. It's very posh. The ingredients are hardly common and it requires techniques well beyond interested amateurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good solid food ..., 16 Feb 2014
By 
M. T. Skirving Ac "Mind Chef" (Kidderminster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Tom Kerridge's work. As a chef and restaurateur, I will use a number of ideas he has brought into the world!
Keep it up Tom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tom kerridge, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a Christmas present for my son, but unfortunately found the same book much cheaper in Costco. A bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars complicated, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recipies no use at all for a domestic kitchen. All right for a catering establishment with staff to assist with preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is proper Lush, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the watching the shows and so wanted the book too .All his idea are good to use some easy some not so but fun too.This is a proper Lush pub food book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper lush, 25 Jan 2014
Super book. Great sounding recipes. Made the chocolate and ale cake tonight which was easy and worked brilliantly (and I'm not the world best baker). Can't wait to try them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the enthusiastic amateur, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a lovely book.Homely,simple food with a twist. Clear,easy to follow and in the main,using ingredients that most of us have, Beautiful illustrations which are useful in showing you exactly what the end result should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 136 37 3850 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Kerridge's Proper Pub Food
£4.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews