Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim, but fascinating, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Katie (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this partly because I had just seen the film and partly because I wanted to download something to my new kindle. I was surprised to find that it is actually several books about slavery in the edition I bought.

12 years a slave is spellbinding. I had already read "Uncle Tom's Cabin" years ago, and I don't know why "12 Years" has never received more acclaim. It is at least as good as Uncle Tom, and has the added advantages of being a first hand account by someone to whom these experiences really happened. I read it in two days, and am now reading another of the books that came with it in the download, "Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl", another autobiographical account, and also gripping. Everyone with an interest in the subject should read these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 yrs a slave, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
thank you very much, my wife loved it & listened to it while we were on holiday in morocco lying by the swimming pool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
A wonderfully written life story of a free coloured man kidnapped from the North, given another name in the South and sold into slavery. The insight into the cruelty and wickedness in the plantation owners and their families is an eye opener. The belief that they were superior to their slaves and is normal the treat them like animals. What an awful place in the South with beliefs like this. A cracking book. Highly recommended. Thank the civil war to save and release these poor slaves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read,very informative., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
i ca't wait to see the film. The subject matter ie slavery is abomination and shows man inhumanity to man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seen the Movie had to read the book, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting and disturbing at times the violence one human can dish out to another - astounding.
You have to bear in mind when the story was written 1853 as this version is written in the language of the day.
Enjoyable and enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
One can't say it was enjoyable as it was about an horrific part of man's history 'slavery', but it was extremely well written and should be considered a history of what people have done to each other in the past as a reminder never to take that path again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slavery, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
This was a very good read. I'm glad slavery was abolished. I didn't know until reading Solomon's story that they actually kidnapped those that were born free. The ferocity with which slaves were beaten is sickening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cry for freedom!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book as it takes you through what appears to be a well educated man and his descent into slavery, he takes you through the horrors that befall those who have been dragged into this alien lifestyle. Solomon was lucky in some respect as he had a trade which would help him avoid the more mundane tasks that slaves were made to endure for very long hours day in day out.
It's worth reading this book just to get a feel (imagined as nothing could duplicate the real thing) for the inhuman things that some people are willing to make others endure just for the colour of skin,
Remember slavery is just as prevalent today as it was in Solomon Northups time,it's just disguised very well and does not get the attention it needs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
All good with this product. I have no complaints at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Years a Slave: Illustrated Edition (Includes Additional Slave Narratives, including Uncle Tom's Cabin) (Kindle Edition)
like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews