Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars15
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 26 October 2013
This book is in the format of a series of short essays, covering the main personalities of the drama. The writing style is easy and the book flows very well. The only thing I found a little disappointing is the fact that Wilkinson describes in detail the various theories surrounding the princes in the tower (interesting in themselves)but her own conclusion is rushed into a page or two. This aside, a very good representation of the mystery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 May 2015
This is a well researched piece of historical investigation made all the more tantalising because we shall probably never know the truth but Josephine Wilkinson manages to neatly throw into serious doubt the popular myth about the disappearance of the two princes. Inevitably her research throws up a myriad of names which can be a little confusing as one progresses through the pages. It is a good read and thought provoking.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 30 December 2013
Very thorough investigation into the disappearance of the princes. Still not conclusive though. Will we ever know the truth? Probably not.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 19 May 2014
But the author gives some plausible ideas of what could have happened to the princes if they survived. She suggests several possibilities. While many still insist that they were murdered, this book is really for those who prefer to have an open mind concerning the fate of the Princes in the Tower. Bear in mind that in those days, there were no cameras, CTTVs,r TVs or computers.yet even today, people have disappeared without trace but could still be living somewhere else with a name change etc so to suggest that the princes must have died because they were not seen again doesn't mean they did not survive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 20 February 2014
Surrounding all the hoo haa about Richard III being found in a Leicestershire car park I found myself drawn to this book as, from what I remember of my history lessons, Richard III was the bad man who killed off his nephews. Wondering if any new light has been shed on this case I took a chance with Wilkinson's book and indeed did learn more.

As other reviewers have noted we do not find out what really happened to the boys, but the process of uncovering chronological time lines to understand who was where and doing what at the time was very interesting, as was the fact that contemporary accounts all differ from each other in their explanation of what happened to the young Edward V and his brother The Duke of York.

Were they murdered, were they spirited away abroad, were they drowned, buried under the steps in the Tower of London or were they indeed smothered in their beds?

Being sentimental I would like to think that the path was made clear for Henry VIII to become king and the boys were sent away with the permission of their Mother, but the fact That Richard III did not appear to defend himself from the rumors that he had killed them was very interesting (implicating??).

This book is quite easy to read but could have done with some family trees and perhaps an injection of other pictures to aid the readers understanding. I had to get out a British History book to read alongside this one as I started to become confused as to who was the father of who, who was married to who and what the family links were.

Wilkinson kind of takes it for granted that the reader is well versed in Tudor History but the many mentions of copious family members and even contemporary various other persons was hard to get your head around. Before reading this I had never come across Polydore Vergil, Mancini or any other people casually mentioned in this book and a brief explanation as to who they were would have been useful.

There are also mentions of 'Chronicles' (which I assume are either court circulars or newspapers... I'm not sure) which could have done with a little more explanation as it was unclear as to who was reading these articles and what they were for.

I did like this book and was drawn further into the mystery of the Princes in the Tower. Even though I didn't really expect a huge new fact to have come to light I did feel the last chapter was rushed and Wilkinson's own gut feeling about what had happened to them was missing. It seems she does deal in facts and is quick to rubbish a few that have stood the test of time, but her own real opinion was sadly missing... unless the last line of this book is what she really thought!

All in all a good read, but some help for the less seasoned historian would have been helpful.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
The reason that I have given this narrative 3 stars is simply that, on a subject that is highly controversial, this book simply isn't. It's bland.
Yes it goes through all that's probable/possible/likely etc., but it doesn't (and cannot) answer the question stated in the title anymore than anyone else can. It's main saving grace is that it doesn't make statements of 'fact' (which are not and cannot be proven) whereas some other so called historians do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2014
Wilkinson admits that in writing the second part of her biography of Richard III, she became too bogged down with the whole 'princes in the tower' enigma and so chose to pull some of her thoughts together in this book.

Each chapter looks at a different suspect of aspect of the mystery. I've given only three stars not because there was anything particularly wrong with what was written, I think I just expected that Wilkinson had uncovered something new or had a stunning new theory to present! The downside with reading non-fiction books on the Kindle can be that you get to about 75% in and it suddenly ends with the rest of the book being footnotes, bibliography etc.

It is a good and lucid look at the facts and the arguments, so not a bad book, just nothing new and didn't meet the expectations I had formed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 August 2015
Present for a history addict and he loved it still refers to it.
Just as frustrating as all the Princes books because no one will ever know what happened unless the Queen finds documentation hidden in her attic which explains it all!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 15 December 2013
In an area of history which is raked over time & again I found the treatment of rumour in this book added an element of novelty.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
Thank you I'm very pleased
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.