Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a pretty colour.
As with every Opinel knife that I have ever owned, this represents tremendous value for a quality knife.

The orange colour is actually a practical choice as it stands out very well against grass and the lanyard further reduces the chances of it being mislaid in the middle of nowhere (Possibly a bad business decision by Opinel as I may now take slightly longer...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You will need to find a pair of pliers and a bottle of WD40! Again and again!
FIRST IMPRESSION: The design looks good with an excellent handle and a sharp blade. And I think it represents good value for money.

However, there were a couple of problems with the machining and finishing. It required a lot of attention before it would work properly. Firstly, I had to open the knife blade with a pair of pliers and apply WD40 because it had...
Published 5 months ago by Ben Wolstenholme


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a pretty colour., 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with every Opinel knife that I have ever owned, this represents tremendous value for a quality knife.

The orange colour is actually a practical choice as it stands out very well against grass and the lanyard further reduces the chances of it being mislaid in the middle of nowhere (Possibly a bad business decision by Opinel as I may now take slightly longer to lose this one).

The blade arrives sharp, doesn't corrode (much, after a good deal of improper care) and sharpens to a very good edge when required.

In summary, it just does its job very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great knife, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a Scout leader and recommend these knives for all of my Scouts. Easy to keep sharp, holds an edge well, comfortable handle for smaller hands, simple locking mechanism, and cheap enough to lose. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great all rounder., 8 July 2013
By 
Louise Prescott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant affordable penknife, I didn't want a knife that did lots of things just a penknife to cut. It is very sharp and I love the safety catch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opinel Blue, 1 Jun 2013
By 
TonyD "biotone" (Up North) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great little knife - a variation on the Opinel No7, with a 3-inch steel blade stamped 'Opinel Inox' (easy to sharpen, but already pretty sharp!) and the patented twist and lock system to hold it secure when open. The curved handle is just big enough for my hand with my index finger snug behind the locking ring. Finished in a sky blue, with 'Opinel Savoi France' stamped on the handle and a short lanyard at the base. Quite stiff to open from new, but will ease with time - there is some flex in the quite narrow blade when open but still feels very secure. Exactly what you need when all you want is something to cut with instead of a mini toolbox !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opinel is the mark of a quality pocket knife., 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Holds a very keen edge with little grinding required. May bother some who use it to cut fruit as there is a strong 'iron-y' smell when cutting acidic fruits but otherwise perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Specifications not quite right, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually carry a pen knife of some description as I frequently have found them useful for any number of small jobs.

I bought this as my first Opinel after hearing many good things about them for years. it's light weight is unobtrusive in the pocket and the shape of the wood handle is comfortable in the hand. Given the stated 7.5 cm length i though that this would fall within the UK legal requirement for knives that you can have in public. They must not exceed 3 inches (7.65 cm). There must be some manufacturing variation as the blade on mine was 7.75 cm and would be considered an offensive weapon in the UK.

I shaved a little off the tip by converting it to a drop point blade to bring it into 3 inches. I also removed the locking collar to meet the UK requirement of only folding non locking knives being legal. It's not hard to place the locking collar back on if you want to.

having said that the stainless steel blade came very sharp and has proven to be stainless and hold a good edge for all sorts of little jobs. it's easy enough to refresh the edge on the blade with the right kit. I would recommend it, but if you want something that you can carry if you're out and about in the UK it may be simpler to get the next size down (No 6).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sharp, 29 Aug 2013
By 
M. Garth "Mighty Tree" (Spalding, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's a great knife, light weight and a great blade. It comes quite sharp and the blade hasn't dulled much with general use so far.

Ideal to have in your: fishing box, camping supplies, gardening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for purpose, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this knife, as i work at a yard full of horses and donkeys, so it saves searching for some form of instrument to open a bale. Arrived in good time, the blade was very sharp!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great knife, 4 Nov 2013
Great mushroom and general forage knife takes a couple of days of use to loosen the blade from handle, but this is normal well packed arrived in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 5 Aug 2013
It just right for little jobs on the farm....with a great touch thats so me...purple!
Highly recommend product
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Opinel Outdoor Trekking Knife
£7.00 - £16.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews