Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime
I first came across the film by chance when browsing BBC i Player and downloaded it to view whilst on a short break away. At that stage I had never [sadly] heard of British Sea Power .I was immediately entranced and moved by the film and its haunting soundtrack .On return I was disappointed that it had disappeared from iPlayer and the DVD of the film and the album had...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but not memorable
Nice background music, but I didn't fall in love with it or go away humming it, so without lyrics it wasn't that memorable.
Published 4 months ago by Psychologist


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sea To The Land Beyond (MP3 Download)
I first came across the film by chance when browsing BBC i Player and downloaded it to view whilst on a short break away. At that stage I had never [sadly] heard of British Sea Power .I was immediately entranced and moved by the film and its haunting soundtrack .On return I was disappointed that it had disappeared from iPlayer and the DVD of the film and the album had not yet been released . Happily that situation has been remedied and I have both. Even without the film the music is sublime and if you are at a loss to know what to get this Christmas for the ones you love you cannot go far wrong with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain of the year?, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never have a film and sound track worked in such perfect harmony.
The film is often beautiful, occasionally bizarre, but always beguiling.
The sound track is the perfect complement. Once heard, the music has a mesmeric, haunting effect.
The double bonus is the DVD and cd in one collection.
They will both be classics in their own sphere. Landmark events in every way.
Stephen Simpson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was smitten with this when i saw the film on BBC4.

Delighted they have released the soundtrack seperately on CD.

It is just beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite relaxation music since Boards of Canada's The Campfire Headphase. I'd highly recommend watching the film to which this music forms the soundtrack as well (available on DVD). A beautiful piece of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Craig Flint "Craiglington" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sea To The Land Beyond (MP3 Download)
I was touched deeply by the soundtrack to this wonderful documentary yet was frustrated when Shazam couldn't identify the tracks. I saw the end credits telling us it was by British Sea Power but that was it. I searched their albums to no avail so imagine my delight when I caught sight of this CD being recently launched. One word: sublime. Just buy it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
Martin B (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From The Sea To The Land Beyond (MP3 Download)
Quite simply the best album I've heard in many years.

A stunning piece of work on it's own, and when listened to whilst watching the film......well, it's exquisite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly good, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Listen to it on Its own or with the film, it's is quite simply breathtaking. A superb album/soundtrack that will not disappoint. Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Christmas presents I've had, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Something of a masterpiece. Remarkable blend of music and archive film to evoke the lives and experiences of the ordinary British people from the start to near-end of the 20th century. It's grippingly fascinating, delicately haunting, downright heart-swelling, joyous and amusing in some parts, sorrowful and sombre in others, but always riveting and stirring of feelings that capture those of the folk alive and kicking that you see at that moment in the film. The music is self-standing on a separate CD if you want to close your eyes in a quiet room and let your feelings go with the flow. It's an eloquent film, even poetic. One of the best Christmas presents I've had. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting Reflection, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haunting reflection on past life in the British Isles with music that envokes thought and compassion for those that have gone before and have contributed to what makes the Britsh isles so unique in the World today ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last - the CD, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the DVD but had been frustrated by the fact I could not listen to the music in the car or away from the TV. Fabulous background music, very mellow and evocative. Absolutely love it. Comes with the DVD (so now I have 2 :/ ) thus representing excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From The Sea To The Land Beyond
From The Sea To The Land Beyond by British Sea Power
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews