Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy
These are incredibly useful in terms of stopping inconvenient punctures and flat tires at the most awkward of times - which are anytime it happens. They are not infallible but do stop the nasty slow punctures from happening 99% of the time. So invest and get these fitted.
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by Kian2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not impressed
i bought this because i was sick of repairing/replacing inner tubes. for starters the valve seemed defective because it just kept leaking (bodged that back to working order) then got a puncture expecting the self sealing tube to do its job,no, the sludge came out made a lot of mess but failed to seal the leak, checked the box to see if i was being a prat, no so in short...
Published 12 months ago by mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 8 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These are incredibly useful in terms of stopping inconvenient punctures and flat tires at the most awkward of times - which are anytime it happens. They are not infallible but do stop the nasty slow punctures from happening 99% of the time. So invest and get these fitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more flats, 18 April 2012
By 
I. Williams "teedub" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have used these for around three years now and never had a puncture. I would guess that one that time I have done around 6,000 miles on three bikes. I replaced the tubes with Dr Sludge in my hybrid last summer and on the way to work got a thorn in the front tyre that penetrated the tube to the extent that, when I removed the thorn, the "sludge" came though the tyre. I continued my journey fully expecting to have to turn back but Dr Sludge did the job. That tube is still on the bike and my son uses it 3-4 times a week for his 10 mile round trip commute.

The purchase I am reviewing here was for my other sons bike he was suffering a puncture a week - since fitting these (Feb 2012)he is now puncture free and enjoying his cycling again.

Try them, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not impressed, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this because i was sick of repairing/replacing inner tubes. for starters the valve seemed defective because it just kept leaking (bodged that back to working order) then got a puncture expecting the self sealing tube to do its job,no, the sludge came out made a lot of mess but failed to seal the leak, checked the box to see if i was being a prat, no so in short buy something else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Initial problems but okay now., 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had initial teething problems. Found the valve a bit sticky. Meant it leaked air via the valve until the fluid sealed the leak, but then made pumping up a problem. Finally solved it by pumping it up and using long nose pliers to make sure the inner part of the valve was pulled fully out. Since then been fine. No leaks and the assurance that if I pick up a puncture will be fine. Didn't find the tube particularly heavy. Due to the amount of broken glass in my area this is needed. Been using it now for 4 weeks with no issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
yeah they work, but the hastle of the valves clogging up do cause alot of problems, they do add a bit of weight to the bike aswell. not a huge amount but u can feel it when setting off from stationary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought two of these in July 2012. Have not used them intensively and not at all during the winter. Started biking again in late March, both have split within 4 rides. Waste of money, will now get a known names
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They really do work, 12 Jan 2013
By 
R. Styles (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not been into off road cycling for very long, but its a very enjoyable way to keep riding thriugh the winter. My only bugbear was that every ride I did resulted in a puncture either when I was out, or the tyre deflated after I had returned home. Either way I hardly ever managed a ride without a puncture repair to look forward to. Having seen the self sealing tubes available on Amazon I decided to give them a try. I can honestly say they are brilliant. I have never once had to repair a puncture whilst out on a ride. A couple of times a tyre has deflated slightly after a ride but they have always self sealed following the removal of the offending thorn of flint which had entered the tyre whilst on the ride. Its well worth the slight additional expense of these tubes to avoid the constant puncture problem. A great idea that works. Full marks from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice item, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great item this self sealing inner tubes
Perfect to use and they are really self sealing inner tubes.
Amazing how many mles you can get on one of this babies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems to be effective, 16 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have not had any punctures which have deflated since installing these innertubes. This might be chance or the fact that the sealant is self repairing the tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars VERY unreliable, overpriced, 8 Aug 2014
This review is from: Dr Sludge Inner Schrader Valve Self Sealing Tube (Sports)
Bought 3 of these and the first one failed within a few months but you cant expect 100% for everything. However the second one failed the same way. The valve just failed one day which is as bad, if not worse than a sudden puncture which these tubes are designed to prevent. When I removed it there was a spot of sludge in the tyre so it had prevented a puncture but that is irrelevant as I still needed a new tube. Perhaps they are designed with in built obsolescence (less than a year). The third tube has just done the same thing. 100% failure rate. You're better off with cheap tubes and a good tyre like the specialized armadillo or flak jacket. There is nothing positive about these tubes, they are heavy too. At least with a cheap tube you're going to be unlucky to get a flat. With these tubes you're guaranteed one within a year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews