Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good lock
This Abus lock is really good. It's a reasonable price, has a Sold Secure Silver rating and the mechanism for attaching the lock to the bike is really good.
Published on 19 Oct 2010 by Thelle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some niggles
It's large so not easy to find space to fit if you have a bottle carrier. The biggest problem is the plastic fixing piece, difficult to describe the problem but one can not fit the lock directly within the bike frame, the fitting has to be to one side so it partly sticks out. Potential to catch feet or thighs. Also the key must be fully inserted and it's all to easy to...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by John The Handyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good lock, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
This Abus lock is really good. It's a reasonable price, has a Sold Secure Silver rating and the mechanism for attaching the lock to the bike is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some niggles, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
It's large so not easy to find space to fit if you have a bottle carrier. The biggest problem is the plastic fixing piece, difficult to describe the problem but one can not fit the lock directly within the bike frame, the fitting has to be to one side so it partly sticks out. Potential to catch feet or thighs. Also the key must be fully inserted and it's all to easy to partly turn the key without fully engaging the mechanism. You then spend time turning the key back and forth trying to either withdraw it or push it fully in. Very irritating. I'd not really recommend this lock for these 2 reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abus Varedo 47 23cm D Lock (230mm), 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
A good "silver " rated product which meets insurance requirements
Easy to fit, lots of different ways, but instructions a bit vague.
The lenth is fine, and dont be fooled by the lager D Lock they may not fit on your bicycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABUS D bike lock, 19 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
This is the first D lock that I have purchased and it seems really good, definitey better than using the thin cable locks on their own and it is not as heavy as expected. I did see a much cheaper D lock in Sainsburys (7-ish) that was heavier, but I'd hope the quality of the Abus metal, etc, would surpass it. The mounting bracket arrangement is smart, although I had to mount it upside down according to the instructions, on the near-side. It seems to make no difference, it can't fall out of the holder as the D loop goes through it and into the lock body. I just have to try to remember to push the slider over the key hole to keep the road muck out of the lock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good lock for my foldable bike, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
Fantastic product! I'd recommend it to everybody. It addapts easily to my foldable bike.

The Varedo 47 has a level 9 out 15 in the Abus security scale (Abus is a leader company in security products), but it's enough to chain your bike in the streets.

If you are looking for the most secure lock you can get the Abus Granit-54, but is a heavier and more expensive model than the Varedo.

I think that Varedo 47 has good quality/price rate. Just one con, the weight, about 1kg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars locked down, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
My bike is parked just off Oxford Road in (more or less) central Manchester, and has not been stolen so far, so this is serving its purpose it seems. I use this lock as wellOXFORD Barrier Armoured Cable lock.

Technically, the Abus is fine - clearly sturdy and tough. The mechanism is OK, bit fiddly, although that may speak to the sturdiness of the lock, and the precision of the engineering. Heavy, which again is probably for the best.

The mounting mechanism in many ways is fine, cleverly designed and certainly sturdy enough, compared to others in years past. Mine has eventually lost a bolt though, and I've got a replacement on order. The problem is that the frame of my bike is just too thick for the mount to fit around comfortably. This is probably my only complaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 14 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
Pros: very safe, easy installation to the bike's tubes.
Cons: the weight, and the keys have to be inserted COMPLETELY (if you do not do so, you are at risk of damaging the lock mechanism). Lubricate the lock once you receive it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bike Lock, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
This is a great bike lock. It is sturdy but not too heavy. It can be mounted on your bike frame when you are not using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yet another quality lock, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
this is third one of those i purchased from Amazon. So far none of them were open. Lock is long enough to lock both wheels to the frame and railing if both bike wheels have quick release. Safety comes with the price of weight but it is bearable. Will recommend to anyone wanting a decent bike lock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very strong looking/feeling bike lock, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. S. Smedley "Nastylittleman2" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Varedo 47 (Sports)
I know that no bike lock is 100% so I weighed up cost to likelihood of theft and decided on this one. I use a cheapy halfords cable lock that I keep permanently on my bike which I use around the front tire and locking up about town. The Abus one I keep attached to the railings outside and lock to my back wheel and frame overnight. My bikes only worth about 150 so I think 2 locks are enough of a deterrent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abus Varedo 47
22.99 - 61.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews