Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars200
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 February 2014
In this darkest of Scandinavian noir detective thrillers, the Swedish autistic workaholic Saga joins forces once again with Danish Martin, the once easy-going philanderer now estranged from his partner Mette and traumatised by a ghastly personal tragedy. The complex crime of eco-terrorism which they are required to unravel turns out to be less gripping than the relationships between the main characters. Despite Saga's frequent resemblance to a robot, lack of empathy and wooden quoting from textbooks on how to behave, her acting towards the end is excellent in showing the dawning of emotion in her face as Martin forces her to confront the past events that have so damaged her psyche, and also as she has to deal with a final dilemma. In portraying a busy office where a disparate group of officers are thrown together, working under stress, there are also frequent touches of humour in what might otherwise be a very bleak and macabre film, with frequent scenes of speeded up grey clouds streaming frenetically over ugly grey concrete blocks.

The plot twists and the continual introduction of new, seemingly unconnected storylines for the watcher to work out while contending with subtitles made me wish I had noted key events at the end of each episode. The body count was so high, and the events at times so ludicrous, that I almost gave up watching. However, I was both rehooked and quite impressed by the final two episodes, with their pace and some real depth. The writer Hans Rosenfeldt has ensured the plot "adds up", which is often not the case in this kind of drama, plus he has left at least three loose ends to justify a third series.

Even if you have reservations, the dramatic sweep of the Øresund Bridge, never fails to impress in the opening shots. This has developed to be stronger and more "multi-layered" than Series 1.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Don't faff about watching English language remakes of this remarkable Nordic Noir you won't get the full force of the atmosphere created by the amazing filming and the great actors. I was sceptical at first having watched many foreign movies as a student - could I be bothered with sub-titles? Well in this case YES I COULD! I have also bought series 1 because I missed that. The great thing is there is going to be a series 3 - FANTASTISK ( I used Google translate to get that Swedish word, but hey there are many similarities in our languages :)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
.

More than a year had passed since the events of The Bridge’s season one finale. Martin was a changed man following the murder of his teenage son, August, at the hands of the “Truth Terrorist”, his marriage had fallen apart and his hair had turned grey overnight. Saga, on the other hand, was exactly as Spock-like as ever: still faultlessly professional, still stripping down to her bra in the office, still puzzled by human social interaction.

When a ship veered off course and rammed into the now-familiar Oresund Bridge, Saga discovered five young people on board, drugged and chained up. She once again required the help of her Danish colleague, Detective Martin Rohde. But was the damaged and reckless Martin up to conducting a homicide investigation, so soon after tragedy? And was Saga up to providing the emotional support he needed?

Excellent characterisation has always been the bedrock of this near-perfect series, so it was a relief to see that while the leads had been allowed to evolve, the delicate balance of their good cop/mad cop routine had been retained. Meanwhile, new story threads introduced us to an intriguingly ruthless teenage girl and a lonely teenage boy, and all of it was set against the beautifully muted colour palette of Scandi suburbia. Surely beige has never been so interesting?

.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Devotees of The Bridge will be aware that once you have viewed the first episode, you are hooked ,and a "binge watch" (time permitting is almost inevitable Having watched the first three episodes (Disc one ) I placed disc two in my player and you can imagine my disappointment when I discovered that there was no subtitles.I immediately checked disc three and found that similarly there was no subtitles. As I purchased this DVD a year ago I have been unable to return it Having read other reviews I note that my experience is not unique.!! It is simply not good enough as I paid over 15 pounds I have subsequently bought another DVD from another retail outlet as I will not be buying DVDs again from Amazon following this experience Once bitten twice shy
88 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
The Bridge has got to be the best show on TV (why it isn`t on BBC1 in the UK I`ll never know), but anyway we do at least get it. I didn`t watch it when it was on TV and waited for the dvd box set as wanted to see it without many breaks. The two lead cops played by Sofia Helin and Kim Bodnia have an amazing chemistry together, and the acting by them has been superb. I await with anticipation Series 3.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Only once in my life have I found a "sequel" to be superior to the origiinal! I much preferred the brooding GODFATHER 2 to the first--and now I'm astonished, amazed and enthrall by The Bridge 2, which miraculously surpasses the first. Now the first is right up there with the Classic Nordic Noir--THE KILLING 1-3, the MILLENIUM trilogy most importantly. But I was shattered by the fearless honesty and depth of the characters! The plot is probably better in #1, sensational as it was, but the plotting here is fine and absorbing. BUT the characters have drunk a Shakespearean potion that heightens their inner depths thrillingly. Saga is here an astounding presence--managing to convey a robotic concentration and intensity focused on the mystery at hand------but OH! the views of her inner soul & heart are yearningly aching and filled with wonder. Sofia Helin is the Cate Blanchett of Europe! And Kim
Bodnia gives a richly textured complex set of heartbreaks and hidden agony. The ending is apropriately an emotional volcano!
This is worthy of Strindberg, as it reveals the Scandinavian world, and its need to keep things secret, repressed, and avoided.
I thought it had to be disappointing after the wild thrill of #1. But the Wagnerian brooding of THE BRIDGE 2 tops the Verdian melodramatic "rushes" of BRIDGE 1.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
The main character Saga improves with knowing. With Martin its very much the other way round...I couldn't understand why so many women would want to go to bed with him. The plot is a little fantastical but riveting all the same. The ending is very clever and unexpected. It leaves the door open to series 3!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Whilst the series is excellent, I am giving one star to the DVD itself. This is the second copy I have had to return because there are no English sub-titles. I note that at least one other person has had a similar problem. Amazon need to review their own and their suppliers quality control systems.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
Excellent series. A truly gripping tale building on the previous adventure. This really does try and maintain the momentum of the first story by taking people is a similar, but significantly different, police investigation. There is more about the personal lives of the two main characters. It is without doubt worth the time to watch and read through the subtitles. There are more loose ends in this tale which could be picked up in another series. There is scope for a great deal more. I would love to see a third series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
I always thought I could not get along with subtitles how wrong I was. This is so engrossing the subtitles are no problem the acting is first rate and the plot is suburb.Although it could be described as a murder [several] mystery there is much more to it and the two leading characters are excellent.I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys good acting and a very interesting storyline
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)