Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a bridge too far
In this darkest of Scandinavian noir detective thrillers, the Swedish autistic workaholic Saga joins forces once again with Danish Martin, the once easy-going philanderer now estranged from his partner Mette and traumatised by a ghastly personal tragedy. The complex crime of eco-terrorism which they are required to unravel turns out to be less gripping than the...
Published 7 months ago by Antenna

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The First One Was Better
To be precise, the first series of The Bridge was outstanding. On the second go, on one hand it's nice to see these characters again, on the other they've lost a bit of their novelty appeal. I have to confess, too, that the theme of "eco-terrorists" which is becoming a film sub-genre, irritates me. In the real world, I have never hear of serious eco-terrorists. It...
Published 2 months ago by brian


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a bridge too far, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In this darkest of Scandinavian noir detective thrillers, the Swedish autistic workaholic Saga joins forces once again with Danish Martin, the once easy-going philanderer now estranged from his partner Mette and traumatised by a ghastly personal tragedy. The complex crime of eco-terrorism which they are required to unravel turns out to be less gripping than the relationships between the main characters. Despite Saga's frequent resemblance to a robot, lack of empathy and wooden quoting from textbooks on how to behave, her acting towards the end is excellent in showing the dawning of emotion in her face as Martin forces her to confront the past events that have so damaged her psyche, and also as she has to deal with a final dilemma. In portraying a busy office where a disparate group of officers are thrown together, working under stress, there are also frequent touches of humour in what might otherwise be a very bleak and macabre film, with frequent scenes of speeded up grey clouds streaming frenetically over ugly grey concrete blocks.

The plot twists and the continual introduction of new, seemingly unconnected storylines for the watcher to work out while contending with subtitles made me wish I had noted key events at the end of each episode. The body count was so high, and the events at times so ludicrous, that I almost gave up watching. However, I was both rehooked and quite impressed by the final two episodes, with their pace and some real depth. The writer Hans Rosenfeldt has ensured the plot "adds up", which is often not the case in this kind of drama, plus he has left at least three loose ends to justify a third series.

Even if you have reservations, the dramatic sweep of the Øresund Bridge, never fails to impress in the opening shots. This has developed to be stronger and more "multi-layered" than Series 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL CONCENTRATION AMPLY REWARDED, 26 April 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
That bridge is much in evidence as Swedish and Danish police combine to combat the threat posed by eco-terrorists. After a year Saga is reunited with Martin, he still traumatized by personal tragedy. Can working with Saga provide the therapy he needs?

Ten episodes of around fifty minutes. No extras. Close attention is required to keep up with all the twists and turns - some developments such a shock, it becomes impossible to predict the outcome. (Well done, anybody who did!)

As before, great talents have converged for a series that grips all the way through. Atmospheric photography instantly sets the mood. Sofia Helin and Kim Bodnia head the impressive cast, all concerned totally convincing. Helin as Saga is superb - the character blinkered, humourless, totally lacking in people skills, but brilliant at her job and curiously appealing. Bodnia as Martin is most moving, he clearly teetering on a breakdown, unable to get out of his head the man who killed his son. Both are dedicated to their work, but in every other way could scarcely be more different. Salute here one of television's most unlikely partnerships.

A viewing treat - bleak, brooding, memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, gripping drama, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Think that I may have missed the second series on the TV here in Australia, or maybe it hasn't been shown yet. Bought the DVD to ensure that we saw the next one. Have only watched 5 episodes, but it is great drama, and we are really having to control ourselves in not watching the whole series in one go. Very interesting story line about extreme eco activists, and trying to work out what is happening and how characters fit into the plot, makes gripping viewing. This series seems to explore Saga's character a bit more, and is absolutely hilarious. Sofia Helin is fantastic at playing the role and you really feel her personality defects. Martin's character is very dark because of the events of the last series, and this is also being explored and will be very interesting as to what happens towards the end. The Danish/Swedish dramas are great viewing and so gripping that you don't notice that you are reading subtitles. Fantastic to have the extra titles to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New "Bridge" better than frst!, 23 Feb 2014
By 
J. Steinman "ODIN" (NYC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only once in my life have I found a "sequel" to be superior to the origiinal! I much preferred the brooding GODFATHER 2 to the first--and now I'm astonished, amazed and enthrall by The Bridge 2, which miraculously surpasses the first. Now the first is right up there with the Classic Nordic Noir--THE KILLING 1-3, the MILLENIUM trilogy most importantly. But I was shattered by the fearless honesty and depth of the characters! The plot is probably better in #1, sensational as it was, but the plotting here is fine and absorbing. BUT the characters have drunk a Shakespearean potion that heightens their inner depths thrillingly. Saga is here an astounding presence--managing to convey a robotic concentration and intensity focused on the mystery at hand------but OH! the views of her inner soul & heart are yearningly aching and filled with wonder. Sofia Helin is the Cate Blanchett of Europe! And Kim
Bodnia gives a richly textured complex set of heartbreaks and hidden agony. The ending is apropriately an emotional volcano!
This is worthy of Strindberg, as it reveals the Scandinavian world, and its need to keep things secret, repressed, and avoided.
I thought it had to be disappointing after the wild thrill of #1. But the Wagnerian brooding of THE BRIDGE 2 tops the Verdian melodramatic "rushes" of BRIDGE 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible journey, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Don't faff about watching English language remakes of this remarkable Nordic Noir you won't get the full force of the atmosphere created by the amazing filming and the great actors. I was sceptical at first having watched many foreign movies as a student - could I be bothered with sub-titles? Well in this case YES I COULD! I have also bought series 1 because I missed that. The great thing is there is going to be a series 3 - FANTASTISK ( I used Google translate to get that Swedish word, but hey there are many similarities in our languages :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The First One Was Better, 19 Jun 2014
By 
brian (Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
To be precise, the first series of The Bridge was outstanding. On the second go, on one hand it's nice to see these characters again, on the other they've lost a bit of their novelty appeal. I have to confess, too, that the theme of "eco-terrorists" which is becoming a film sub-genre, irritates me. In the real world, I have never hear of serious eco-terrorists. It seems like a right-wing attempt to splash the left with red paint and create the impression with the public that it's real blood and actual fear might be appropriate. Similarly we could have feminist terrorists, gay terrorists, rights for the homeless terrorists, breastfeeding in public terrorists...Come on! There are real right wing nuts with guns even in peaceful Norway, not to mention mass shooters every week now in America and probably a fountain of Islamist terrorists soon to be joining us from the disasters in the Middle East. Plus brilliant warped and or aggrieved criminals whose fictional existence doesn't need to stretch credibility passed the point of annoyance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first series, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doesn't happen very often that a second series is as good (or even better) than the first one.
But it IS possible !!
I hope they'll come up with an equally good third season !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful quirky lead detective, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love to watch this Stepford detective using masterful logic to solve crimes. No emotional baggage to interfere with her clarity.
Good story lines. Excellent acting by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't watch the Series 2 before you watch Series 1, 3 Mar 2014
By 
N. Keys - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Most sequels are never as good as the original and this is no exception though it comes pretty close. But whereas Series 1 tied up all the loose ends, series 2 left unanswered questions which means we will have to wait for Series 3 (not due till 2015)! But this is a cracking drama and a must-watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing Series, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Bridge has got to be the best show on TV (why it isn`t on BBC1 in the UK I`ll never know), but anyway we do at least get it. I didn`t watch it when it was on TV and waited for the dvd box set as wanted to see it without many breaks. The two lead cops played by Sofia Helin and Kim Bodnia have an amazing chemistry together, and the acting by them has been superb. I await with anticipation Series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD]
The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] by Sofia Helin (DVD - 2014)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews