Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a bridge too far
In this darkest of Scandinavian noir detective thrillers, the Swedish autistic workaholic Saga joins forces once again with Danish Martin, the once easy-going philanderer now estranged from his partner Mette and traumatised by a ghastly personal tragedy. The complex crime of eco-terrorism which they are required to unravel turns out to be less gripping than the...
Published 17 months ago by Antenna

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The First One Was Better
To be precise, the first series of The Bridge was outstanding. On the second go, on one hand it's nice to see these characters again, on the other they've lost a bit of their novelty appeal. I have to confess, too, that the theme of "eco-terrorists" which is becoming a film sub-genre, irritates me. In the real world, I have never heard of serious eco-terrorists. It seems...
Published 12 months ago by brian


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a bridge too far, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In this darkest of Scandinavian noir detective thrillers, the Swedish autistic workaholic Saga joins forces once again with Danish Martin, the once easy-going philanderer now estranged from his partner Mette and traumatised by a ghastly personal tragedy. The complex crime of eco-terrorism which they are required to unravel turns out to be less gripping than the relationships between the main characters. Despite Saga's frequent resemblance to a robot, lack of empathy and wooden quoting from textbooks on how to behave, her acting towards the end is excellent in showing the dawning of emotion in her face as Martin forces her to confront the past events that have so damaged her psyche, and also as she has to deal with a final dilemma. In portraying a busy office where a disparate group of officers are thrown together, working under stress, there are also frequent touches of humour in what might otherwise be a very bleak and macabre film, with frequent scenes of speeded up grey clouds streaming frenetically over ugly grey concrete blocks.

The plot twists and the continual introduction of new, seemingly unconnected storylines for the watcher to work out while contending with subtitles made me wish I had noted key events at the end of each episode. The body count was so high, and the events at times so ludicrous, that I almost gave up watching. However, I was both rehooked and quite impressed by the final two episodes, with their pace and some real depth. The writer Hans Rosenfeldt has ensured the plot "adds up", which is often not the case in this kind of drama, plus he has left at least three loose ends to justify a third series.

Even if you have reservations, the dramatic sweep of the Øresund Bridge, never fails to impress in the opening shots. This has developed to be stronger and more "multi-layered" than Series 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible journey, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Don't faff about watching English language remakes of this remarkable Nordic Noir you won't get the full force of the atmosphere created by the amazing filming and the great actors. I was sceptical at first having watched many foreign movies as a student - could I be bothered with sub-titles? Well in this case YES I COULD! I have also bought series 1 because I missed that. The great thing is there is going to be a series 3 - FANTASTISK ( I used Google translate to get that Swedish word, but hey there are many similarities in our languages :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first series, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doesn't happen very often that a second series is as good (or even better) than the first one.
But it IS possible !!
I hope they'll come up with an equally good third season !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL CONCENTRATION AMPLY REWARDED, 26 April 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
That bridge is much in evidence as Swedish and Danish police combine to combat the threat posed by eco-terrorists. After a year Saga is reunited with Martin, he still traumatized by personal tragedy. Can working with Saga provide the therapy he needs?

Ten episodes of around fifty minutes. No extras. Close attention is required to keep up with all the twists and turns - some developments such a shock, it becomes impossible to predict the outcome. (Well done, anybody who did!)

As before, great talents have converged for a series that grips all the way through. Atmospheric photography instantly sets the mood. Sofia Helin and Kim Bodnia head the impressive cast, all concerned totally convincing. Helin as Saga is superb - the character blinkered, humourless, totally lacking in people skills, but brilliant at her job and curiously appealing. Bodnia as Martin is most moving, he clearly teetering on a breakdown, unable to get out of his head the man who killed his son. Both are dedicated to their work, but in every other way could scarcely be more different. Salute here one of television's most unlikely partnerships.

A viewing treat - bleak, brooding, memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New "Bridge" better than frst!, 23 Feb. 2014
By 
J. Steinman "ODIN" (NYC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only once in my life have I found a "sequel" to be superior to the origiinal! I much preferred the brooding GODFATHER 2 to the first--and now I'm astonished, amazed and enthrall by The Bridge 2, which miraculously surpasses the first. Now the first is right up there with the Classic Nordic Noir--THE KILLING 1-3, the MILLENIUM trilogy most importantly. But I was shattered by the fearless honesty and depth of the characters! The plot is probably better in #1, sensational as it was, but the plotting here is fine and absorbing. BUT the characters have drunk a Shakespearean potion that heightens their inner depths thrillingly. Saga is here an astounding presence--managing to convey a robotic concentration and intensity focused on the mystery at hand------but OH! the views of her inner soul & heart are yearningly aching and filled with wonder. Sofia Helin is the Cate Blanchett of Europe! And Kim
Bodnia gives a richly textured complex set of heartbreaks and hidden agony. The ending is apropriately an emotional volcano!
This is worthy of Strindberg, as it reveals the Scandinavian world, and its need to keep things secret, repressed, and avoided.
I thought it had to be disappointing after the wild thrill of #1. But the Wagnerian brooding of THE BRIDGE 2 tops the Verdian melodramatic "rushes" of BRIDGE 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing Series, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Bridge has got to be the best show on TV (why it isn`t on BBC1 in the UK I`ll never know), but anyway we do at least get it. I didn`t watch it when it was on TV and waited for the dvd box set as wanted to see it without many breaks. The two lead cops played by Sofia Helin and Kim Bodnia have an amazing chemistry together, and the acting by them has been superb. I await with anticipation Series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The main character Saga improves with knowing. With Martin its very much the other way round...I couldn't understand why so many women would want to go to bed with him. The plot is a little fantastical but riveting all the same. The ending is very clever and unexpected. It leaves the door open to series 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent understated classic, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series. A truly gripping tale building on the previous adventure. This really does try and maintain the momentum of the first story by taking people is a similar, but significantly different, police investigation. There is more about the personal lives of the two main characters. It is without doubt worth the time to watch and read through the subtitles. There are more loose ends in this tale which could be picked up in another series. There is scope for a great deal more. I would love to see a third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series. Saw series 1 and had to buy this DVD straight away! Could not turn it off. The scandinavians do it so much better than us and It was refreshing to not see perfect actors with whitened teeth and sleek physiques; it made it that much more believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant series, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I always thought I could not get along with subtitles how wrong I was. This is so engrossing the subtitles are no problem the acting is first rate and the plot is suburb.Although it could be described as a murder [several] mystery there is much more to it and the two leading characters are excellent.I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys good acting and a very interesting storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD]
The Bridge: Series 2 [DVD] by Sofia Helin (DVD - 2014)
£15.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews