Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical adventures in space & time
Doctor Who - The 50th Anniversary Collection is a four CD set comprising some of the best music and effects from the complete run of the series. Although some of the material has been released before, on the Doctor Who at the Radiophonic Workshop releases for example, since those CDs are now deleted and command high prices, this is a cost effective way to get a good...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I really like observing the "evolution" of the Doctor Who theme tune
I bought this really on an nostalgic whim. I really like observing the "evolution" of the Doctor Who theme tune. I had forgotten that there had been so much ancillary music to the series as well- much of which I did not really like. However the music from the last cd I really enjoyed. A mixed bag for me, but I'm sure purists and serious fans will love all of it.
Published 22 days ago by A. J. Montgomery


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical adventures in space & time, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doctor Who - The 50th Anniversary Collection is a four CD set comprising some of the best music and effects from the complete run of the series. Although some of the material has been released before, on the Doctor Who at the Radiophonic Workshop releases for example, since those CDs are now deleted and command high prices, this is a cost effective way to get a good overview of the programme's different musical styles over the last six decades.

Disc One covers the first three Doctors, from 1963 - 1974. The first pleasing thing to note is that several pieces of stock music have been included, so we have "Three Guitars Mood" (the Shadows-like instrumental heard on Susan's radio in the first episode) and "Space Adventure Part 2" (used on the early Cyberman stories) amongst others.

There's not a great of deal of original music from this era that still exists (sadly most of the tapes would have been wiped or destroyed immediately after the music was overlaid onto the programme) but the little that we do have is still of great interest - Tristram Cary's haunting electronic soundscape for the first Dalek story and Don Harper's Bond-like score from The Invasion are highlights from the 1960's whilst Dudley Simpsons early 1970's electronic output is represented with The Mind of Evil and The Claws of Axos.

Another highlight of disc one is a five minute suite from The Sea Devils (Malcolm Clarke's score for the 1972 story). This music has long divided opinion, some rate it as not only a great Doctor Who score but also as a fine piece of experimental electronic music, whilst others regard it as just discordant noise. I love it, but it can be a bit much to listen to it all in one sitting, so these edited highlights (originally released on the 1983 album Doctor Who - The Music) are a good way of sampling the best bits.

Also included on the first CD are plenty of sound effects, which are nice to have but probably not the sort of things that will get replayed very often. There's only so many times you can listen to Chumbley (Constant Run) and Chumbley at rest, for example.

The most eye-catching things on Disc Two are two Tom Baker-era Dudley Simpson suites. I wasn't aware that any Simpson clean soundtracks from this era existed, so a six minute suite from The Android Invasion and five minutes of music from The Invasion of Time were both highlights for me.

The second half of Disc Two spans 1980 - 1984. From 1980 onwards, clean soundtracks exist for virtually every episode so there's an embarrassment of riches to chose from. The amount of material that could be included does mean there's not room for everything, so one of the best scores of this era (The Leisure Hive) is represented by just one track and Jonathan Gibbs' excellent score for The Kings Demons isn't included at all. But there's still some very good material here, and hopefully the complete scores for these stories will surface on their own releases in due course.

Disc Three concludes the original run of the series from 1984 - 1989 as well including tracks from the 1996 TV movie. Given my disappointment that Jonathan Gibbs' score for The Kings Demons didn't make the cut it's good to see that one of his other scores - The Mark of the Rani - has made it, and this, along with Peter Howell's strident music from The Two Doctors are highlights of the third disc. And as mentioned, excerpts from the TV movie score by John Debney are included, so a tip of the hat to Silva Screen for making the effort to licence this.

Disc Four brings the story up to date with a selection of Murray Gold's music from the 21st century incarnation of the programme. It's a good sampler of Gold's music - although it's more slanted towards recent series - with only one track from each of the 2005 and 2006 series for example.

Given there's only four discs (and maybe devoting one to Gold was a little generous, though understandable given the profile of the series at present) there's not room to include everything that deserves to be here but it's still a really good snapshot of the programme's music and sound effects. There were many reasons why Doctor Who was and continues to be the success it is, and a major part is due to the music. From Tristram Cary to Dudley Simpson to the BBC Radiophonic Workshop and onto Murray Gold (and of course, many others) this CD is a fine celebration of their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic collection of music deserving of 5 stars! (But could have been better), 28 Dec 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I got this as a Christmas present and I really looked forward to uploading it to my Ipod and listening to it! It is a fantastic soundtrack album featuring classic music and sound effects as well as music from the new series. It is so hard to pick out my favourites from the album as there are so many! I really loved the Remembrance of the Daleks Suite and the Space Adventure music - which I always associate with Tomb of the Cybermen when all the Cybermen emerge from their tombs but actually first appeared in The Tenth Planet. I also have a real soft spot for Here's to the Future from the 7th Doctor Story Delta and the Bannermen. Music from the Invasion was great and I also really liked the It' the End...but the moment has been prepared for music for the 4th Doctor's regeneration into the 5th.
I was slightly disappointed that the music from City of Death was not included on the album as that music is definitely one of the best ever in classic Who. It's absence doesn't stop me from giving five stars though. Because what I did was to find the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Prom 2013 on Youtube, download it, and then cut out the City of Death section of music from the Classic Suite, which is about 44 minutes into the prom and then add it to the album in my itunes.

This is still very much a collection worth getting if you are a fan of great music - don't even have to be a Doctor Who fan either - although it does help considerably! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Music Through The Decades, 5 April 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
CD Info.
4xCDs of Doctor Who music spanning over 50 years, Contains 129 tracks & a 20 page booklet with liner notes from composer Mark Aryes of the history of the series & details of the episode's.

Review.
This is a phenomenal album tied in to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who which features some of the series most iconic music scores from the shows 50 year history.

This features several variations of the Doctor Who theme while giving us additional standout musical cues from some of the shows episodes from composer's Dudley Simpson, Malcom Clarke, Mark Aryes, Keff McCulloch, Dominic Glynn, John Debney, Murray Gold & many more.

From An Unearthly Child,The Daleks, Tomb Of The Cybermen, The Sea Devils which is a highlight of this CD soundtrack, Seeds Of Doom, Logopolis, Earthshock, Revelation Of The Daleks, Survival, The Tv Movie, & the shows return in 2005 this album delivers quality remastered music from 6 decades of Doctor Who.

It's a sad fact many episode's are still missing from the BBC archives of the First & Second Doctors so the music contained here is a little more limited than of later eras

This is a superb collection featuring a wealth of music from the shows 50 year's, Doctor Who has now become a British national treasure & this is a highly recommended purchase for Doctor Who fan's who would like to take a nostalgic trip back in time & space to hear that iconic theme composed by Delia Derbyshire & Ron Grainer start playing, After all that's how it all started!

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant aural retrospective., 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The 50th Anniversary Collection (Original Television Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
Mark Ayres and the good folks at Silva Screen have pulled out all the stops to bring us a truly spectacular celebration of the music and special sounds from 50 years of Doctor Who.
As a long time collector of these kinds of soundtracks, I was wary that I already had a lot of this stuff and indeed, there is a lot here that has been previously released down the years. There are plenty of no-brainer tracks and must-includes like the various iterations of the theme tune and classic stand-outs like the Dalek city from their first appearance in 1963.
But I'm very pleased to say that there's plenty of new tracks on here too- suites from some of the 80s stories like The Two Doctors and Revelation of the Daleks plus rare Dudley Simpson tracks from The Android Invasion, Frontier In Space, The Seeds of Death and The Invasion of Time.
Personally, I'd have liked some modern era sound effects mixed in with the fabulous Murray Gold scores to even out the effects heavy early tracks.
Listened to from start to finish it's a wonderful trip through time. Dipped into on shuffle, it's an eclectic nostalgic mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 CDs spanning 50 years, 30 Mar 2014
By 
Matthew Clarke (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This special collection of music and sound effects covers all the TV Doctors spanning 50 years. While the first CD for the early years is a bit short on actual music, you get sound effects to help boost the contents, it still manages to capture the spirit of those early episodes. In fact, it's quite surprising how much of the music triggers the memory. By the time we get to the late Tom Baker era, I can remember the visuals as the "suites" for episodes such as Logopolis and The Caves of Androzani for Peter Davison play out.

The full versions of the theme tune are also featured for most of the Doctors and it's the first time I've ever heard the full length theme for The Trial of a Time Lord and McCoy series. The modern era though is only represented by the Eccleston/Tennant short version, the series 4 Tennant and both Matt Smith versions are missing, which is a shame. All in all this is a great collection for a fan even if like me you have the contents of disc 4 on the various OST albums for the new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy for Who fans, 27 April 2014
By 
Scott Mcneil (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2013 was a year full of Doctor Who on the TV- and in the shops.
This CD is excellent review of all things musically who and was excellent value.
As a new who fan really enjoying listening to the 9/10/11 CD.

Only point off would be does not have the "Song for Ten" from David Tennant's regeneration. Don't think can get the version featured in the Christmas Invasion anywhere.

Have listened to this much more than anticpiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for all Doctor Who Fans, excellent value, fast dispatch and delivery, great to here some of the tunes never heard in full!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift for my husband's birthday but we are both Dr Who geeks. Great to hear the old soundtracks, excellent quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - The 50th anniversary collection, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful cd set for Doctor Who fans! It is great to hear the music from the different series years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Selection, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good selection from the entire 50 years of the tv programme and with some rare tracks including the full Sylvester McCoy version of the opening theme and a suite from the Paul McGann tv movie. A very good selection of 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Doctors especially, although whilst the unavailability of Dudley Simpson tapes means that we don't have the classic 'City of Death' themes we have got a suite from the interesting 'Invasion of Time' - including the exciting arrival of the Sontarans on Gallifrey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews