Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning how to let go of self imposed barriers to love.
I have been looking forward to getting my hands on this wonderful book. I love Tara Brach's podcasts, and I have some of her other books and audiobooks.

Tara is a gem, and you do not need to live near Washington DC to benefit from her life-enhancing teachings.

Many of Tara's recent and upcoming talks and podcasts draw upon themes and stories...
Published 18 months ago by caravia 27

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars boring and disappointing
I stuck with this book until it became clear it was not going to get more interesting. I was hoping the book would be enlightening and uplifting but it in my opinion the author is out of touch with reality. Maybe more to American taste?
Published 2 months ago by sue firth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning how to let go of self imposed barriers to love., 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking forward to getting my hands on this wonderful book. I love Tara Brach's podcasts, and I have some of her other books and audiobooks.

Tara is a gem, and you do not need to live near Washington DC to benefit from her life-enhancing teachings.

Many of Tara's recent and upcoming talks and podcasts draw upon themes and stories highlighted in this book "True Refuge". One from several weeks ago, entitled "Barriers to Loving Presence" opens with these words from Rumi:

"Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it."

If you want to free your heart, this book might be just what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 6 Jan 2014
I loved Tara's first book and often listen to the free meditations on her site so was excited to read True Refuge. Again, she brings her wisdom and experience to the reader in an accessible and easy to understand way. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a truly wonderful book !, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book to anyone who is feeling in need of comfort and love ! No criticisms at all...it is deeply caring and wise.....
and contains so much to help us all....and this world in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous book and very easy to read. Full of wisdom and meditations to guide you on your way. Cant find the words to recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wise, warm, compassionate, liberating., 22 Jan 2014
By 
Self-help junkie (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I tried to read Tara's earlier book but got a bit bogged down in it. I'm getting on so much better with her new title (this one)! She writes from the heart and seems to have a real knack for putting her finger on so many of the issues that I (everyone?) struggles with as we try to live peaceful, fulfilling lives.
This is a book I shall return to many times, I know: on my first read I have restrained myself from highlighting key passages - I suspect that when I do go back to do this, the pages will be covered in yellow!
A really timely book for me. Hope it meets your needs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boring and disappointing, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I stuck with this book until it became clear it was not going to get more interesting. I was hoping the book would be enlightening and uplifting but it in my opinion the author is out of touch with reality. Maybe more to American taste?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a gift, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The feedback I have had on it was very very positive ,I would recommend this to anyone,any wish them the good fortune to have as much benifit as my friend had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good easy to read hard to put down explained Mindfullness well
Useful as self help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Refuge: Finding Peace and Freedom in Your Own Awakened Heart (Kindle Edition)
I bought this after reading exerts in the Sunday supplement. Lost interest quite quickly. Very 'American' so found it difficult to relate to much of the writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews