Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better and more gripping than his first novel
This second book of the series was better, sharper and more focussed than the first - I finished it over a weekend and will be ordering the next in the series once released. This is really strong storytelling!
Published 6 months ago by c mc cabe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible ending
Enjoyed both the books, I think it does a great job keeping things fresh with a lot of sequels being simply more of the same.

One thing that bothers me that if the richest man on the planet was trying to have me killed I would probably not run around shouting my name to anyone that will listen but that's petty.

Such a huge shame about that ending it...
Published 9 months ago by R Payne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible ending, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Huntsman's Amulet (Society of the Sword Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed both the books, I think it does a great job keeping things fresh with a lot of sequels being simply more of the same.

One thing that bothers me that if the richest man on the planet was trying to have me killed I would probably not run around shouting my name to anyone that will listen but that's petty.

Such a huge shame about that ending it just stops, explains nothing and gives you no clue as to a whether that's the end or if there's going to be a sequel. Up until then however still a good book would have been 4 stars without that ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but..., 7 May 2014
This review is from: The Huntsman's Amulet (Society of the Sword Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Don't get me wrong here, I enjoyed the read well enough. The issue is that the whole plot seemed very rushed and detached from the others, and I have never read a book that ends so abruptly before in my life. Everything is tied up very fast in very few pages.
I suppose the best review would be that there is the skeleton of a good book there but all the detail that draws you in is lacking somewhat. A bit more time and love and I think I would rate this highly. As it is, I would recommend having a go at others out there but if you are struggling to find much then this isn't too bad a bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better and more gripping than his first novel, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Huntsman's Amulet (Society of the Sword Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This second book of the series was better, sharper and more focussed than the first - I finished it over a weekend and will be ordering the next in the series once released. This is really strong storytelling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An action-packed follow-on, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Huntsman's Amulet (Society of the Sword Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
That difficult middle book of the trilogy? Nope, no problem. Just send the hero off in a different direction altogether, with a bit of seafaring and... pirates! What could be better than chasing around the oceans, with a sea battle and a storm and... and... You can probably fill in some of the blanks here. Very little of this took me by surprise, but that doesn't make it any less of an enjoyable romp.

The plot is, in many ways, a choppier affair than in `The Tattered Banner'. Main character Soren starts off looking for missing girlfriend Alessandra, then gets distracted by a search to find out more about his Gift (the mysterious power that overtakes him during a fight and makes him super-fast). That thread ends abruptly, and then a storm at sea leaves his ship vulnerable to pirate slave-traders, when that is resolved he falls in with an old acquaintance and sets off after the pirate... and so on. This kind of episodic story has some advantages, and there's never a dull moment, but it does feel sometimes as if Soren is passively being pushed around by events. He ends up bouncing around all over the place, like a glorified travelogue of his world, and while the places he visits are interesting in themselves, the speed with which he hops from one to another, and the ease with which problems are solved, dulls the impact.

The most interesting place, to my mind, was the mysterious island in the centre of the ocean where there are the remains of a great city. The place is tainted with magic, so it's dangerous to visit, and the peculiar and foreboding atmosphere of it is conveyed very well. But then, it becomes unexpectedly easy and frankly an excuse for a big info-dump, so in the end it's a bit of a let-down.

The rest of the book is a giant boys-own adventure, with regular outings for Soren's talent with a sword. In the first book, the fights, and the outbreaks of magic that accompanied them, were a highlight. Here much of the awesomeness is lost and the fights become rather mundane, as Soren tries to gain full control of his power so that it doesn't overwhelm him. And it has to be said that the sheer number of times the swords come out makes this aspect of the book repetitious.

If this makes it sounds as if I was disappointed, well, perhaps I was, just a little. I would have liked more of the magic, more of the mind-blowing Gift-infused moments like the Belek battle in the first book (which remains an unforgettable image, still vivid in my mind), more times when things went wrong and I was taken by surprise. Everything was just a tad too easy and predictable. On the other hand, this was a cracking action-adventure, elegantly written and enjoyable from first to last, with no problems picking up the threads of the story from book 1, and no sign of middle-book doldrums. Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story Telling, 11 Jun 2014
By 
A. Mohammed "Ash Blaze" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Huntsman's Amulet (Society of the Sword Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Genuine action, adventure, intrigue - couldn't put it down. Believable charachters that you actually give a damn about that grow in front of your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff..., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Huntsman's Amulet (Society of the Sword Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Not sure if there is going to be more to this but I really hope so , I would very much look forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Huntsman's Amulet (Society of the Sword Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Very rambling storytelling. Takes ages to get anywhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trite, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Huntsman's Amulet (Society of the Sword Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Predictable and banal. Characters shallow and plot juvenile. Disappointing. Followed the lines of this genre, unfortunately the poor writing style and plot prevent this book from being at all compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews