Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2015
I easily made an autonomous chassis with this piece of kit. Only criticism would be that the threads on the M3 screws and stand-offs are of low quality. As the clear plastic is covered in brown paper, to allow for laser cutting, you can easily photocopy the footprint to help you design add-on parts. I only used one base board in my design.
review image
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
The Robot Smart Car is good value for money and everything works ok. The only negative is the length of time it takes to arrive as it is shipped from china.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
I made a mistake buying this. The wheels/tyres are a little 'wonky', so they don't make even contact with the floor; when driving both wheels on one side, often only one wheel will actually be driving the buggy. Also, there is no steering ability, just four wheels pointing in the same direction, which makes control a little tricky, meaning that turning will essentially cause the tyres on one side to be dragged sideways. I'd have been better off buying one of the three wheel kits, i.e. two wheels and a castor. However, I did get all the bits correctly supplied, though I had to purchase the motor controller board elsewhere, and the motors seem okay.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Cheap and good. Motors are powerful enough and chassis has enough space and mounting holes to connect anything you could dream of plonking on this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Note that there's a chance you'll get an incomplete item - these aren't stored in boxes, just polybags taped in a piece of foam (note that this is the product "packaging" itself, and not a criticism of the packaging it is delivered in). Mine had split, and lost a motor (and probably other parts too). Luckily, the replacement was complete. Would suggest checking these as soon as they're delivered to make sure you get a complete one.

Assuming you receive all the parts, these are a decent little robot car, just add a motor driver and something to drive it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
Realy good value for money, you get 4 motors for the price of two; on other models you get two motors and a castor for the same price. Well packaged, nothing broke. Be carefull putting it together especially the small counter wheels on the opposite side of the main wheels, these need carefully teasing onto the motor do not force them. You can file the hole on the wheel if its too small. Lightly tighten the nuts and bolts, too hard and the plastic will crack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
I received 3 wheels of one type and one different. The difference is in the color/size/tyre.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Fairly good value and staring point.

I have upgraded the motors as they aren't powerful enough to transport a basic movement tracking systems.

The chassis is covered with holes and cutouts which weaken it a significant amount. This isn't helped by me adding to them as none of the holes line up with any components I wanted to install.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
Looks sturdy, didn't take too long to assemble despite directions being in Chinese. All motors work so far. Plenty of space for power, pi, Arduino, sensors, etc. Only problems were I was missing a one screw, and I can't see where the supplied battery holder could screw in. Would still buy again though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Pretty good kit for the price! However, I would be extra careful when tightening the motor mounts! One of mine snapped which caused a pretty big problem!! If this happens to you I have detailed on my blog how to fix it which can be found here:- http://reubenrd.com/obstacle-avoidance-robot-part-1/
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.