Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2014
A great read. As a former armoured cavalryman with the British Army I have a better insight than most to what combat from inside a tank is like. I enjoyed Bill Close's description. I could recommend this to anyone from an historical and enjoyable read perspective,.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
What a great read. Will written by a funny man who served throughout WW2 starting as a corporal and finishing as a company commander with two Military Crosses to his name. Anyone who loses 11 tanks and survives to apologies to Her Majesty the Queen is worth reading.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
This is one of the best books I have read about the campaigns in France and Germany.
Very well written and highlights the very close comradeship of tank crews at times of
great stress.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
A comprehensive diary of personal experiences of most of the major British tank actions during the Second World War. A gripping narrative giving insight to both the tactics and "fog of war" limitations of commanding tank squadrons in the front line.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Any excellent book for those interested in armoured warfare.Having served in his regiment and having met the author at the Sgts Mess during the regimental standards parade in Paderborn I count myself rather privileged to met and talked to him
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
As an ex tanks of 25 years service from 1977 to 2002 this book took me back to the days of being in a Tank crew. From gunner through to Commander.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
a truly good book about the 3rd Royal Tank Regiment well written and told by a man who was there till the end no punches pulled
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
Possibly the only book to tell the story of tank men in World War 2 - from the disaster of Calais, then North Africa, and up through Europe, past Calais into Germany five years later. Bill Close was a friend of my father, Major Valentine Hehir, MBE, who is mentioned in the song whose words appear at the end of this modest, touching and vibrant account of five years of these heroic men's lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
A tankies war written by a tanky. He tells it well, though at times it is more Walt Disney War Horse than Band of Brothers. If you want it from 1939 to 1945 this is a book for you. War from the turret of several tanks. I always envied the tankies rumbling here, there and everywhere,I neen't have bothered, they cracked on and also cracked up like the rest of us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Excellent. My husband loves it. Arrived quickly with excellent packaging
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)