Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming Into Their Own
"The Bletchley Circle" returns for it's second year. I really admired this group of women in their first year. Each of them very intelligent, great insight and able to see through any clue in minute detail. They had all worked at a secret installation, Bletchley Park, during World War 2. These mysteries take place in the early '50s after WWII, and this new season...
Published 7 months ago by prisrob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as series one.
Not in the same league as series one. Very well directed and the actors perform well its the story lines that are so thin and predictable unlike the first series. What makes this last series an ever greater problem is the main character leaves the series after the first showing.
Its not bad but I can understand why the BBC dropped it and made no further series.
Published 1 month ago by Ryland Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming Into Their Own, 8 May 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
"The Bletchley Circle" returns for it's second year. I really admired this group of women in their first year. Each of them very intelligent, great insight and able to see through any clue in minute detail. They had all worked at a secret installation, Bletchley Park, during World War 2. These mysteries take place in the early '50s after WWII, and this new season gives us some years after the first season ended.

The Bletchley Circle shows us the frustrations and issues women faced in their workplace with the sexism and limits placed on them. Their talent was based on how fast they could type and what they looked like in a tight skirt. They have become mothers, secretaries and librarians. And, in their off time they solve mysteries and often murders.

This is a four-episode season, with two episodes related to each other. Susan, played by Anna Maxwell Martin, remains traumatized after a close encounter in the first season with a murderer. She takes part in the first two episodes, and then leaves with her family for a foreign posting. We follow the women has they try to prove the innocence of a former colleague. Rachel Stirling plays Millie the most adventurous and beautiful of the group. She shines in the third and fourth episodes as the ladies try to solve the puzzle of strange codes and young girls for sale.

I enjoyed this series,but at times it seems as if the writers are stretching. Give them their own detective bureau, and let them really shine.

Recommended. prisrob 05-08-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top-Class Entertainment, 3 Feb 2014
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first series of Bletchley Circle brought a relaxed yet purposeful dedication and camaraderie within the operatives of the secret code-breakers of World War 2. This second series, set in 1953, picks up naturally from this. The 'one for all, all for one' philosophy is maintained. Two delightful stories are portrayed. When one of their compatriots, Alice,(Hattie Morahan), is convicted of murdering her ex-lover, scientist John Richards (Paul McGann,), she refuses to comment and is obviously being protective. The Bletchley girls re-unite as she is due to be hanged. Years before , Alice had joined the Bletchley team and John had gone to Porton (Down) the government's secret research centre. They had a daughter, Lizzie (Faye Marsan), who, unbeknown to Alice, had been seeing John. The Bletchley girls Susan, (Anna Maxwell Martin), Millie, (Rachel Stirling), Lucy, (Sophia Rundle) and the 'boss', Jean (Julia Graham) begin to delve into the circumstances of the alleged crime. The answer lies within Porton and the Bletchley crew are masterful in their enquiry to achieve truth and justice when Lizzie's identity is uncovered and the unethical scientist's human experiments come to light, with military help, leading to a thrilling finale.

The second story is more aggressive in that Millie becomes involved with selling contraband goods smuggled in by an organisation headed by Marta (Brana Bejic) a Maltese. Millie thinks this is standard provision of black market goods until she is kidnapped on suspicion of being 'not what she seems'. Marta is a clever and ruthless master criminal who imports goods illegally using an intricate encrypted code. This, of course, is just the incentive that leads the Bletchley team to try and decipher the messages. Using their enigma skills,(breaking into the old Bletchley), the extent of Marta's gang activities become apparent. It is not just luxury packages being imported but also something far more sinister. 'Bulldog' Jean puts her life on the line with bluff and money. Will they succeed?

This is an enjoyable series with fabulous and accurate depictions of the time and period that encompasses the series in an engaging atmosphere. The plots may be thin at times but given the characters and production team, who know exactly how to convey the feelings of the times, the delight in their detective work and companionship comes across with warmth and affection. The magnificent Anna Maxwell Martin does not appear in the second story, deciding to travel overseas to accompany her husband and children. Whether the new-comers Alice and Lizzie plus the rest of the cast can keep the viewers' ratings, only time will tell. Personally, Susan (Anna) is the star of Bletchley, and sorely missed, yet the second story was still entertaining and captivating. No doubt there will be more to come. A fabulous and undemanding excursion into realistic post-war female detection and guile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great drama., 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it hope for more series.So well worth watching and so cleverly done. Enjoyed all the actors and the performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bletchley Circle - The Ladies, 3 April 2014
By 
Jacquelene Murphy (Morayfield, Queensland, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched my series 2 and enjoyed it as much as the first series. Well acted, good storylines, a series that you can really become involved in when watching. I would recommend The Bletchley Circle 1 and 2 to you if you are thinking of purchasing and even if you are not deciding to purchase you may wish to consider this excellent series. I hope that series 3 is on the books to film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining film, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This film portrays an important aspect of WW2. The Code Breakers at Bletchley Park. This film can be supplemented by excellent books on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 is as Good as Season 1, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Nirmal Chatterjee "chat" (Oviedo, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
My wife and I have been downloading The Bletchley Circle season 1 and 2. We download them the day after they are shown in the UK (we live in Florida) and watch them without commercials. They are FANTASTIC! What a clever concept! The writers make the transference from code breaking to crime solving effortlessly. We have seen three of the four episodes in season 2 and looking forward to the fourth one next Monday. In season 2 two episodes make up one story; the first one was every bit as good as season one. We buy these because we enjoy watching them multiple times. My worry is availability of subtitles. Today's performers mumble a lot and subtitles help! The first series advertised English and Norwegian subtitles. We just received it today so we will enjoy Season one all over again! Hooray for ITV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 April 2014
Well worth watching this series as well as series one. Very enjoyable and would recommend this, but must watch the first series prior to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as series one., 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Not in the same league as series one. Very well directed and the actors perform well its the story lines that are so thin and predictable unlike the first series. What makes this last series an ever greater problem is the main character leaves the series after the first showing.
Its not bad but I can understand why the BBC dropped it and made no further series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
very good saw it on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant idea badly executed, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Definitely disappointing. The background of Bletchley promises much, but the series does not deliver. The acting is good, but the plots are simply not up to standard, and don't maintain out interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD]
The Bletchley Circle Series 2 [DVD] by Anna Maxwell Martin (DVD - 2014)
£15.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews