Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


141 of 143 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still my favourite after thirty one years. Edit - 42 years!
I bought the original LP (still have it!) of this in 1971 with money I had for my 21st birthday (from what must have been one of the very early Virgin Record Shops in Birmingham). It was the first album I also bought on cassette (for the car!), the first cd version I bought of an album I already had (at something like 10 times the price of the original LP - how's that for...
Published on 2 Mar 2002

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Remaster
The album it-self I do like very much obviously you have to like this type of music, other reviews will show this is known as a great album, and I agree.

The quality of the re-master is very poor, this sounds like a very well used cassette has been copied on-to this disc, the sound is so flat. I have checked the versions that you can download, in case it is...
Published 19 months ago by D. Harmon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 425 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is what it always was, 10 Jan 2010
By 
J. Curran (kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
THE seminal album for all singer songwriters to follow. It's to replace my long worn out original vinyl. As good now as it was then. Xfactor kids, listen and learn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A RICH TAPESTRY OF WORDS AND SOUND..., 24 May 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
Having had the record album many years ago, I was happy to get the CD. It is a wonderful CD by a prolific and talented songwriter who just happens to be a most expressive singer. Who better to sing her songs.
Without a doubt, the best track on the CD is "Will You Love Me Tomorrow". Not only is the music terrific and the singing expressive, the lyrics to this song are pure poetry. "It's Too Late", "You've Got a Friend", and "Tapestry" are some of the other golden tracks on this CD.
There is not, however, one bad track on this CD, and there are not too many CDs about which one may say this. The CD liner also includes the lyrics to the songs on it. It is definitely a CD without which no music library should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great purchase!, 18 Oct 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
This album was originally released in 1971, and was re-released on CD in 1999. The original album was one of the biggest selling albums of all time, and its easy to see (& hear!) why. Carole King (b.1942) has a great singing voice, and this album captures her at the height of her career. I would say my favorite songs here are Tapestry, a wonderful song, and Out in the Cold.
This CD contains the original twelve tracks, plus two remastered tracks! So, if you are a Carole King fan, you must buy this album. Heck, even if you are just a fan of that smooth early 70s sound, then you must buy this album, it's a great purchase. I give this album two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly beautiful album, 14 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
A timeless classic, as important today as it ever was. You'd be hardpushed to find a more potent collection of songs on one album by one artist sung with such conviction and passion. When Carole expresses her frustration at no-one "living in one place anymore" on So Far Away, you know exactly what she's going through. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow is done without the dancebeat that most people are familiar with, and is much the better for it.
Anyone who has ever been in love should never be without this album. Forget your modern troubadours of love songs (Whitney, Mariah, Celine, etc.). Carole blows them away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 14 Jun 2001
By 
gavin hardy (Grimsby, n.e.lincs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
This 1971 album is one of the pinnacles of modern music.Every track is both inspired and beautiful.Starting with I feel the earth move which has a nice soft feeland an addictive piano line.The next two tracks are both impressive love songs,arguably the best tracks on the album.The companion selections are equally strong and are again driven along by King`s incisive piano playing.The only negative thing I have to say is about the rather pointless inclusion of a live version of Smackwater Jack,but this does not take anything away from the majesty of the original album.Superbly remastered and well packaged as well.Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tapestry is in my CD collection at last, 5 July 2009
By 
Christine V. Hall "Spot-On Marketing" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
Can't believe it took me so long to buy this CD. It's been on my "wanted" list for ages and I love every track. Just sit back, close your eyes and listen to CK bring it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A RICH TAPESTRY OF WORDS AND SOUND..., 10 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
Having had the record album many years ago, I was happy to get the CD. It is a wonderful CD by a prolific and talented songwriter who just happens to be a most expressive singer. Who better to sing her songs?
Without a doubt, the best track on the CD is "Will You Love Me Tomorrow". Not only is the music terrific, the lyrics to this song are pure poetry and the singing expressive. "It's Too Late", "You've Got a Friend", and "Tapestry" are some of the other golden tracks on this CD.
There is not, however, one bad track on this CD, and there are not too many CDs about which one may say this. The CD liner also includes the lyrics to the songs on it. It is definitely a CD without which no music library should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 27 Nov 2008
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
This is the product of an artist at the apex of their artistic trajectory. Already a prolific song writer, King indulges her instincts on this album and, with one exception (Smackwater Jack), delivers in spades. Donald Fagen said "God is in the details, but there are no details anymore". Listen to this album, compare it to a modern release, and discover what the he was talking about. Production is basic by modern standards, talent shines through the limitations of the technology.

"Where You Lead", "You've Got A Friend" & "Will You (Still) Love Me Tomorrow" aren't even the best tracks on the album! "I Feel The Earth Move" is pared down to basics, driven along by vocals and piano. Gospel in its intensity, the dynamics quash the cover versions. Come to that, the best songs on the album aren't even hits, "Way Over Yonder" evokes a conflict still resonant today. On paper, "Tapestry" is cod mysticism; in King's hands it is a numinous fable, alchemy no less. Convinced?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy back ones youth, 15 April 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
As the search for vinyl turned from a romp to the local music store to a search in the antique mall. I realized it was time to switch to CD's. With limited space and no future for many old vinyl friends it was time to round them up and release them to the local used book store. I cried and could only hope they would find a home that would cherish them.

It did not take long before I realized I missed them. So now I spend my days waiting for them to be reincarnated. Some that return are so tinny in sound that I can not believe they were that way to begin with. Others are so mangled that the original pattern of tunes is lost for ever.

It may be the result of time but I found this album to be all I remember and then some. It is well worth the purchase.

"Tapestry" is the best representation of Carol King and her music. If you only buy one, this is it. And you will feel the earth move under your feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful and timless classic, 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tapestry (Audio CD)
to be honest i cant really add to the previous reviews of this album- i'm not a music expert but i know that Carole King's Tapestry is one of the best albums i have ever heard. 'I feel the earth move' is one of my favourite tracks ever. the whole album is just perfect for chilling out, and excellent value, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 425 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tapestry
Tapestry by Carole King
Buy MP3 Album£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews