Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelgood magic
We saw this on the big screen and, particularly if you are a fan of feelgood movies, then it's a must! Although based on a true story the screenplay has embellished the factual content somewhat but the story line remains reasonably true. James Corden is great in the role of Paul Potts, the aspiring operatic singer, and although it's not a comedy there is lovely ongoing...
Published 4 months ago by R. C. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The film was OK, but not as good as I was expecting it to be.
The film concentrated on Paul Pott's life before he was famous, but the talent show did not hardly feature. it was OK, but if I'm honest I was a little disappointed that the talent show was not featured more in the film.
Published 22 days ago by miss k murphy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelgood magic, 6 Dec 2013
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
We saw this on the big screen and, particularly if you are a fan of feelgood movies, then it's a must! Although based on a true story the screenplay has embellished the factual content somewhat but the story line remains reasonably true. James Corden is great in the role of Paul Potts, the aspiring operatic singer, and although it's not a comedy there is lovely ongoing humour.

The acting is great, the sets super and the direction is good. And if you're a bit of a softie there will be more than the odd tear in the eye!

Apparently the actual voice of Paul Potts is used in the score. And whilst we'd not heard of him he does indeed have a great voice. Interestingly, I often believe that the so called trained operatic voices are less appealing than the softer natural voices - such as Potts'. Most so called opera singers are just a nice noise as you can't understand a word of what they are singing! If you're not into opera then this movie will greatly encourage you! I shall be purchasing the DVD when it is released! It's magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyable, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. CG Patterson (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Chance (Blu-ray)
Great acting in this really enjoyable movie charting Paul Potts' story up until the point of his BGT win a and subsequent success. James Corden was brilliant in the role and it was good to see the wonderful Jemima Rooper, although in one of the supporting roles. I can't understand the somewhat snooty critical reception this received when it was released, it's a really good watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just brilliant, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
this is the best british film I have seen in years james corden was brilliant so was all the rest of the cast and it had some fantastic scenery in it definatly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 3 April 2014
By 
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
James Corden is outstanding in this biopic of Paul Potts and his rise to fame against the odds of adversity. At times very funny, at others very moving, this is a film which is difficult to find fault with at any level. Five stars are very well deserved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
Very fast delivery from amazon thank you, this is a brilliant film from the brilliant actor James Corden, he is pure comedy talent and this is an all round great film with some light hearted but also some serious scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Chance DVD, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD provided good entertainment for our family members who all enjoyed it. My wife has already watched it twice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful feel good movie., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
Both myself and my wife enjoyed the movie. A very well cast movie, which portrays very well, the story of Paul Potts. A delightful feel good movie. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The view from drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk, 27 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
'One Chance' stars James Corden (don't let that put you off) in the true story of Paul Potts, a shy bullied shop assistant in Port Talbot by day, but a amateur Opera singer by night. His dreams are constantly dashed until a new TV talent show advertises for contestants, that show is 'Britain's Got Talent'....

Apart from the quite brilliant 'Gavin And Stacey', I've always found James Corden a little hard to stomach but he is perfectly cast in this as Paul Potts, insecure, a dreamer, and very likeable. A great supporting cast too, Julie Walters and Colm Meaney as his parents and Jemima Rooper as Hydrangea, his love he constantly lets down.

An uplifting, funny and sweet rags to riches story, we know what's going to happen but it's a very enjoyable journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie, I really enjoyed it, it is very emotive and the singing was really good (if you like Paul Potts).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Chance, 16 April 2014
By 
A. Greenwood (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this dvd for my mum for mothers day and she loved the film, she said it was one of the best British films that she has watched in a long time. A ++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8de5750)

This product

One Chance [DVD]
One Chance [DVD] by Florian Ballhaus (DVD - 2014)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews