Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelgood magic
We saw this on the big screen and, particularly if you are a fan of feelgood movies, then it's a must! Although based on a true story the screenplay has embellished the factual content somewhat but the story line remains reasonably true. James Corden is great in the role of Paul Potts, the aspiring operatic singer, and although it's not a comedy there is lovely ongoing...
Published 9 months ago by R. C. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching film showing the rise of self-deprecating Paul Potts ...
Easy watching film showing the rise of self-deprecating Paul Potts and his journey to the opera houses of the world. It seems he and his wife maintained their feet fully on the ground
Published 13 days ago by Blondini


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feelgood magic, 6 Dec 2013
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
We saw this on the big screen and, particularly if you are a fan of feelgood movies, then it's a must! Although based on a true story the screenplay has embellished the factual content somewhat but the story line remains reasonably true. James Corden is great in the role of Paul Potts, the aspiring operatic singer, and although it's not a comedy there is lovely ongoing humour.

The acting is great, the sets super and the direction is good. And if you're a bit of a softie there will be more than the odd tear in the eye!

Apparently the actual voice of Paul Potts is used in the score. And whilst we'd not heard of him he does indeed have a great voice. Interestingly, I often believe that the so called trained operatic voices are less appealing than the softer natural voices - such as Potts'. Most so called opera singers are just a nice noise as you can't understand a word of what they are singing! If you're not into opera then this movie will greatly encourage you! I shall be purchasing the DVD when it is released! It's magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel-Good Tale about the Rise to Fame of Paul Potts, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Chance [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a highly enjoyable film based on a true story, about the rise to worldwide fame of the opera singer Paul Potts, who made his name when he won the X-Factor TV show back in 2007. The movie shows Paul's difficult childhood and teenage years, when he was bullied and taunted because of his weight, and because of his love of all things opera. His peers didn't like him because, coming from a tough mining village at Port Talbot, Wales, being a "poncey" singer just wasn't the done thing. The film is reminiscent of Billy Elliott in a lot of ways. The film charts Paul's efforts to build a career in singing, including training in Venice with a botched audition in front of Pavarotti, and thereafter his progression through a theatre company and then superstardom because of the X-Factor. James Corden does a really good job of portraying Paul, and his romance with the lady who became his wife, is extremely well done. In style, this film has the air of feel-good movies such as the aforementioned Billy Elliott, and also Four Weddings and a Funeral. It is light-hearted, but still manages to cover some fairly serious issues, including violent bullying, and the struggles one has to go through to end up doing what you really want to do in life. The film is one and a half hours long, and because my partner and I were enjoying it so much, I was quite disappointed that it wasn't significantly longer. It could have been, and if an extra half hour had been added to show how Paul's career developed after the X-Factor, I'm sure that it would have been equally enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent recommendation, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
One of my friends recommended this film to me so i was curious to watch it. At first when my friend said it was about Paul Potts i thought it would be about him on bgt and after and not really interesting. The story is so much better than that as it's about before the show. It is a film that i really enjoyed and i was supprised by how much i wanted to watch it again after it had ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyable, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. CG Patterson (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Chance (Blu-ray)
Great acting in this really enjoyable movie charting Paul Potts' story up until the point of his BGT win a and subsequent success. James Corden was brilliant in the role and it was good to see the wonderful Jemima Rooper, although in one of the supporting roles. I can't understand the somewhat snooty critical reception this received when it was released, it's a really good watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class film, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely loved this film. Got everything you could want in a film....humour, music, romance and the true story of how through sheer determination dreams can come true. Whatever your preferences with a film I think this one can be enjoed by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
It was hard to imagine one man went through so many traumas. I was pleased to see that Paul Potts went to study Opera in Venice prior to being found on Britain's Got Talent.

I found the relationship with his Father very upsetting, but was elated when his Father finally stuck up for him. It was a shame he didn't support him sooner.

Paul Potts's best mate and Car Phone Warehouse Manager was fantastic!

The women is Paul's life are by far the best, as they never swayed in their belief of him. His wife is an absolute star.
James Corden performed the role of Paul Potts well. A big thumbs up all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just brilliant, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
this is the best british film I have seen in years james corden was brilliant so was all the rest of the cast and it had some fantastic scenery in it definatly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. James Corden was great as Paul Potts. Easy to watch and funny for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Chance DVD, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
A most brilliant film to watch. Watched on cinema and worth the DVD to your collection. Great acting by James Corden on Paul Potts and Julie Walters as his Mum and Colm Meaney of Star Trek fame as his Dad. Its a rags to riches film which you will enjoy with a weepy bit as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Chance [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my mum as a Mothers Day present. She absolutely loves it. She has watched it lots of times and thoroughly enjoys it each time, although it makes her cry EVERY time. I would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Chance [DVD]
One Chance [DVD] by David Frankel (DVD - 2014)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews