Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great MGS experience but a little short.
This is a very good MGS game the physics and graphics are a vast improvement in fact the best ive seen so far on ps3 :} and yet there is so much more then good graphics the AI is so clever if you so much as move a little bit in front of a guards field of view they will get suspicious and call in to CP (command post) and put the base on caution. also the weapons are...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Da Grubb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gameplay good though and a nice intro to phantom pain
Can't believe how short the storyline mission was in this MGS. It was over on the first day of playing and if your an avid gamer used to the series that may even be a couple of hours for you. Once you have completed the storyline mission there are other missions in the same landscape to complete, which will keep you going for a while longer. Now I can't wait for phantom...
Published 4 months ago by Richard Button


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great MGS experience but a little short., 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Da Grubb (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a very good MGS game the physics and graphics are a vast improvement in fact the best ive seen so far on ps3 :} and yet there is so much more then good graphics the AI is so clever if you so much as move a little bit in front of a guards field of view they will get suspicious and call in to CP (command post) and put the base on caution. also the weapons are amazingly made with realism and the rain drips down the soldiers as if real rain I enjoyed multiple play throughs on this but now to the negative which is the game was very short you have only one campaign mission and 3 extra ops and an unlockable extra op after obtaining all XOF patches but apart from the shortness its a great game for 20 quid and will keep you occupied for hours especially trying to get S-Rank lol. Definitely recommended for MGS fans and new fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ground zeroes ushers in the first few steps of Fox Engine., 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
About a month after it's release. Having bought the ps3 version of MGS: GZ, after much internal fighting. Largely owing to external reviews. I took the plunge. The game arrived. I didn't know what to expect. Apart from what I saw in the trailers. So I put the disc into my ps3. Started a new game. I am a, MGS FANBOY BTW. But I'll be as impartial as can be, and leaving this a spoiler free review.

So I started a new game. I was introduced for the first time to the "Fox engine". What I saw in terms of visuals, was wow. Dogs jumping on the fence. Barking. A dark rainy night. USMC ponchos waving and flailing around in the wind. A wind sock blowing by the helipad. I saw, what was to me, an amazing amount of detail in this opening scene.

The main man of the series then showed climbing up a cliff. The voice acting of Kaz Miller as Snakes Right hand man is promising. Kiefer Sutherland, although it's a bit late for him to voice snake. Shows depth. The facial capturing shows when viewing cutscenes. The object and aim of capturing these performances adds to this video game. It's detailed.

Enemy AI is great. The coding input will show, when you get in to an alert status. You will have marines sliding to get behind cover. You will get teams of enemies forming and doing searches of areas. There is a last known position being used in this game. Enemies will attack Snakes last known position. Using firearms, grenades and that damn attack vehicle with exploding bullets. This is what will happen if you don't stock to stealth and planning.

Yes. You mark enemy soldiers. This will give you a tactical advantage within the gaming world. I found this immersion of scoping and tagging enemies, more in depth then previous game plays. You'll be able to keep an eye on enemy movements to carry out the missions sneakily as can be done. Soliton has had its time.

Snake returns with more brutal CQC moves. You can bash enemies into walls. Vehicle. The ground. You can interrogate enemies for information. Or simply stick a knife into them. Hiding these bodies ain't a thing. This time round. You can pick enemies up and hide them in bushes. Posts. Vehicles. Or chuck them straight into the waters surrounding the mission area. Not to forget, you can also extract soldiers with mother bases very own morpho one helicopter. Snake can now sprint in addition to running. He can crouch and walk. And he can crawl. There is a 360 aiming mechanism when lying prone.

Weapons are few. You get a tranq pistol. A live pistol. 9mm submachinegun. 2 different assault rifles. A sniper rifle. C4. Smoke grenades. Hand grenades. Mines. Empty magazines. You can raise hell on the base.

There is an end of game ranking dependant on the play style. S rank being the highest.

This is Big Boss on the rise. The gameplay, Will reflect this. As will the story. The 18 game rating is well deserved. The subject matters such as torture and other implicating material found within game.

Although game play for gamers might not exceed 1-2 hours for the main mission. It's replay value involves a rescue op. Intel acquisition op. Sabotage op. An assassination op. Which can turn into an extraction op. A mission referencing MGS one. And a little body snatcher homage. Weapon unlocks are available. This is a game that will more likely serve as a training ground for its Phantom Pain story. IMO it's a great game. Though the price might not be liked by many. This is a personal choice for consumers. I bought this game instead of a bottle of jack Daniels and I get a better buzz off of it. Before buying. View videos on YouTube regarding gameplay etc. before purchasing. Fans of action games should try it. Even splinter cell gamers might have fun with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expensive demo, but good, 5 July 2014
By 
E. J. Simpson "emily" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
As others have mentioned, this is a tiny game, with the main story line taking perhaps one hour to complete. However, it has some mini missions, and the main story is quite re-playable. There's also a little bit of plot with some exciting cut scenes.

The gameplay is smooth and intuitive, and the scenery looks incredible. Snake moves pretty well, and this is an example of in-game cut scenes really done well, with characters that interact properly with each other and their surroundings.

The only down side (apart from the incredibly short game) is having Kiefer Sutherland as Snake. They have done this to make this game grittier and darker, but Sutherland must have been busy or expensive when they were booking him, since he hardly ever speaks. Everything the player needs to know (like take out that guard first, check your iDroid, etc) is voiced by a helpful friend in your ear, and Snake never says thanks. If you enjoy games like Uncharted where the main character is constantly muttering to himself, or makes a little noise when he drops off something high, don't get your hopes up here.

This lack of vocals, plus the very short run-time, are the only things that stopped this being 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 16 Nov 2014
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
Amazing graphics and gameplay, on last gen (PS3). The game looks amazing, looks better at night but alright at day. The only bad thing about the graphics on last gen is that the plants sometimes only show when you are near and the textures could be higher quality. The lens flares are also awesome. I miss the sound equaliser that was in MGS 4 though. This game is the first mission/prologue of MGS 5: The Phantom Pain released in 2015, there are also side missions which are also quite fun and extend gameplay. Really exited for the full game and I'd recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is primary i'd say for fans, I wouldn't get it if you think its a waste of money to buy for 'one level' however I personally loved it, its great gameplay and graphics remind me of MGS4 and you play as big boss what more could you ask for in a prologue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gameplay good though and a nice intro to phantom pain, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
Can't believe how short the storyline mission was in this MGS. It was over on the first day of playing and if your an avid gamer used to the series that may even be a couple of hours for you. Once you have completed the storyline mission there are other missions in the same landscape to complete, which will keep you going for a while longer. Now I can't wait for phantom pain but I'm a massive MGS fan. If you aren't might be avoiding this one as it is kinda short. Gameplay good though and a nice intro to phantom pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
Disappointed of game length and only 1 map but what there was of it was excellent can't wait for the next installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars game, 18 Jun 2014
By 
D. Sangha (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
its a good demo that are showing off there good quality graphics shame it wasn't long enough the price is a bit much for a demo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Snake... Snake? SNAAAAAAAAAKE!!!, 16 May 2014
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
Ground Zeroes was an interesting introduction to the new Open World approach that Hideo Kojima is taking the Metal Gear Solid series. Whereas it's length (About an hour to two hours) makes it seem like essentially a paid demo... the amount of options the new structure presents you with allows for unprecedented depth and replay-ability within the series. All in all a good piece of downloadable content for £20.

A great adventure with a thrilling story, unfortunately the length does cause an element if frustration but it soon disappears when you start the game again and start to explore your options fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun but I need more, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) (Video Game)
Arrived on time as expected. I very much enjoyed the game but really it should have been part of the main title not paid for separately. I would recommend it if you like replaying games to get high scores and achievements, if you do you will literally love this and spend hours on it. If you play games through once only (for the story or something) maybe going for the HD remakes of the original games instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3)
Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (PS3) by Konami Digital Entertainment BV (PlayStation 3)
£14.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews