Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds on the CD (or download)
Just downloaded this from a rival download site (eye chewns) but prefer the reviews and content of Amazon, so had to log on to write a quick review.

June Tabor collaboration aside, this is the follow up of Meet You There - to my ears, the most complete and satisfying collection of Oystertunes. With the task of following up a landmark album, the loss of Chopper,...
Published 14 months ago by N. A. Davies

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing if you like the 'Holy Bandits/Shouting' era
I've got pretty much all their albums, after really getting into the Oyster's after the 'Shouting end of life' album. By the time 'Deep dark Ocean' was released they seemed to have lost their raw energy, and entered a more melodic phase. This has continued on, getting even more laid back by the 'Meet you there' album. With the release of 'Ragged Kingdom' with June Tabor I...
Published 14 months ago by Valley Man

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Several 'stand out' tracks, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
For newcomers to the Oyster band this is as good an introduction as you could want. Several excellent tracks like 'Diamonds on the Water' and 'Lay your dreams down gently' albeit I think the best track by far is 'A river runs'. Some tracks sound similar to tracks written in the past, which is inevitable but overall a very good 'buy'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great new album., 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
long awaited new album, loved it after just one run through. great lyrics and harmonies,john jones voice just gets better with age. cant wait to see the bandin kendal in march.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go buy!, 19 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
Just a fabulous piece of work and these songs are going to come across well live - those not already played during the shows at the end of 2013 which are destined already to become live favourites. Ragged Kingdom this isn't, the Oysters haven't reinvented the with this album it's got the folk roots you would expect but so many great harmonies and arrangements I think I will be hearing new things each time I play this. Not going to pick out a favourite all songs have something special abouth them. Go buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This band of musicians just get better and better x the lyrics are beautiful, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
This band of musicians just get better and better x the lyrics are beautiful . Glass of wine , fire on , they'll take you on a journey .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another pearl, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. T. P. Hiscock "Tim Hiscock" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
I bought my copy directly from the band's website. Signed by the band as well!

I've been an Oysterband fan for more years than I can remember. They have been through numerous changes of line-up and style, but the essential elements, (JJ's voice, Alan's guitar and Ian's fiddle) have made for an unmistakable brand which has been the hallmark of the contemporary folk music scene for some time.

DOTW is addictive from the first note. The arrangements are sublime, the vocals outstanding (enhanced with awesome harmonies attributed to Rowan Godel and Lee Partis), lyrics that are often heart tugging and most of all, the musicianship is masterful and inspired. The music testifies to the years of experience as well as the passion and commitment of this unique band.

Compared to the much respected Ragged Kingdom (with June Tabor) this collection has more energy, but I also found it instantly engaging for its melodies and thoughtful arrangements. The opening track, A Clown's Heart is uplifting and sets the scene for a highly satisfying musical journey. A River Runs contains a moving lyrical message about friendship and is the first of three tracks to echo the album's watery title and cover pics. Once I Had a Sweetheart is the only traditional song on the album, and as listeners familiar with the band will expect, it has a totally new feel to it, a haunting feeling of darkness making it one of the most immediately memorable tracks. No Ordinary Girl and Like a Swimmer in the Ocean also strike me as particular gems.

I've played this album almost constantly since it arrived, and it's already becoming one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pearly kings, 29 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
just seen them live (outstanding), this cd is a great substitute until they come round this way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
fab tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality listening, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
I have listened to the album many times and it has really grown on me. I almost know all the words to some of the songs. A little more violin would be even better but it is still a five star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class performance as usual., 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
Great songwriting and musical ability throughout,these guys are superb on cd and in live performance.Another classic from the Oysters,wonderful,a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oysterband, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
Susan Rushmer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds On The Water (Audio CD)
Love this band, they can't go wrong as far as I am concerned. Really enjoying this particular CD, long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamonds On The Water
Diamonds On The Water by Oysterband (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Ragged Kingdom
Ragged Kingdom by Oysterband (Audio CD - 2011)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (47)   
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 11 to 13 days

Revival
Revival by Bellowhead (Audio CD - 2014)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (122)   

Word Of Mouth
Word Of Mouth by Seth Lakeman (Audio CD - 2014)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (57)