Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid return from Croz
When the news broke last year that David Crosby was working on a new solo album it came as a surprise to most. It's been twenty years since his last release and to be honest his solo career has been fairly undistinguished apart from 1971's If I Could Only Remember My Name.

Crosby has been content to be in the background for decades, but for whatever reason...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Professionalism,Weak Song Writing
This is a beautifully produced and played album. Crosby works with his son ,James Raymond who plays keyboards throughout as well as excellent guitar contributions from US based axeman Shane Fontayne and one track with Mark Knopfler.
It's fine listening,like mature wine and slips down smoothly .Only thing is the songs are rather immemorable and it makes the whole...
Published 6 months ago by Mj Elton


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing much new and a promotion tool for his son, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
I worship CSN&Y and although the Crosby and Nash solo albums are OK they do not come anywhere near to Stills or Young. This is no better in fact its one of his weaker offerings.

We are seeing the end of a great era as the 3 0r very rarely 4 fade into retirement. 2015 or 2016 will be their last UK tour - dadley its the end of an era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars KORNY, CLICHE, CLAP TRAP, ONLY FOR THOSE ..., 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
KORNY , CLICHE , CLAP TRAP , ONLY FOR THOSE WHO MISSED
THE TURNING IN THE ROAD ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost Cut My Eyebrows..hippie dream lands in 2014, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
First up it's great to have the maverick Crosby still with us and the good news is that his voice still resonates like 1971. Most things improve with progress but I'm not convinced that this record benefits from 'drum progamming'. Having said that there's at least 5-6 very good songs here but there is some filler and as someone mentioned it does sound like a CPR record. What's been lost is Crosby's ear for a melody and innovative vocal arrangements.

It's pleasant enough with some clunking lyrics, there's just not enough good or memorable songs. I read recently that Crosby picks songs for solo work, CSN & C&N now anyone will with a passing knowledge will know that it's been 20 years since the last CSN record & 10 years since the last CN record so you'd conclude that he's kept his best songs for this record, and there lies the problem.

Just played 'laughing' what a song !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK... loosing some of his power for ..., 28 Aug 2014
By 
S. J. Wright "SteveW" (Windsor UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
OK ... loosing some of his power for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Profound disappointment, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
'If Only I Could Remember My Name' remains one of my favourite albums and I was really excited to hear that there was going to be a new album after such a long wait. What a profound disappointment For me this has none of the magical quirkiness nor none of the shades, changes in tempo or feeling that made his first album a classic.

It is vaguely pretty enough. Completely unobjectionable but sadly quite boring. What a shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i never received it - the music is superb though, just beware who you buy from, 7 Jun 2014
By 
L. M. Benton "lu b" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
nothing came! weirdly, i finally had to file a claim as there was no response from the seller at all. i did get a refund luckily.
however, as far as the music goes, i have now heard it many times elsewhere and i have thoroughly enjoyed this album, most of the tracks are phenomenal and some are beyond beautiful. definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed listener., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
Well it is Dave Crosby, but a bit of me says this one was only done because he hadn't had anything out for ages. Not as good as I had hoped, in fact not great at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no surprises, 23 Feb 2014
By 
J. S. O'halloran (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
Ok album well produced but not standout. There are no surprises here and few standout trscks, but still has a voice that belies his years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Croz (Audio CD)
If your looking for upbeat C, S and Nash type music, forget it.

Decided to buy after reading good reviews, my mistake.

Doleful, repetitive . Definitely one last payday for old timer.

No outstanding tracks to save it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Croz
Croz by David Crosby (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews