Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical adventures in space & time
Doctor Who - The 50th Anniversary Collection is a four CD set comprising some of the best music and effects from the complete run of the series. Although some of the material has been released before, on the Doctor Who at the Radiophonic Workshop releases for example, since those CDs are now deleted and command high prices, this is a cost effective way to get a good...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I really like observing the "evolution" of the Doctor Who theme tune
I bought this really on an nostalgic whim. I really like observing the "evolution" of the Doctor Who theme tune. I had forgotten that there had been so much ancillary music to the series as well- much of which I did not really like. However the music from the last cd I really enjoyed. A mixed bag for me, but I'm sure purists and serious fans will love all of it.
Published 8 months ago by A. J. Montgomery


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - The 50th anniversary collection, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful cd set for Doctor Who fans! It is great to hear the music from the different series years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Selection, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
A very good selection from the entire 50 years of the tv programme and with some rare tracks including the full Sylvester McCoy version of the opening theme and a suite from the Paul McGann tv movie. A very good selection of 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Doctors especially, although whilst the unavailability of Dudley Simpson tapes means that we don't have the classic 'City of Death' themes we have got a suite from the interesting 'Invasion of Time' - including the exciting arrival of the Sontarans on Gallifrey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely collection of sounds and music, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
N. Longtin Martel "4me-2me" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
Lovely collection of sounds and music from 50 years of Doctor Who. The first CD containing quite a lot more sounds than music can appear deceiving to some but will delight others.
More details on the music would have been lovely too, but this album is a most for everyone loving the classic music and feels of the classic Who. The last CD have some of the favorites from the new series but also lacks novelty if you already purchase the music of the 9th, 10th and 11th doctor.

A great introduction for anyone who would like to purchase their first music of Doctor Who tough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
Modern classical music. I love it. Beautifully written and performed. You can't go wrong with this. It's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The 50th Anniversary Collection CD, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
We love this - you can listen to it in the car, on long journeys or just at home when relaxing. All the great sounds of Doctor Who over the last 50 years and it sounds brilliant! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Doctor Who music collection out there., 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
I have loved Doctor Who since the early 1970s to present. This collection is a very well thought out audio history of all the music I have grown to love over the years. I am nuts on the show and I just would not be with out this brilliant release. Well done for giving a real Who fan what he has wished for over the decades. This is an easy 10 out of 10; I would advise any fan to grab this and run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent representation of 50 years of soundtrack, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well-chosen and representation selection of Doctor Who's many soundtrack styles over the years, from the earliest Radiophonic Workshop wizardry to the orchestral verve of Murray Gold. Many good memories were triggered by listening to this album, which includes elements from episodes that no longer exist. It must have been very difficult to distill this down to just four disks, but the sheer variety of styles shows how the programme is always changing. An excellent tribute to the show in its anniversary year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music of the Spheres!!!, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
When I first heard of this CD set, even though I had the soundtracks for series 1-7 I just knew I had to have this in my collection and I'm so glad that I do because each of the 4 discs included in this set contained some brilliant pieces from the original run of the 1963-1989 series and TV Movie (Discs 1-3) as well as a what I like to call a greatest hits selection from the 2005-2013 series (Disc 4)!!

My favourite pieces are
"Death to the Daleks",
"Revenge of the Cybermen",
"Remembrance of the Daleks",
"This is Gallifrey: Our Childhood, Our Home",
"Vale Decem"
Together or Not At All - The Song of Amy And Rory
"The Long Song"

All in all, a great selection of music from great soundtrack artists and well worth adding to my Doctor Who Soundtrack collection!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mixed but essential bag for Who nerds everywhere..., 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
... of which I am happily one.

I feel it says something that my only disappointment with this as-comprehensive-as-it-could-be (with 50 years to cover!), multiple-disc set taken from 11 Doctors' eras is that some previously released tracks (I had Doctor Who: The Music I & II on vinyl in the 80s) have had to be cut. There's so much here, but how could it ever be enough?

From selection to editing, it's all been expertly done – as one would expect from maestro Mark Ayres, who has remastered everything to a modern standard of clarity that is frankly astonishing. But take, for example, one highlight: The Five Doctors Suite – it is still wonderful, being among the inclusions that transcends the programme for which it was composed (and it went down well in The Royal Albert Hall last year, remember), but here it is noticeably truncated if you're familiar with the earlier release (find that on YouTube).

In terms of style, the breadth of music presented across 4 CDs is, naturally after 5 decades, pretty staggering. It ranges from stock tracks much reused for the monochrome menace of the Cybermen and Yeti, and so-60s musique concrète, via 70s noodlings from the likes of The London Saxophone Quartet (gotta love the Death to the Daleks Suite!) to the 80s synth explosion, with all the pluses and minuses of that genre... and then on to the full orchestral treatment the show has enjoyed since its revival. There is also a smattering of 'special sounds' from the BBC Radiophonic Workshop's sound engineers, Brian Hodgson and Dick Mills; geniuses both. (And quite right too, since the RW's musical and FX work was so dovetailed throughout the programme's original run.)

When it comes to individual tracks, I think it unlikely some of the inclusions will enjoy multiple plays. But for sheer curiosity value and nostalgia, the presence of the likes of Capsule Oscillation (Dalek Destructor Fuse… ) and The Planet Karn is surely justified! And when it comes to pure music, it's obviously a matter of taste but I do wonder how the same era could produce the irredeemably awful Mawdryn Undead Suite just one year after the sublime March of the Cybermen (from Earthshock), which for my money is worthy of contemporary popular artists such as Jean Michel Jarre or even Brian Eno. For every, er, acquired taste (Warriors of the Deep is essentially a composition for fire alarm) there are irrefutable masterpieces, such as Nyssa's Theme (from The Keeper of Traken) and The Ambush (from The Daleks, the best part of 20 years before), and astonishingly evocative work such as the 70s Master's Theme and Hypnosis Music, and – how could I not mention? – The Sea Devils Suite (hear it to believe it!).

So in conclusion, you must have this set in your music collection if the Time Lord's adventures have ever meant anything to you beyond the spoken and the visual. I haven't touched on the final disc, which is devoted to Murray Gold's sterling work since 2005's relaunch, but then lots of CDs are otherwise available – nor have I mentioned that there are 6 tracks from 1996's TV Movie, proving how it set down a template for Doctor Who's revival musically, as in so many other ways...

But that's the thing about this collection – as with its source, Doctor Who itself – after 50 years, there's just so much to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous collection, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The 50th Anniversary Collection (4CD) (Audio CD)
This four disc set is, on the whole, an excellent collection of Doctor Who music. The first disc covers 1963-1974, the second disc 1974-1984, the third disc 1984-1989 and the 1996 TV movie and disc four the new series.

Highlights from the sixties include the original theme music, the sound effect for the Tardis engines and some music from 'The Invasion'. I have always had a soft spot for 'The Ballad of the Last Chance Saloon' from 'The Gunfighters' so I was very pleased by the inclusion of that.

From the seventies there's some good music from 'The Mind of Evil' as well as some memorable music by Geoffrey Burgon for 'Terror of the Zygons' and 'The Seeds of Doom'. Carey Blyton's music from 'Death to the Daleks' and 'Revenge of the Cybermen' is here, his music is not popular among Doctor Who fans but while the music from 'Death' is bad I actually like his score for 'Revenge'.

The 1980-1985 'Radiophonic' era is well represented, with some great music from 'The Leisure Hive', 'Logopolis', 'Castrovalva', 'Earthshock', 'The Five Doctors', 'The Caves of Androzani', 'The Mark of the Rani', 'The Two Doctors' and 'Revelation of the Daleks' being the highlights.

From the last four series of the classic series the highlights are music form 'Remembrance of the Daleks', 'The Greatest Show in the Galaxy', 'The Curse of Fenric' and Dominic Glynn's outstanding score for 'Survival'.

Sadly there is none of Dudley Simpson's music from 'The Talons of Weng-Chiang', 'The Ribos Operation' and 'City of Death', this is a shame because I feel that his scores for these stories showcase him at his best. There is also no music from 'State of Decay', 'Enlightenment' or 'Mindwarp', which all had great incidental music. In some cases this is because there were no tapes available from these stories.

Highlights of the new series music for me were 'This is Gallifrey: Our Childhood, Our Home' and the superb 'I am the Doctor'. Strangely while there are complete versions of most of the arrangements of the theme tune used in the classic series there are no complete versions of any of the themes used in the new series, there is just the 42 second opening theme from 2005.

Despite a few insignificant niggles this is a great collection and a fine celebration of fifty years of Doctor Who music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews