Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not perfect
A recent firmware upgrade means that it now gives you your average speed between average speed cameras in motorway roadworks etc. It is worth getting for this alone.
Otherwise, it is a useful reminder as it shows your current speed and the limit on the road you are on. The battery is not great but I get about 6 hours out of mine.
The dash mount is rubbish -...
Published 10 months ago by Glen Maxwell-Heron

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware hidden subscriptions
I paid £150 for this product only to find out the subscription costs were about £60 per year,which was not really advertised prior to buying, really disappointed in that fact. I also disliked the way the road angel was to be secured to my dash, it was a very cheap pull off, sticky pad method, which could leave a mark on my dash and, once secured could not be re-...
Published 14 months ago by David More


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not perfect, 17 July 2014
By 
Glen Maxwell-Heron (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
A recent firmware upgrade means that it now gives you your average speed between average speed cameras in motorway roadworks etc. It is worth getting for this alone.
Otherwise, it is a useful reminder as it shows your current speed and the limit on the road you are on. The battery is not great but I get about 6 hours out of mine.
The dash mount is rubbish - hence 4 stars and I would prefer the windscreen mount to be included in the box.
If you are travelling lots - particularly to new places then this will save your licence many many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware hidden subscriptions, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
I paid £150 for this product only to find out the subscription costs were about £60 per year,which was not really advertised prior to buying, really disappointed in that fact. I also disliked the way the road angel was to be secured to my dash, it was a very cheap pull off, sticky pad method, which could leave a mark on my dash and, once secured could not be re- positioned, very poor. I did have one run with the road angel and at every sign post that displayed a camera, the road angel warned of a camera van, which was not in the area, again a poor system as this could lead to alarm apathy, also found the battery drained quickly and really the cable would have to be plugged in all the time, which is unsightly. Overall did not rate this overly hyped product and had it sent back within 2 days,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As ggod as any, better than most!, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
I have had this some months now and it works well.
There is a re-set facility if it stops for any reason. a tiny hole in the label. you need a pin to poke through the hole to re-set it.
Poor design.
But 90% OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars TOTAL RUBBISH, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
Total rubbish Worked for a short time then would not switch on. Had to go to all the trouble and expense of returning it. Looking at otherp eoples comments this is a recurring fault. I wont ever purchase from Road Angerl again, considering the costs involved this was a very bad buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
Really helpful. This is a great little invention! It acts as a very useful reminder with its chirping going on in the background!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not all it claims to be, 7 Dec. 2014
By 
Dr. Brian Matthews "Croydonian" (South Croydon, Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
I have used Road Angel Gem and earlier models for some years. I bought the self-updating system in the hope that it would need frequent updates via a computer. This worked well for routine updates, but not for more detailed updates which needed to be downloaded and installed via a PC. Symantec/Norton antivirus software identified the download program to be virus-infected and would not allow its installation. Road Angel's solution? Turn off the antivirus program. Also, the cost of updating licences is pretty high considering the price of the device. I also thought that the version I bought was not as well built as earlier versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No complaints, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
Bought this product a few weeks ago from Halfords. Got 4 months free subscription on it which was a bonus on top of how well the product works! Happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not good enough for the money, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
Promised myself one of these for years so finally received this product and was immediately disappointed. To get the best out of it with up to date databases you need to pay around £70 a year for this service! Far more than comparable systems. The unit itself kept freezing which after a call to their customer services was sorted but still requires an occasional reset using a pin in the back. The information it gives is not much better than that provided by most modern sat navs. I've given it to my son and I have since bought a Snooper - much better and cheaper to update. Saying that it's OK as an entry level device but not for serious drivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road Angel Gem+ Safety Camera and Black Spot Locator (Electronics)
Works well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews