Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!
If you enjoy beautiful period dramas then this is for you. Everything about this is just glorious from the costumes, soundtrack, love story and the cinematograph (for which is has been nominated for an award). I have not read the original so cannot compare but stumbled on an episode on sky tv and it caught my attention. There are some shocking vampire scenes but they are...
Published 5 months ago by heather maltson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AT HEART AN EMPTINESS
Victorian England abounds with corrupt powerful figures. Unable to take them out on his own, Van Helsing revives old enemy Dracula. Together they will make a formidable team. Dracula is only too keen to oblige, especially as targets include descendants of former foes. Masquerading as rich American Alexander Gray, he sets to work....

Bought after...
Published 24 days ago by Mr. D. L. Rees


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy beautiful period dramas then this is for you. Everything about this is just glorious from the costumes, soundtrack, love story and the cinematograph (for which is has been nominated for an award). I have not read the original so cannot compare but stumbled on an episode on sky tv and it caught my attention. There are some shocking vampire scenes but they are not overdone and they are short in duration,each episode is so much more. I am not a fan of horror or gory scenes and I still enjoyed this, again the special effects are splendid. The main actors all sparkle and it is hard not to be captivated by Jonathan Rhys Meyers who is quite brilliant as Dracula. I've been an amazon customer a long time and this is the first time I have written a review. We'll worth the money and I've watched it twice over since it was delivered-addictive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AT HEART AN EMPTINESS, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Victorian England abounds with corrupt powerful figures. Unable to take them out on his own, Van Helsing revives old enemy Dracula. Together they will make a formidable team. Dracula is only too keen to oblige, especially as targets include descendants of former foes. Masquerading as rich American Alexander Gray, he sets to work....

Bought after enthusiastic reviews, the series sadly disappoints from the start. Again here is proof of the need to build on firm foundations. Van Helsing, of all people, to revive Dracula? The whole concept is ridiculous. There follows a show full of contrivances - much gloss, little substance.

Ben Miles impresses as ruthless Head of "The Order of the Dragon". Making particular impact is Nonso Anozie as Dracula's trusted aide R.M. Renfield. Jonathan Rhys Meyers wasted here? Opinions may be divided, but fans no doubt thrilled he is often without a shirt.

The series looks good. Scripts and acting are uneven. Too often music intrudes, there relief when it stops. Modest extras, all those concerned pleased with what they achieved.

For gory escapism, the show just about gets by. Some may find claims of greater worth exaggerated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a surprisingly refreshing view on the subject matter, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Talitha (Strand, South Africa) - See all my reviews
I was trepidatious about this, to say the very least. And the trailers didn't tell me squat of what to expect. So I watched.

And I found the story of Dracula teaming up with Van Helsing to take down the rich and powerful Order of the Dragon (who have caused them both so much heart ache in their personal lives) so refreshing!

Jonathan Rhys Meyers manages to portray the dark intensity of Dracula very well, without being completely cheesy. You can't help but feel for the centuries old vampire as he tries to do the right thing by the woman he so deeply loves, even if it hurts him. (Besides, I was always on Dracula's side in all the movies. Why can't the mortals just let him have his love?)

If you were looking for a carbon copy of the source material, this isn't for you.

But if you're willing to open your mind and take things with a pinch of salt and a side of cheese, then you will enjoy this show. I am loving every single second of it. It's officially my "must see" of the week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Re-Imagining Of A Classic, 30 Nov 2013
While this version of 'Dracula' strays far from your standard take on Bram Stoker's classic novel, that is the very thing that makes it so refreshing. Normally, I would consider such drastic deviations from the original work to be detrimental, off-putting, even. Still, I cannot count that as a fault in this instance, as the writers work the changes into something that revitalizes an old story while preserving the bare bones of its plot and maintaining some semblance of recognizability. There are little nods to scenes in the book, and certainly an outstanding job was done with the dark, gothic atmosphere. Some elements are anachronistic, although this seems to have been done purposely, and to negligible effect - I enjoyed a few of these modernistic facets, while not being so thrilled about others. The male costumes are quite good, but the female leads mostly sport ensembles that are an odd amalgamation of neo-Victorian and 1940s fashion. I could have done without that, though it's probably one of my worst complaints.

The original lineup of characters have also undergone some interesting changes. Jonathan Harker starts out as a journalist for The Inquisitor, then becomes an attache of sorts to Dracula, who presents himself to polite society as an American named Alexander Greyson. He has been revived by none other than Van Helsing, who appears to be an ally of of his in this version, while Renfield has been promoted to the role of loyal valet. Shockingly enough, Jonathan Rhys Meyers pulls off the American aspect so flawlessly, with such subtlety to his performance, it becomes an asset in this series, giving Dracula a deportment of arrogance that works perfectly here. Mina Murray is a rising medical student, and Lucy... well, she is still pretty much the same.

I did think the pilot started off weakly, but as the series progresses, it seems to be gaining more depth and improves greatly with each new episode. The writing is in a league of its own compared to practically everything else on television, and despite the slightly modern adjustments we are occasionally subjected to (for the purpose of adding in minor steampunk elements, I suspect) there is something indefinable here that conveyed the neo-Victorian goth mood so strongly. I was definitely not expecting to see this much attention to detail from a tv series, and discovering it was a very pleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 May 2014
Very well scripted and thought out show. Can't believe NBC cancelled season 2! Enjoy anything Jonathan Rhys Meyers is in - great actor. If you haven't seen it, make sure you watch The Tudors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing twist on a tiring tale, 16 Nov 2013
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Jonathan Rhys Myers brings a refreshing twist to the legend of the sanguinary count that breathes a bit of new life into a somewhat tiring tale which has literally otherwise been done to death! This isn't an adaptation but a variant in which Dracula, assisted by an unusual ally, is set on destroying the ancient but evil Hungarian chivalric Order of the Dragon of which he and his father were once members!

Nowadays (well, 'thenadays') the order is clothed in the costume of Nineteenth Century Victorian industrial enterprise in the form of a corporate competitor standing in the way of Dracula's inventive scientific and technological progress and the action, as well as being of the traditional kind, is played out in boardrooms and the inner sanctum of the very freemason-like evil order. Purists will probably scoff and gnash their teeth but it looks sumptuous, the sets are superb with acting to match. Its fun, appropriately erotic, and it's set in a kind of fairytale Gothic steampunk version of Victorian London!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting attempt., 24 Jun 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula - Season 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Despite the problem of an over ambitious script in episode one which tries a little too hard to be original high production values and a solid cast ensure things rapidly improve. Stunning visuals and evocative mood music provide some splendid moments and the cast work hard and allow us increasing engagement with the characters as each subsequent episode unfolds. Dracula is a stylish, brave and often fascinating attempt to do something different which seems unfortunately to has failed to secure an adequate audience share to guarantee its future. Such a shame as it manages to inject some life onto the rather tired Dracula "franchise"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear - what went worng?, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I adore Jonathan Rhys Meyers, so it really pains me to rate this item so poorly. I had been waiting for ages on waitlist for this to arrive with me, to be honest I only watched the whole series because I had paid money for it and wanted to know if it got any better. It didn't. Such a shame, but the lack of storyline, script etc was shocking. Nothing to keep your interest, and the closest we got to any action was the last episode, but it was a bit of a let down after watching the whole series. Would not recommend anyone to buy this, sorry.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as brilliant as it is new., 17 May 2014
This review is from: Dracula Series 1 (DVD)
this is by far the best re telling of Dracula ever.
completely set apart from the book but with little hints of the original theme, this is a wonderful new series.

I recommend this to anyone who loves Dracula or vampire programmes, cant wait for series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent! for all who love Vampire Diaries as well a MUSTto buy!!! Most charming Dracula, a gentleman and a man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dracula - Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Dracula - Season 1 [Blu-ray] by Jonathan Rhys Meyers (Blu-ray - 2014)
18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews