Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound design
Bought as a birthday gift for my wife; she loves it. It's used as a bedside clock/radio and (with the optional extra battery pack) in the greenhouse, where she spends hours.

Pros:
- Sound quality is very pleasing - Not Hi-Fi but smooth & rich, probably as good as possible given the size of the unit.
- Design is perfect - Quality buttons/rotary...
Published 3 months ago by abozo

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A well designed radio completely let down by the sound quality
I bought this radio in the hope of it being better than the average bedside radio but have been most disappointed. In most ways it is excellent - very clear display, good alarms, sleep function, and the automatic dimming on the display is good for bedside use. However, the sound quality is very poor with a nasty booming bass. It might be OK for pop music but really...
Published 2 months ago by Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound design, 15 April 2014
By 
Bought as a birthday gift for my wife; she loves it. It's used as a bedside clock/radio and (with the optional extra battery pack) in the greenhouse, where she spends hours.

Pros:
- Sound quality is very pleasing - Not Hi-Fi but smooth & rich, probably as good as possible given the size of the unit.
- Design is perfect - Quality buttons/rotary encoders laid out in a logical manner and a good user interface.
- DAB reception - All station are perfect (in our area) even without the aerial extended.
- Timers - 2 wake-up alarms, sleep timer and kitchen minute minder. Excellent.
- Display - Just enough information. Quality display with very good automatic dimmer.
- Look and feel - Oozes quality. Beautiful wooden finish.
- Remote control. Again, quality remote, not too small and fiddly; nice to use.
- Bluetooth option available (different model) should you need that function.

Cons:
- Expensive for a mono radio, especially with optional rechargeable battery pack. But we think it's worth it.
- Display doesn't dim quite enough for my wife (who is admittedly extremely sensitive to any light at night) and is dim in bright sunlight. I suspect technology limitations though, rather than Pure design issue.
- Would be nice to have at least six dedicated station preset buttons rather than just 4.
- Would like to be able to use the USB socket as a power outlet (phone charger). It's only use is for software upgrades.

If you want a quality portable clock/radio rather than a cheap piece of plastic with a thin sound, this is a great option. Be prepared to pay for it though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't disappoint..., 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Evoke D4 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
Great radio. Great sound. Happy husband. It's a shame he's taken it into the office. Very tempted to get one for home. Stylish. The wood looks very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent bedroom radio alarm, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Evoke D4 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
smart, solid, very good sound. can set alarm just for weekdays as an option. very pleased with it. useful remote control too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Evoke D4 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
I just love this radio. Its so easy to operate, has a fantastic soft sound and looks good too. I will have it for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with this radio, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crisp reception on radio channels and rich sound. Very happy with this radio. Looks great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Evoke D4 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
Very good sound and easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant radio, sound is great and looks good too. Very easy to use, no complaints at all. Separate battery pack expensive though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Purchase, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very pleased with this radio, recommended by WHICH as Best But. I am visually impaired and find it relatively easy to use. The sound is excellent and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A well designed radio completely let down by the sound quality, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Evoke D4 Portable DAB/FM Radio - Oak (Electronics)
I bought this radio in the hope of it being better than the average bedside radio but have been most disappointed. In most ways it is excellent - very clear display, good alarms, sleep function, and the automatic dimming on the display is good for bedside use. However, the sound quality is very poor with a nasty booming bass. It might be OK for pop music but really spoils classical music and voice - women almost sound like men!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews