Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Dirt
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
72
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
66
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 September 2004
This is undoubtedly a classic album. Like every aspect of Alice in Chains' music it blurs the line between pain and beauty. Here, Layne Staley's vocals are ever impressive, Jerry Cantrell's lyrics are poetic and heart-felt, and his remarkable riffs prove that grunge was not the death of the guitarist. Alice in Chains stood above the rest of their fellow genre where guitarists were concerned; Cantrell's guitar is relentless, shifting from beautifully crafted melodies to heavy, chugging riffs and some effective soloing. He always delivered the perfect accompaniment to Layne's painfully distressed voice.

The vocals, for me, are the greatest aspect of all Alice in Chains' music. Layne's voice brimmed with so much emotion and was always so beautiful; a beauty that somehow weathered the despair of the words he sang. This album is the perfect example of how colourful and contradictory his voice really was; at once it is angelic and pained, pure and raw, and thoroughly soaked in sorrow. He captured the essence of the songs so perfectly in his vocals that you can't help but appreciate how personal they were to him. The lyrics are also a great accomplishment; ever brooding and meaningful, they paint a very honest and very revealing portrait of the band's collective troubles.

Practically every track on Dirt is a classic but a few standouts worth mentioning are 'Rooster', 'Down in a hole', and 'Rain when I die.' The song 'Would?' is arguably the greatest song on the album. It finishes off the record with a sudden, seemingly misplaced, burst of energy and though every part of the four-piece is on top form throughout the song, the bulk of the credit has to go to Mike Starr and his unforgettable bass riff which gives it one of the most powerful and recognisable intro's ever created. It is an emotional song about the Mother Love Bone frontman Andrew Wood, who we tragically lost in 1990, and it is simply brilliance.

Of course it's hard to rank the exceptional 'grunge' albums of the early 90s, with the likes of Pearl Jam's 'Ten' and Mother Love Bone's 'Apple' as well as Alice in Chains' own 'Facelift', but this is definately up there with the best. The loss of this band and its enigmatic frontman Layne Staley has left a gaping hole in the music scene; one it might never recover from!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2002
Its not often you find a record as good as this - I refer you too all other 5star reviews. Neither before or after this record were Alice In Chains as effective, Jar of Flies included. My only gripe about this version is the inexlicable track changes. When I bought this on tape oh about 10years ago, the awesome Down in a Hole followed Damn That River and was just one of those spine tingling moments in music. I used to sit on the school bus just shuddering with angst. I urge you to buy this record and recopy it onto cd in its most glorious track listing.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2001
The Band's second full length album sees a slight departure from their 80s heavy metal influenced debut Facelift. This album brings a sludgier feel with songs like Dam that River and Godsmack delivering the type of heavy riffs that any rock fan dreams of. The band also show their softer side with absolute classics like Down in a Hole and Would? filling the listener with heart warming satisfaction whilst also proving that their song writing capabilities are up there with the best. Not one song on this album fails to satisfy and even the hardest of rock fans, while undoubtedly enjoying the heavier songs, will fall in love with the softer moments on the album. This was the album that brought Alice to my attention, as soon as it was played to me by a friend i knew that this was a band that could quench my thirst for both heavy straight up rock songs and slower more acoustic sounding songs. Layne's voice coupled with Jerry's amazing riffs and Songwriting ability makes any Alice album a must for any fan of rock music and Dirt in particular is a fantastic oppurtunity for anyone to become enlightened as to just how good this band is.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Dirt is a terrific album that builds on the heavy doom-drenched grunge style of Facelift and magnifies it to intense levels of heaviness. This album features some of Alice in Chains' most heavy and emotional work like the war anthem 'Rooster' and the gothic 'Angry Chair'. The combination of Layne Staley's tortured growling vocals with Jerry Cantrell's sludgy guitar playing really blends smoothly across every track. Like most people, iI consider this their finest album to date because of its powerful instrumentation and the emotional quality of the songs present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
This is a very listenable album with great tunes, lryics to sing along to. Every track is a winner with the exception of 'iron man'. What can one say about this album except, check it out! I always paid little attention to AIC when in their heyday but i'm glad i finallygave this album the time of day some 20 odd years or so later!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Was board up at 1 to 3 am and had you tube listened to never listened to band before dirt and few other new tracks by the band ordered day after boxing day and came twos days later the tracks really good i have always listened to metal hard rock excellent cd played constantly love and must but got two together this and jar of fly's so hit free post and free mp3 versions are handy must buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Never hearing this album but bought due to my boyfriend suggesting I listen to it. Gotta say I am glad I did so. While I did find in my opinion that the second half dragged on a little the first half alone was brilliant! Them Bones which kicks the album off is an amazing track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2004
Wow, this ablum is simply amazing. What more can I say? Well, OK I'll say a bit more...
Is it grunge? Is it metal? Does it matter? All I can say is that it is an intensly powerful hard rock album with incredible songs. It seems to have have everything. Awesome riffs, choruses, solos, lyrics and vocals. It's mindblowing stuff. What were these guys on? Well, heroin to be precise.
Layne Staley's lyrics chronicle the ups and apparently limitless downs of heroin use to such an extent that AIC and, himself especially, were never able to shrug off the tag of 'Seattle junkies'. But enough of that, what about the album?
Well, it's not ALL about drugs but it's fair to say they play a huge part. What stands out though is the songs, rather than the lyrics. The awesome riffs of Them Bones, Dam That River, Junkhead and Godsmack (recognise that word? Yep, Sully Erna and co. nicked it for themselves) are balanced perfectly with the acoustic brilliance of Rooster and Down In A Hole. Then there are the choruses of Rain When I Die and Angry Chair. Two tracks which appear to be going nowhere until... Bang!, the chorus will just hit you. Layne Staley was often seen as the driving force behind the band (and his vocals and lyrics are sensational) but in all honesty, it's Jerry Cantrell's riffs and songwriting that keep this album from sinking without trace.
Then there's 'Would?'. Impossible to classify this song but I've never heard a better song to finish an album. Or, come to think of it, a better song! It'll leave you speechless.
All in all, this is essential for ANY rock fan (and I mean that). This is AIC's greatest album and more than a match for anything else that came out of Seattle or, come to think of it, anything that's come out in the last ten years.
Essential.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2005
I first heard Alice in Chains 'Dirt' on a compilation album called 'Dad, I Blew Up America' that featured two tracks off 'Dirt', namely 'Rooster' and 'Hate to Feel'. It was 'Hate to Feel' that I particularly liked a lot so the album was a natural purchase and I can tell you I was not disappointed. Alice in Chains' always sounded like a mix of Black Sabbath's 'Paranoid' and Led Zeppelin's I & II and it's on 'Dirt' that they achieved that to near perfection while still sounding original. They should have called this their 'Greatest Hits' because all the songs are classics on Dirt. The thing that makes this record great is it's simplicity, there's nothing ostentatious or vague about it musically or lyrically. Musically it's rhythmically solid, bare, sometimes discordant and atonal and lyrically, direct, poignant and somewhat gleeful in it's delivery. The theme running through the record for the most part is that of drug taking, in particular Heroin, and it's in this quagmire that the dirt is delivered. 'Dirt' spoke on behalf of Generation X when it scaled the charts in 1992 helped along by the success of Nirvana and Soundgarden that swept away the glut of rubbish that clogged the rock charts before it. The early nineties was for a brief spell an exciting time for rock and say what you like about the so-called 'grunge scene' it produced its fair share of what will become classic records and it's undeniable that 'Dirt' was instrumental in building on the rock legacy for generations to come. It's an excellent album and a worthy addition to any collection, buy it if you don't already own it.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2002
When it comes to grunge (hey,i dont like the word either but to make matters easier) there are often complaints that Nirvana overshadowed bands like Soundgarden,or Pearl Jam.However,i feel Alice In Chains to be to most under-rated,over-looked band of our
time.
This is their best work,and the very fact that i would put it up their with Nirvana`s best is high praise indeed.Layne had such amazing vocals,and the lyrics are truly haunting.It is a consistantly strong album,put simply u wont find yourself skipping every second song.
And finally,this album is now elavated to new levels with the tragic passing of Layne,with songs like "Down In A Hole","Sickman","Rain When I Die" and "Junkhead" that bring tears to my eyes.
R.I.P Layne,thanks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)