Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mini with Mega Performance
I am no Apple iOS diehard fan. In fact I have several android and windows tablets. Yet there's no denying that the iPad has revolutionised the computer industry by triggering the tablet era.

The iPad mini is just a smaller version of the iPad Air, and as such sports the same processor and options offered on its bigger brother...
Published 4 months ago by A. Camilleri

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Purchased "new" but was not delivered shrink wrapped or with the Apple new label on
Published 1 month ago by steve maitland


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mini with Mega Performance, 28 April 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
I am no Apple iOS diehard fan. In fact I have several android and windows tablets. Yet there's no denying that the iPad has revolutionised the computer industry by triggering the tablet era.

The iPad mini is just a smaller version of the iPad Air, and as such sports the same processor and options offered on its bigger brother.

------------------------------------------------------------
Now does the iPad Mini really live up to the marketing hype?

A quick answer is "Yes", thanks to new zippy 64 bit A7 processor, lovely "Retina display" screen and portability!
And what makes this the best tablet to date are the apps, which have been optimized to take full advantage of the powerful 64bit processor. As an example: If you have a 64bit operating system but 32bit software than the performance increase is negligible.

Apps written for iOS are generally superior to the android version. There are various reasons for this:
- Applications are only available through the App Store, and are virtually virus free
- Stable and reliable iOS platform
- iPad is also targeted for professional environments
- Other platforms have new tablets springing every other day, sporting different screen sizes and processors

Pros:

✓ Blazing fast, low consumption A7 (64bit) processor

✓ Premium build quality sporting ever so stylish looks thanks to the precision engineered aluminium housing

✓ Retina display. Great colour saturation producing stunning images

✓ Super lightweight, WiFi version 331grams and WiFi+Cellular version 341grams

✓ Vast choice of apps which can mimic laptop/desktop programs

✓ iPhoto, iMovie, GarageBand, Pages, Numbers and Keynote available for free

✓ Awesome battery life. No other tablet manufacturer can match as yet

Cons:
- Proprietary hardware required. Ie: Bluetooth GPS, Airprint printers..
- No expandable memory
- No touch ID

I would have loved to see an improved version of the iPhone's touch ID.

------------------------------------------------------

Probably the most difficult task is choosing the version which best suits your needs and budget:

I will first start with the common denominator. All flavours offer the same A7 chip, retina display and Wi-Fi.

So the options are colour, storage size and cellular:
- Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, yet I do suggest a side by side hands on comparison.
- Given the fast processor I would say go for the largest available storage you can afford. This could easily become your best carry around companion, so the larger the memory the better.
♦ Many think that cellular versions only offer data. This version also sports a GPS chip which works as good as the best GPS receivers. So this has to be taken into consideration when factoring the price difference.

Highly recommend to anyone on the move wanting an ultra portable, fast and reliable alternative to its larger sibling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly light, fast and beautifully designed. Best tablet available., 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
This iPad Mini is the most recent model, and it's an incredibly beautiful device. The iPad comes in several sizes (and prices) now:-

1. iPad Mini (with standard display)
2. iPad Mini with Retina Display - This one. The latest fastest Mini size iPad with an HD display.
3. iPad 2, 3 or 4th Generation - Full size iPads
4. iPad Air - The latest fastest full size iPad.

Oddly enough, it's so beautifully easy to use (my one year old daughter loves playing with it), it's almost doesn't feel like a computer at all. I bought one for my 10 year old daughter and she absolutely loves it. We sold the previous Android tablet as it just sat in a drawer not being used.

A word of warning - this review is written for people who've never owned an iPad before - and are wondering what all the fuss is about. Don't read this if you already own an iPad or Mini and are thinking about an upgrade - I'd recommend you simply buy a mini with Retina or an iPad Air.

Just what's all the fuss about?
--------------------------------------

I used to own a laptop for work, and (very occasionally), it'd sit on my lap on the sofa, and I'd use it for pleasure (eMail, watching films or playing the odd game). Then I bought my first iPad, and the laptop became redundant, a boring "work device". Hard to explain, but the fact the iPad is so small and light, and you navigate around with your finger by pointing and gently swiping the screen makes the whole experience a lot easier - a lot more fun.

Even my most "luddite" of friends have been won over.

It's incredibly simple and easy to use (it only has one main button), and everyone from my one year old daughter to my 85 year old dad have taken to without problems. It's size and shape also support using it like a book (literally to read a book or web page), but you can also watch TV and films.

Personally I'm also paranoid about my password getting "hacked", and someone running up a huge Amazon bill or buying stuff with my credit card on eBay. Well one of the benefits of the iPad (and iPhone) is it's "almost impossible" to get a virus - one of the most common ways to get hacked. This doesn't mean you shouldn't use strong passwords, (both Sony and Adobe got hacked), but it's reassuring to leave the Windows world behind.

Finally, I love the way these devices (iPad, iPhone, Apple TV, Apple Mac), increasingly work together. The fact you can start a Pages document on your Mac and edit it on your iPad, or take photos on the iPhone, and in seconds see them on the iPad or Mac and display them on the Apple TV.

The thing is, "it just works".

What would you use if for?
----------------------------------

* Shopping online. Obviously - you could be reading a review on Amazon about the iPad Air!
* Video Calling. With either "FaceTime" (to another Apple device) or Skype - you can make video calls to other people
* Reading web pages. As you can hold it like a book it's great to read the news online (my wife loves the Daily Mail Online).
* Reading Books. It's great for reading books from Amazon Kindle or Apple Books with the benefit of 1,000s of online book reviews
* Navigating web pages. Instead of clicking with a mouse, you gently swipe your fingers on screen to scroll around
* Watching Films. I use it to watch Netflix online videos (with an Apple TV you can send stuff to the telly)
* Watching TV. With the free BBC iPlayer app you can catch up or download BBC programs
* Reading and replying to mail. I use "mailbox" a great free app to read and reply to mails, but there's a free one included
* Showing and organising photos. Any photos on an iPhone are automatically available within minutes in "the cloud"
* Playing games. From fun puzzle games like "Cut the Rope" to fully fledged first person shooters.
* Listening to the Radio. With "Tune in Radio" you can listen to thousands of radio stations world-wide.
* Listening to music. I stream mine to an Apple TV, but you can also buy portable speakers or just plug into the AUX socket
* The list goes on and on.

Which model should I buy?
----------------------------------

I can't comment about Android tablets (apart from the Google Nexus 7 which is well regarded), but in terms of the Apple tablet line-up:-

iPad mini Size:-

* iPad mini is a lovely tablet. A 7.9 inch screen and astonishingly light and remarkably thin - it feels like a light-weight book.
* iPad mini with retina screen. Again 7.9 inch screen, but with the blazingly fast A7 chip and a "retina" (high definition) screen. Worth the upgrade if you can afford it. The HD screen is amazing, and faster chip means it will be a bit more "future proof".

Full Size iPad options. (much larger screen - makes a huge difference):-

* 1st Generation iPad. Seldom available new - best avoided - there's better options available
* 2nd Generation. Avoid the Apple iPad 2, it's a relatively old model, under-powered and with a lower resolution screen. If you really want an Apple but don't want to spend the cash, buy a 16g WIFI 3rd or 4th generation iPad from Amazon or eBay. Avoid this one.
* iPad 3rd Generation. First iPad with the "Retina" (high definition) screen. A5X chip. Excellent iPad - highly recommended
* iPad 4th Generation. With A6X chip. In short, not quite as fast as the latest chip but pretty zippy. Biggest difference is the smaller power socket and slightly faster processor.
* iPad Air. Same fast (A7) chip as the Mini with Retina - the latest and fastest iPad available. This has been re-designed to be even smaller than the iPad 2/3/4 and with the new chip making it even faster.

In terms of which to buy - if you want something REALLY small and light to read on the train, the iPad Mini or the latest version with the Retina screen is your best bet. Otherwise, the 3rd, 4th generation or iPad Air is your best option - depending upon your budget.

Me I've owned a 1st and 3rd generation full size iPad and most recently an Air. My daughter owns an iPad mini, and we've loved them all.

What are the Optional add-ons?
-----------------------------------------

Well, assuming you've dropped by the Apple Store or John Lewis (which I would highly recommend), and handled the iPad Mini (with/without retina screen), and iPad 2 and Air then your options are around memory size and cellular option.

Memory: Once bought, you can't add memory (space for apps, films, books etc). However, the basic price goes up a huge amount (+£80 for the 16g to 32g iPad Air). But, having owned a 16g and then a 32g iPad - I can safely recommend the 16g unless you really want to store a huge amount of videos and downloads. Only you can decide, and if you're lucky enough that money is no object then splash out. Otherwise, 16g should be fine for most people.

Celular: Allows you to connect to the internet while you're out and about. This will add an additional +£100 to the price and means you can slip in a mobile phone SIM card. This means (for an additional £7-15 a month extra), you can access the internet on the move. Alternatively, you can opt for the WIFI option, and use it at home or at at "hot spot" (eg. Starbucks, most rail stations and hotels etc).

Personally I'd buy (and indeed did), the 16Gb iPad Air WIFI. But again, it depends upon your budget.

Do I need anything else?
-------------------------------

Most people (me included) buy a cover. Apple (and now several copy-cats) make a "smart-cover" which automatically shuts down the iPad when you close it, and switches it on when you open it. There's versions which cover the back, or just the screen. Apple charge from £35 to £65 for their (admittedly) high quality fabric or leather covers, but there's many available from £10. Be aware, you do get what you pay for.

Personally,I think it's a pity to cover the beautiful aluminium industrial design of the iPad with a cover - but if you've spent hundreds of pounds you'll want to protect it from scrapes and bangs.

I also invested in a keyboard (£25-80), as I tend to write a lot of mails and documents (remember it comes with a word processor). I'd recommend (for the iPad Air) the Logitech Ultra Thin iPad Air Case with Keyboard - Space Greyand the ZAGG Keys iPad Air Case Folio with Backlit Keyboard - Black although these are strictly optional unless you want to use your iPad as a proper laptop.

Word of warning: If you're looking for a case or keyboard be sure to buy the correct size (they're all different):-

1. iPad mini size
2. iPad 2, 3 or 4th generation (full size iPad)
3. iPad Air size (full size but designed to be smaller)

Finally, if you have another Apple device (eg. an iPhone, Apple TV or Mac) you'll find these work together beautifully. For example, you can create a reminder on your iPad and it appears on your iPhone. Equally, photos taken on your iPhone appear on your iPad, and you can stream music or videos from iPad, iPhone or Mac to an Apple TV.

One word of advice - make sure the entire family use the same "Apple iTunes Account" - but you all have a separate "iCloud Account". This means, when you buy an App, Music or Film on one iDevice its available to everyone, but you each have separate "Cloud Storage" to backup your iPad or store documents independent of each other. Incidentally, creating an iCloud account means your iPad is automatically backed up (no wires, no fuss) every time you charge it up. A wonderful feature - one of many.

Overall Opinion
---------------------

It's hard to believe the iPad version 1 was released just four years ago, and there's a huge raft of "me too" tablet computers to choose from, but the Apple iPad is still the one to beat. As "Which?" magazine put it about the iPad Air - "...the best tablet we've ever tested. Apple packs a beautiful screen and lightning fast processor into a slimmer-than-ever shell, and battery life is very impressive".

Yes, there are cheaper Android based alternatives, but the quality, design and beauty of this tablet just sets it apart. If it were a car it'd be a top of the range Mercedes or a BMW. Looking at the iPad 3rd or 4th generation, you've not quite got the "latest version" - but it's still a top end tablet computer.

Obviously, depending upon your budget, buy the latest iPad (full size or mini) available - but whichever one you buy you're sure to be delighted.

Highly Recommended.

PS. [...]. Feel free to comment or ask a question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini ipad retina display, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
Have an ipad, but the mini is light, fits well in a handbag, the clarity of the retina display is excellent, still use my ipad but for travelling I find the mini is more convenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will love it :), 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
I absolutely love this mini ipad ;)
I wanted something to be able to carry in my bag plus use it for reading my books - Kindle app fab! You will not be making a mistake buying one.
I shopped around and found the best price for me was on Amazon.
The retina display is great, you can see the difference in picture quality. But if you want to save a few pennies, the non-retina is just as great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apple's best tablet yet., 17 Aug 2014
By 
Arron Rees "Azakajam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
TLDR; Aspect ratio and internal storage stop me from giving this otherwise perfect tablet a full 5 star rating.

INTRO
So I've used the iPad for a few months now, so here's my opinion on it. TLDR? Buy it.

DESIGN
If there's one thing that Apple knows how to do right, it's device design. Made of aluminium, this is an extremely premium feeling device that'll leave you feeling that your money was well spent.

SCREEN
Retina. Beautiful. Sharp. But lacking in the aspect ratio department. It's 4:3 rather than 16:9, meaning that films will have black bars above and below them. On a smaller screen than the full sized iPad where this might not be so much of a problem, this definitely bugged me.

OS
*Queue fanboy argument*
iOS works perfectly for tablets. Of course it has limitations but if you're used to iOS then you won't know any different. iPad apps are far superior to Android's tablet offering, but the lack of customisation and third party support made me feel a bit spoon fed. But I liked being spoon fed. It meant I could eat like I did with android but without having to lift my arms and do it myself. Who needs dignity when you have convenience eh? Overall I really like iOS. It's pretty, it's consistent and and the tailored apps always make the iPad Mini Retina a pleasure to use.

HARDWARE
Like I said it's beautifully designed, and with the introduction of the marketing revolution that is "64 bit" for mobile devices it's fast. However, for the primarily media consummation device that it is, internal storage is lacking. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for internal storage; it saves me buying memory cards and losing the memory cards and then buying more memory cards only to find the ones I had lost a year later.
The only thing I don't like is the pricing. £80 more for the 32GB option? MEMORY DOESN'T COST THAT MUCH. STOP IT.
As for the battery life, its nothing short of amazing. Screen off time is great thanks to iOS, and on screen time is good. I read a lot on this iPad, and even then I only have to charge it every couple of days.

OVERALL
A more convenient size makes me recommend this over the full sized version. And unless you're blind or like to torture your eyes there really is no reason to buy the non-retina version over this one. iOS blows Android out of the water in the tablet department; save the OS wars for the smartphones. At £250 this is a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's good, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
the price is perfect, and the ipad was sealed well when i received it, i regesitered on the Apple website it shows everything goes ok!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and Perfect Upgrade From an iPad 2., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
Item arrived promptly, sealed in plastic wrapping just as you would from the store and is superb as a upgrade from an iPad 2 which i have had around its release date. The iPad mini is perfect for those one hand operations, not too heavy but enough to read a book in bed or on the tube. Light and portable to slide in your bag!!

Seller was prompt and perfect price, i was shocked at the price initially and expected a few corners to be cut along the way. But everything was just like buying it from the Apple Store, though i got it Next day and cheaper!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very happy:))), 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
So so so happy I bought this iPad mini. I was unsure weather to buy it or not because it was so cheap but I'm so glad I did:) Exactly the same as the iPad mini retina sold in the apple store but you save so much money by purchasing it from amazon.
Fast delivery as well. I ordered it on Friday night at tea time and it arrived on Saturday, lunchtime (Amazon prime)
The retina display is also amazing!
I highly reccomend the IPad Mini with Retina Display, however the IPad Mini is just as good if you want to save some pennies:))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
With the screen resolution way up on the iPad 2 whilst at the same time being smaller and lighter and about the same price, this has to be a winner. It's very little bigger than the Kindle 2 that I've been using for years, but the screen is 1/3 larger. I haven't yet decided whether to carry on reading my daily newspaper on the Kindle or switch to this. (The Kindle has fewer distractions!) I've added an eLifeStore keyboard which also serves to protect it in transit but doesn't hide its intrinsic beauty in the way so many covers do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it sooooooo much ,buy it now ,you wonder how you lived without it, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple ME279B/A - iPad Mini with Retina WiFi 16GB Silver (Personal Computers)
Love it soooooooo much
Better than the old version ,faster at last ,clearer ,and just worth the money
I read books,play music ,use it at uni to record my lectures and draw ,all saved to my cloud without a issue
I be lost without it ,buy it ,love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews