Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome product - so many models to choose from!
*** What can I do with the iPad? ***

With an iPad, you can do pretty much anything you can do on a laptop/Desktop computer. With the added benefit of it being much more portable.

You can:

✓ Shop online
✓ Create and edit documents
✓ Do online Banking – pretty much all of the main banks have their own...
Published 6 months ago by Silvester

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Not as advised
Published 2 months ago by Grandad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome product - so many models to choose from!, 14 Nov. 2014
By 
Silvester (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
*** What can I do with the iPad? ***

With an iPad, you can do pretty much anything you can do on a laptop/Desktop computer. With the added benefit of it being much more portable.

You can:

✓ Shop online
✓ Create and edit documents
✓ Do online Banking – pretty much all of the main banks have their own apps for iPad's making it even easier to do your day to day banking from your tablet
✓ Read and reply to emails from the comfort of your sofa
✓ View and organise photos – useful for when friends and relatives come around and you want to show off those holiday photos!
✓ Video call using Skype or Apples own Facetime (similar to Skype for use with another Apple Device)
✓ Read or research online
✓ Read books – you can purchase books from Apple's iBooks, the Kindle store and any other book stores which have an app in the Apple Store
✓ Watch films – you can watch Netflix, LoveFilm or any other subscription services which have an app in the Apple Store
✓ Watch TV – there are several apps available for iPad's which will allow you to catchup on TV. There's TVCatchup, BBC iPlayer, ITV Player, Demand 5, you can even order TV shows on demand from iTunes
✓ Play games – there are over 1 million apps in the Apple App Store and many of these are games
✓ Listen to the radio / music – either by streaming music from the internet or playing music stored locally on your iPad

*** What are the cons? ***

- Not all printers are 100% compatible with iPads – ideally you will need a printer that supports AirPrint. However this is becoming more of a standard feature with newer printers.
- You probably won't have as much storage as you would on your PC – however lots more information is now stored online rather than locally on your device, meaning you don't actually need all that much local space
- You can't play CD's/DVD's – so before you scrap your old PC, you may want to convert all those old CD's to mp3's!
- Can't read information from USB sticks – Although you can get around this problem by storing files on cloud storage.

*** How do I know which iPad to get? ***

Picking an iPad can be ridiculously difficult when you consider there are over 50 different variations of the iPad. You've got several different models, memory configurations, colours and different screen sizes.

For the purpose of this review, I'm not going to include the older iPads (1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th Generation). Although you can still pick them up, they are relatively old models as a result you will often find they have a lower performance and especially with the 1st and 2nd generation iPads, a noticeably lower quality screen.

For that reason, I would personally recommend one of the models mentioned below.

Step 1 – Pick a Size
---------------------------------------------

First step is to pick a size. Either the 7.9” Mini or the 9.7” Air.

Which would you benefit from most? Large screen or portability? Do you want it mainly for using at home to read, watch videos and play games on the sofa, or are you planning on using it on the move, maybe while travelling to work, etc.

You can pay about £80 more for the larger screen. So think carefully!

Step 2 – I've chosen the Mini
---------------------------------------------

There are 3 iPad Mini Models to choose from (The iPad Mini, iPad Mini 2 and iPad Mini 3).

- iPad Mini 3 -

This is the latest iPad Mini. This device is essentially the same as the iPad Mini 2, but with a feature called TouchID. For those fairly new to iPads, you're probably asking yourself what TouchID is, I know I did at first.

Touch ID is Apple's biometric fingerprint authentication technology. With it, the Home button can now unlock your device and authorize your purchases on the iTunes Store, making it impossible for purchases to be made if your device is stolen or if you kids get hold of your tablet!

- iPad Mini 2 -

This is last years iPad Mini, formerly known as the Retina iPad Mini is essentially the same device as the iPad Mini 3 but without the TouchID feature. Don't care about TouchID? Why not save yourself a few quid and go the iPad Mini 2.

A major point of differentiation between the original iPad mini and the iPad mini 2 is the display. Both are glossy, use IPS technology, and are LED-backlit, but the original model has a non-retina 7.9-inch 1024x768 display at 163 ppi and the 2 model uses a much higher resolution 7.9-inch 2048x1536 display at 326 ppi.

- iPad Mini -

If you just want an iPad and the slightly improved screen or TouchID don't matter to you, you can pick up the original iPad mini at a more affordable price. Maybe if this is your first iPad purchase, an original iPad mini might suit your needs more than one with several features you probably won't use.

Step 2 – I've chosen the Air
---------------------------------------------

If you've selected the air, its even more straight forward to pick as there are just 2 models (iPad Air & iPad Air 2)

- iPad Air 2 -

The iPad Air 2's performance has been improved - the Air 2 has 12x the processing performance of the original iPad and 180x the graphics performance.

Now has an 8Mp rear facing camera, where as the original Air only has a 5Mp camera.

The Air 2 is just 6.1mm thick, an 18% reduction on the already skinny Air, making it the thinnest tablet in the world.

The Air 2 comes with touchID (the finger printer scanner mentioned earlier in the review).

- iPad Air -

If you're not bothered about the TouchID feature, having an ever so slightly thinner tablet and can cope with a 5Mp camera, then the original iPad Air could be worth considering if you want to try and save a little money.

Step 3 – Need 3G/4G?
---------------------------------------------

This really depends again on how you plan on using your iPad. If think you're going to want internet access on the move and you're not likely to have access to WiFi, this is worth considering, however you will pay extra for this feature.

3G/4G is essentially wireless broadband for your tablet. You will pay a set amount monthly and this will enable you to use the internet on your tablet even when you are not connected to a WiFi network.

Remember that you can often turn your Mobile Phone into a wireless hotspot and piggy back off that anyway. So for some, this feature might not actually be necessary.

Step 4 – Picking how much memory you need
----------------------------------------------------

Memory on an iPad is essentially storage space. This will be used to store all your pictures, videos, music, etc. Keep in mind that once you have decided how much memory you need, it can't be updated like a PC, so if its not a lot more money for that extra space, its definitely worth considering!

Also keep in mind that in the future, music and video files will probably become larger and larger as the quality improves. So if you want your tablet to be a little more future proof, you'll probably find more memory is better!

Step 5 – Pick your colour (the easy bit)
----------------------------------------------------

This is a personal choice really, so little advice I can give.

With the older models you will only be able to pick between Black/Grey and White/Silver.

With the newer models, you can still have the classic colours, but you also have the choice of White/Gold if you wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossibly thin, incredibly fast and beautiful. Is it the best iPad for you?, 6 Jan. 2014
By 
John Ryan "One man and his Kat" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Apple iPad MINI Retina WI-FI 128GB 128 GB 1024 MB 7.9 -inch LCD (Personal Computers)
Up until October 2014, this iPad Mini was the most recent model, and it’s an incredibly beautiful device.

The iPad comes in several sizes (and prices) now:-

Small (Paperback book sized, but incredibly thin)
* iPad Mini (with standard display)
* iPad Mini 2 - This one. The latest fastest Mini size iPad with an HD display.
* iPad Mini 3. Released October 2014 - with the “Touch ID” - fingerprint reader and faster chip

Having said that, personally I think the iPad Mini 2 (this model) is better value than the Mini 3. Not convinced the touch ID is worth the extra money.

Larger (Size of an A4 Pad of paper)
* iPad 2, 3 or 4th Generation - Full size iPads (probably best avoided)
* iPad Air - Release November 2013
* iPad Air 2 - Released October 2014. With the A8X chip and “touch id” fingerprint reader and faster chip

Oddly enough, it’s so beautifully easy to use (my one year old daughter loves playing with it), it’s almost doesn’t feel like a computer at all. I bought one for my 10 year old daughter and she absolutely loves it. We sold the previous Android tablet as it just sat in a drawer not being used.

A word of warning - this review is written for people who’ve never owned an iPad before - and are wondering what all the fuss is about. Don’t read this if you already own an iPad or Mini and are thinking about an upgrade - I’d recommend you simply buy a mini with Retina or an iPad Air.

Just what’s all the fuss about?
--------------------------------------
I used to own a laptop for work, and (very occasionally), it’d sit on my lap on the sofa, and I’d use it for pleasure (eMail, watching films or playing the odd game). Then I bought my first iPad, and the laptop became redundant, a boring “work device”. Hard to explain, but the fact the iPad is so small and light, and you navigate around with your finger by pointing and gently swiping the screen makes the whole experience a lot easier - a lot more fun.

Even my most “luddite” of friends have been won over.

It’s incredibly simple and easy to use (it only has one main button), and everyone from my one year old daughter to my 85 year old dad have taken to without problems. It’s size and shape also support using it like a book (literally to read a book or web page), but you can also watch TV and films.

Personally I’m also paranoid about my password getting “hacked”, and someone running up a huge Amazon bill or buying stuff with my credit card on eBay. Well one of the benefits of the iPad (and iPhone) is it’s “almost impossible” to get a virus - one of the most common ways to get hacked. This doesn’t mean you shouldn’t use strong passwords, (both Sony and Adobe got hacked), but it’s reassuring to leave the Windows world behind.

Finally, I love the way these devices (iPad, iPhone, Apple TV, Apple Mac), increasingly work together. The fact you can start a Pages document on your Mac and edit it on your iPad, or take photos on the iPhone, and in seconds see them on the iPad or Mac and display them on the Apple TV.

The thing is, "it just works".

What would you use if for?
----------------------------------

* Shopping online. Obviously - you could be reading a review on Amazon about the iPad Air!
* Video Calling. With either “FaceTime” (to another Apple device) or Skype - you can make video calls to other people
* Reading web pages. As you can hold it like a book it’s great to read the news online (my wife loves the Daily Mail Online).
* Reading Books. It’s great for reading books from Amazon Kindle or Apple Books with the benefit of 1,000s of online book reviews
* Navigating web pages. Instead of clicking with a mouse, you gently swipe your fingers on screen to scroll around
* Watching Films. I use it to watch Netflix online videos (with an Apple TV you can send stuff to the telly)
* Watching TV. With the free BBC iPlayer app (in the UK) you can catch up or download BBC programs
* Reading and replying to mail. I use “mailbox” a great free app to read and reply to mails, but there’s a free one included
* Showing and organising photos. Any photos on an iPhone are automatically available within minutes in “the cloud”
* Playing games. From fun puzzle games like “Cut the Rope” to fully fledged first person shooters.
* Listening to the Radio. With “Tune in Radio” you can listen to thousands of radio stations world-wide.
* Listening to music. I stream mine to an Apple TV, but you can also buy portable speakers or just plug into the AUX socket
* The list goes on and on.

Which model should I buy?
----------------------------------

I can’t comment about Android tablets (apart from the Google Nexus 7 which is well regarded), but in terms of the Apple tablet line-up:-

iPad mini Size:-

* iPad mini is a lovely tablet. A 7.9 inch screen and astonishingly light and remarkably thin - it feels like a light-weight book.
* iPad mini 2. Again 7.9 inch screen, but with the blazingly fast A7 chip and a “retina” (high definition) screen. Worth the upgrade if you can afford it. The HD screen is amazing, and faster chip means it will be a bit more “future proof”.
* iPad mini 3. Again same size and A7 chip but with the “touch id” fingerprint reader.

Full Size iPad options. (much larger screen - makes a huge difference):-

* 1st Generation iPad. Seldom available new - best avoided - there’s better options available
* 2nd Generation. Avoid the Apple iPad 2, it’s a relatively old model, under-powered and with a lower resolution screen. If you really want an Apple but don’t want to spend the cash, buy a 16g WIFI 3rd or 4th generation iPad from Amazon or eBay. Avoid this one.
* iPad 3rd Generation. First iPad with the “Retina” (high definition) screen. A5X chip. Excellent iPad - highly recommended
* iPad 4th Generation. With A6X chip. In short, not quite as fast as the latest chip but pretty zippy. Biggest difference is the smaller power socket and slightly faster processor.
* iPad Air. Same fast (A7) chip as the Mini with Retina - the latest and fastest iPad available. This has been re-designed to be even smaller than the iPad 2/3/4 and with the new chip making it even faster.
* iPad Air 2. New A8X chip (even faster still) with the “touch ID” fingerprint reader. So no passcode to unlock it.

In terms of which to buy - if you want something REALLY small and light to read on the train, the iPad Mini 2 or 3 is your best bet. Otherwise, the iPad Air is your best option - depending upon your budget.

Me I’ve owned a 1st and 3rd generation full size iPad and most recently an Air. My daughter owns an iPad mini, and we’ve loved them all.

What are the Optional add-ons?
-----------------------------------------

Well, assuming you’ve dropped by the Apple Store or John Lewis (which I would highly recommend), and handled the iPad Mini (with/without retina screen), and iPad 2 and Air then your options are around memory size and cellular option.

Memory: Once bought, you can’t add memory (space for apps, films, books etc). However, the basic price goes up a huge amount (+£80 for the 16g to 32g iPad Air). But, having owned a 16g and then a 32g iPad - I can safely recommend the 16g unless you really want to store a huge amount of videos and downloads. Only you can decide, and if you’re lucky enough that money is no object then splash out. Otherwise, 16g should be fine for most people.

Celular: Allows you to connect to the internet while you’re out and about. This will add an additional +£100 to the price and means you can slip in a mobile phone SIM card. This means (for an additional £7-15 a month extra), you can access the internet on the move. Alternatively, you can opt for the WIFI option, and use it at home or at at “hot spot” (eg. Starbucks, most rail stations and hotels etc).

Personally I’d buy (and indeed did), the 16Gb iPad Air WIFI. But again, it depends upon your budget.

Do I need anything else?
-------------------------------

Most people (me included) buy a cover. Apple (and now several copy-cats) make a “smart-cover” which automatically shuts down the iPad when you close it, and switches it on when you open it. There’s versions which cover the back, or just the screen. Apple charge from £35 to £65 for their (admittedly) high quality fabric or leather covers, but there’s many available from £10. Be aware, you do get what you pay for.

Personally,I think it’s a pity to cover the beautiful aluminium industrial design of the iPad with a cover - but if you’ve spent hundreds of pounds you’ll want to protect it from scrapes and bangs.

I also invested in a keyboard (£25-80), as I tend to write a lot of mails and documents (remember it comes with a word processor). I’d recommend (for the iPad Air) the Logitech Ultra Thin iPad Air Case with Keyboard - Space Greyand the ZAGG Keys iPad Air Case Folio with Backlit Keyboard - Black although these are strictly optional unless you want to use your iPad as a proper laptop.

Word of warning: If you’re looking for a case or keyboard be sure to buy the correct size (they’re all different):-

1. iPad mini size
2. iPad 2, 3 or 4th generation (full size iPad)
3. iPad Air size (full size but designed to be smaller)

Finally, if you have another Apple device (eg. an iPhone, Apple TV or Mac) you’ll find these work together beautifully. For example, you can create a reminder on your iPad and it appears on your iPhone. Equally, photos taken on your iPhone appear on your iPad, and you can stream music or videos from iPad, iPhone or Mac to an Apple TV.

One word of advice - make sure the entire family use the same “Apple iTunes Account” - but you all have a separate “iCloud Account”. This means, when you buy an App, Music or Film on one iDevice its available to everyone, but you each have separate “Cloud Storage” to backup your iPad or store documents independent of each other. Incidentally, creating an iCloud account means your iPad is automatically backed up (no wires, no fuss) every time you charge it up. A wonderful feature - one of many.

Overall Opinion
---------------------

It’s hard to believe the iPad version 1 was released just four years ago, and there’s a huge raft of “me too” tablet computers to choose from, but the Apple iPad is still the one to beat. As “Which?” magazine put it about the iPad Air - “…the best tablet we’ve ever tested. Apple packs a beautiful screen and lightning fast processor into a slimmer-than-ever shell, and battery life is very impressive”.

Yes, there are cheaper Android based alternatives, but the quality, design and beauty of this tablet just sets it apart. If it were a car it’d be a top of the range Mercedes or a BMW. Looking at the iPad 3rd or 4th generation, you’ve not quite got the “latest version” - but it’s still a top end tablet computer.

Obviously, depending upon your budget, buy the latest iPad (full size or mini) available - but whichever one you buy you’re sure to be delighted.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossibly thin, incredibly fast and beautiful. Is it the best iPad for you?, 1 Nov. 2014
By 
John Ryan "One man and his Kat" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Up until October 2014, this iPad Mini was the most recent model, and it’s an incredibly beautiful device.

The iPad comes in several sizes (and prices) now:-

Small (Paperback book sized, but incredibly thin)
* iPad Mini (with standard display)
* iPad Mini 2 - This one. The latest fastest Mini size iPad with an HD display.
* iPad Mini 3. Released October 2014 - with the “Touch ID” - fingerprint reader and faster chip

Having said that, personally I think the iPad Mini 2 (this model) is better value than the Mini 3. Not convinced the touch ID is worth the extra money.

Larger (Size of an A4 Pad of paper)
* iPad 2, 3 or 4th Generation - Full size iPads (probably best avoided)
* iPad Air - Release November 2013
* iPad Air 2 - Released October 2014. With the A8X chip and “touch id” fingerprint reader and faster chip

Oddly enough, it’s so beautifully easy to use (my one year old daughter loves playing with it), it’s almost doesn’t feel like a computer at all. I bought one for my 10 year old daughter and she absolutely loves it. We sold the previous Android tablet as it just sat in a drawer not being used.

A word of warning - this review is written for people who’ve never owned an iPad before - and are wondering what all the fuss is about. Don’t read this if you already own an iPad or Mini and are thinking about an upgrade - I’d recommend you simply buy a mini with Retina or an iPad Air.

Just what’s all the fuss about?
--------------------------------------
I used to own a laptop for work, and (very occasionally), it’d sit on my lap on the sofa, and I’d use it for pleasure (eMail, watching films or playing the odd game). Then I bought my first iPad, and the laptop became redundant, a boring “work device”. Hard to explain, but the fact the iPad is so small and light, and you navigate around with your finger by pointing and gently swiping the screen makes the whole experience a lot easier - a lot more fun.

Even my most “luddite” of friends have been won over.

It’s incredibly simple and easy to use (it only has one main button), and everyone from my one year old daughter to my 85 year old dad have taken to without problems. It’s size and shape also support using it like a book (literally to read a book or web page), but you can also watch TV and films.

Personally I’m also paranoid about my password getting “hacked”, and someone running up a huge Amazon bill or buying stuff with my credit card on eBay. Well one of the benefits of the iPad (and iPhone) is it’s “almost impossible” to get a virus - one of the most common ways to get hacked. This doesn’t mean you shouldn’t use strong passwords, (both Sony and Adobe got hacked), but it’s reassuring to leave the Windows world behind.

Finally, I love the way these devices (iPad, iPhone, Apple TV, Apple Mac), increasingly work together. The fact you can start a Pages document on your Mac and edit it on your iPad, or take photos on the iPhone, and in seconds see them on the iPad or Mac and display them on the Apple TV.

The thing is, "it just works".

What would you use if for?
----------------------------------

* Shopping online. Obviously - you could be reading a review on Amazon about the iPad Air!
* Video Calling. With either “FaceTime” (to another Apple device) or Skype - you can make video calls to other people
* Reading web pages. As you can hold it like a book it’s great to read the news online (my wife loves the Daily Mail Online).
* Reading Books. It’s great for reading books from Amazon Kindle or Apple Books with the benefit of 1,000s of online book reviews
* Navigating web pages. Instead of clicking with a mouse, you gently swipe your fingers on screen to scroll around
* Watching Films. I use it to watch Netflix online videos (with an Apple TV you can send stuff to the telly)
* Watching TV. With the free BBC iPlayer app (in the UK) you can catch up or download BBC programs
* Reading and replying to mail. I use “mailbox” a great free app to read and reply to mails, but there’s a free one included
* Showing and organising photos. Any photos on an iPhone are automatically available within minutes in “the cloud”
* Playing games. From fun puzzle games like “Cut the Rope” to fully fledged first person shooters.
* Listening to the Radio. With “Tune in Radio” you can listen to thousands of radio stations world-wide.
* Listening to music. I stream mine to an Apple TV, but you can also buy portable speakers or just plug into the AUX socket
* The list goes on and on.

Which model should I buy?
----------------------------------

I can’t comment about Android tablets (apart from the Google Nexus 7 which is well regarded), but in terms of the Apple tablet line-up:-

iPad mini Size:-

* iPad mini is a lovely tablet. A 7.9 inch screen and astonishingly light and remarkably thin - it feels like a light-weight book.
* iPad mini 2. Again 7.9 inch screen, but with the blazingly fast A7 chip and a “retina” (high definition) screen. Worth the upgrade if you can afford it. The HD screen is amazing, and faster chip means it will be a bit more “future proof”.
* iPad mini 3. Again same size and A7 chip but with the “touch id” fingerprint reader.

Full Size iPad options. (much larger screen - makes a huge difference):-

* 1st Generation iPad. Seldom available new - best avoided - there’s better options available
* 2nd Generation. Avoid the Apple iPad 2, it’s a relatively old model, under-powered and with a lower resolution screen. If you really want an Apple but don’t want to spend the cash, buy a 16g WIFI 3rd or 4th generation iPad from Amazon or eBay. Avoid this one.
* iPad 3rd Generation. First iPad with the “Retina” (high definition) screen. A5X chip. Excellent iPad - highly recommended
* iPad 4th Generation. With A6X chip. In short, not quite as fast as the latest chip but pretty zippy. Biggest difference is the smaller power socket and slightly faster processor.
* iPad Air. Same fast (A7) chip as the Mini with Retina - the latest and fastest iPad available. This has been re-designed to be even smaller than the iPad 2/3/4 and with the new chip making it even faster.
* iPad Air 2. New A8X chip (even faster still) with the “touch ID” fingerprint reader. So no passcode to unlock it.

In terms of which to buy - if you want something REALLY small and light to read on the train, the iPad Mini 2 or 3 is your best bet. Otherwise, the iPad Air is your best option - depending upon your budget.

Me I’ve owned a 1st and 3rd generation full size iPad and most recently an Air. My daughter owns an iPad mini, and we’ve loved them all.

What are the Optional add-ons?
-----------------------------------------

Well, assuming you’ve dropped by the Apple Store or John Lewis (which I would highly recommend), and handled the iPad Mini (with/without retina screen), and iPad 2 and Air then your options are around memory size and cellular option.

Memory: Once bought, you can’t add memory (space for apps, films, books etc). However, the basic price goes up a huge amount (+£80 for the 16g to 32g iPad Air). But, having owned a 16g and then a 32g iPad - I can safely recommend the 16g unless you really want to store a huge amount of videos and downloads. Only you can decide, and if you’re lucky enough that money is no object then splash out. Otherwise, 16g should be fine for most people.

Celular: Allows you to connect to the internet while you’re out and about. This will add an additional +£100 to the price and means you can slip in a mobile phone SIM card. This means (for an additional £7-15 a month extra), you can access the internet on the move. Alternatively, you can opt for the WIFI option, and use it at home or at at “hot spot” (eg. Starbucks, most rail stations and hotels etc).

Personally I’d buy (and indeed did), the 16Gb iPad Air WIFI. But again, it depends upon your budget.

Do I need anything else?
-------------------------------

Most people (me included) buy a cover. Apple (and now several copy-cats) make a “smart-cover” which automatically shuts down the iPad when you close it, and switches it on when you open it. There’s versions which cover the back, or just the screen. Apple charge from £35 to £65 for their (admittedly) high quality fabric or leather covers, but there’s many available from £10. Be aware, you do get what you pay for.

Personally,I think it’s a pity to cover the beautiful aluminium industrial design of the iPad with a cover - but if you’ve spent hundreds of pounds you’ll want to protect it from scrapes and bangs.

I also invested in a keyboard (£25-80), as I tend to write a lot of mails and documents (remember it comes with a word processor). I’d recommend (for the iPad Air) the Logitech Ultra Thin iPad Air Case with Keyboard - Space Greyand the ZAGG Keys iPad Air Case Folio with Backlit Keyboard - Black although these are strictly optional unless you want to use your iPad as a proper laptop.

Word of warning: If you’re looking for a case or keyboard be sure to buy the correct size (they’re all different):-

1. iPad mini size
2. iPad 2, 3 or 4th generation (full size iPad)
3. iPad Air size (full size but designed to be smaller)

Finally, if you have another Apple device (eg. an iPhone, Apple TV or Mac) you’ll find these work together beautifully. For example, you can create a reminder on your iPad and it appears on your iPhone. Equally, photos taken on your iPhone appear on your iPad, and you can stream music or videos from iPad, iPhone or Mac to an Apple TV.

One word of advice - make sure the entire family use the same “Apple iTunes Account” - but you all have a separate “iCloud Account”. This means, when you buy an App, Music or Film on one iDevice its available to everyone, but you each have separate “Cloud Storage” to backup your iPad or store documents independent of each other. Incidentally, creating an iCloud account means your iPad is automatically backed up (no wires, no fuss) every time you charge it up. A wonderful feature - one of many.

Overall Opinion
---------------------

It’s hard to believe the iPad version 1 was released just four years ago, and there’s a huge raft of “me too” tablet computers to choose from, but the Apple iPad is still the one to beat. As “Which?” magazine put it about the iPad Air - “…the best tablet we’ve ever tested. Apple packs a beautiful screen and lightning fast processor into a slimmer-than-ever shell, and battery life is very impressive”.

Yes, there are cheaper Android based alternatives, but the quality, design and beauty of this tablet just sets it apart. If it were a car it’d be a top of the range Mercedes or a BMW. Looking at the iPad 3rd or 4th generation, you’ve not quite got the “latest version” - but it’s still a top end tablet computer.

Obviously, depending upon your budget, buy the latest iPad (full size or mini) available - but whichever one you buy you’re sure to be delighted.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mini with Mega Performance, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri (Malta) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Apple iPad MINI Retina WI-FI 128GB 128 GB 1024 MB 7.9 -inch LCD (Personal Computers)
The iPad mini is just a smaller version of the iPad Air and as such shares the same processor and performance.

----------------------------------------------------------
Does the iPad Mini really live up to the marketing hype?

A quick answer is "Yes", thanks to new zippy 64 bit A7 processor, lovely "Retina display" screen and portability!
And what makes this the best tablet to date are the apps, which have been optimized to take full advantage of the powerful 64bit processor. As an example: If you have a 64bit operating system but 32bit software than the performance increase is negligible.

Apps written for iOS are generally superior to the android version. There are various reasons for this:
○ Applications are only available through the App Store, and are virtually virus free
○ Stable and reliable iOS platform
○ iPad is also targeted for professional environments
○ Other platforms have new tablets springing every other day, sporting different screen sizes and processors

Pros:
✓ Blazing fast, low consumption A7 (64bit) processor
✓ Premium build quality sporting ever so stylish looks thanks to the precision engineered aluminium housing
✓ Retina display. Great colour saturation producing stunning images
✓ Super lightweight, WiFi version 331grams and WiFi+Cellular version 341grams
✓ Vast choice of apps which can mimic laptop/desktop programs
✓ iPhoto, iMovie, GarageBand, Pages, Numbers and Keynote available for free
✓ Awesome battery life. No other tablet manufacturer can match as yet

Cons:
- Proprietary hardware required. Ie: Bluetooth GPS, Airprint printers..
- No expandable memory
- No touch ID

I would have loved to see an improved version of the iPhone's touch ID.

------------------------------------------------------
Probably the most difficult task is choosing the version which best suits your needs and budget:

I will first start with the common denominator. All flavours offer the same A7 chip, retina display and Wi-Fi.

So the options are colour, storage size and cellular:
♦ Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, yet I do suggest a side by side hands on comparison.
♦ Given the fast processor I would say go for the largest available storage you can afford. This could easily become your best carry around companion, so the larger the memory the better.
♦ Many think that cellular versions only offer data. This version also sports a GPS chip which works as good as the best GPS receivers. So this has to be taken into consideration when factoring the price difference.

Highly recommend to anyone on the move wanting an ultra portable, fast and reliable alternative to its larger sibling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Pad Mini Retina., 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPad MINI Retina WI-FI 128GB 128 GB 1024 MB 7.9 -inch LCD (Personal Computers)
Having had Apple, and Android,over the years,there are several reasons for me to choose the I Pad Mini Retina. For me, its just the right size. a quality product,very easy to set up,and use,and everything I will ever need,is in the I tunes store. The screen is sharper than the non retina.Anyone owning one of these,should look on Youtube for the many hints and tips on how to use this,as I have found many things that have made the experience far easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love my little ipad, 29 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPad MINI Retina WI-FI 128GB 128 GB 1024 MB 7.9 -inch LCD (Personal Computers)
I have an iPad 2 which I loved and was always by my side. However it was too big to put in my bag so I decided a smaller version would be better and more portable and lighter. I purchased the 128g as I am a photographer and also dabble in video so I can download my images and video straight to my iPad via the wifi in my camera and edit on the go. The extra gigabyte means I have ample storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to use, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPad MINI Retina WI-FI 128GB 128 GB 1024 MB 7.9 -inch LCD (Personal Computers)
I upgraded from the iPad mini 32g and the difference is very evident. Reading newspapers on the iPad is where you really see the marked improvement. Also much faster, responding well to most requests. Predictive text when writing is also very intuitive. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase - good value for money for the increased storage at £349.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this ipad mini, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPad MINI Retina WI-FI 128GB 128 GB 1024 MB 7.9 -inch LCD (Personal Computers)
changed my life. i love this ipad mini, really cute, can keep in my handbag, so it's always with me, anything larger than this is pointless you might as well have a laptop. i use skype, facetime, microsoft word, instagram, facebook, and have downloaded all the tv channel catchup apps so i can watch the bbc and channel 4 programs i've missed later, and also netflix! handy little thing. I LOVE IT. NOTE: it is small, and very slim, you NEED a strong and durable case, i have a 2 year old niece so bought the griffin survivor. make sure you protect the screen and just keep it super safe. i really value this purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IPad mini, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPad MINI Retina WI-FI 128GB 128 GB 1024 MB 7.9 -inch LCD (Personal Computers)
The mini pad is an excellent addition to my other IPads, mainly because of the convenient pocket size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ipad, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPad MINI Retina WI-FI 128GB 128 GB 1024 MB 7.9 -inch LCD (Personal Computers)
Great present for my son whos into tech stuff very happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews