Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different!
Fast paced easy read. Lovely unique concepts. A well written journey that keeps you engaged.
I bought the next book as soon as I had finished this set.
Super human meets time travel meets historical meets futuristic.......
Published 15 months ago by Abitditzy

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I am not sure how to categorise this book. It seems to purport to be SF/ time travel, but reads more like a sword and sorcery fantasy.

The first book in the trilogy is ok-ish, but it goes rapidly downhill in book two, which opens with the main character, a 20th century American arriving in early 11th century England. He is able to make himself understood and...
Published 12 months ago by david


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
I am not sure how to categorise this book. It seems to purport to be SF/ time travel, but reads more like a sword and sorcery fantasy.

The first book in the trilogy is ok-ish, but it goes rapidly downhill in book two, which opens with the main character, a 20th century American arriving in early 11th century England. He is able to make himself understood and accepted by a closed community despite having a weird accent and the fact that at that time people in England spoke Middle English, as the Norman conquest hadn't happened yet, with the major changes in the language that brought and so would be a foreign language to us today ([...]).

He appears to give no thought to the situation in the country at that time, the period of recent unification under the Danish King Canut, well organised and land ownership well established. There is no mention of religion, yet at that time the country would have been very religious and Roman Catholic. As he does later in the story, the introduction of the idea of loaning money at interest would be highly heretical in the minds of the people at that time as it was widely regarded as usury and therefore sinful and evfil . He is also unafraid to introduce anachronisms like barbed wire on the top of a castle (only invented in the 19th century but hey ho).

It gets worse when he tries to get technical. He introduces the idea of the hero making concrete to the 11th century, but his description of how it is done is grossly inaccurate, even down to how it is mixed: supposedly the potters make gigantic bowls, big enough to contain many buckets full of mix (a physical impossibility in that day and tricky even today), which they then stir by hand in the pot(!) a highly impractical method- I've mixed enough concrete by hand over the years to know that ( shovel and a flat surface are enough). He is also silent on how he makes the cement to start with, which is the real biggie of a problem. He then goes on (in some places and on and on and on) about various 'clever' ideas the hero has, some of which are downright impractical, or impossible. Some ideas are so contrived I could think of better ways of doing what is so clever. Then he really goes to town, claiming that salt can be removed from seawater by 'running it over a few rocks' to make it drinkable, and later that salt in seawater can be liberated by an electric spark and turned into 'fuel' for a motor. There are numerous holes like this throughout the second and third books which at times degenerates into a silly techno-babble.

If he wants to write an essentially historical story, then the least he could do is some research into the background. It is clear some authors of SF and historical stories do precisely that, but I felt this author is just too lazy to bother. I also felt many of the characters were very one dimensional, and changes in attitude appeared to happen instantaneously when it suited the author, and the villains were almost relentlessly evil to the point of the ludicrous.

Thankfully this cost only 99p, though it isn't worth even that in my view. I won't be buying any more of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost interest, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
The first book is good and gets a 4.5

Sadly the second and third books linger far too long on boring technical details of how to create a water wheel or concrete or some other marvel that we all know about. (And anyone interested in accuracy might get annoyed!)

The overall concept was good but I ended up flicking through large chunks waiting for the author to get on with the actual story!

I would recommend the first book. I can't recommend books 2 or 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needs editing!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
I had to give up reading this book. It needs to be edited. One of the chapters gets repeated. Too confusing to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different!, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced easy read. Lovely unique concepts. A well written journey that keeps you engaged.
I bought the next book as soon as I had finished this set.
Super human meets time travel meets historical meets futuristic.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great Start, very poor finish!!., 21 July 2014
By 
Mr. Brian Mounsher "Brizzy" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
The reason I'm only given this trilogy 2 stars is because the first book was five stars, a very good on the edge of your seat reading exciting great storyline, the second book was long winded dirge far too descriptive dragged on and on and on zzzzzzzzzzz, the third booked carried on in the same vain and I have to admit this has been the first time I have skipped chapters and read a few pages here and a few pages there and still it droned on. It such a shame as I really enjoyed the first book.
Needless to say I will not be purchasing(even if it was free)or reading anymore of this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Aliomenti Saga Boxed Set (Books 1-3), 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
A different perspective on a story where normal humans become so much more,with plenty of secrets to uncover and gripping to keep you turning those pages to uncover the secrets page by page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars First book started well but after that the writing was ..., 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
First book started well but after that the writing was clumsy there was no true sense of the period( characters spoke american) or character development
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good SF super human story, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
Interest saga that travels through time the struggles of group of super humans and how power brings ..... scary arrogant, destructive bunch of folk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing after a promising start, 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed book 1 and was looking forward to the next. However book 2 slow and frankly boring - gave up before book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love this set i have also brought book 4 and ..., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3) (Kindle Edition)
i love this set i have also brought book 4 and 5 and am reading 5 now im hooked these are well written and a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3)
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews