Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars37
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2014
This is a book of two halves. In the first half the author makes his initial claim very clearly and convincingly that the fundamental beliefs common to all monotheism are not merely wrong but incoherent. The argument is persuasive and it is hard to deny the conclusion that to sincerely hold to such beliefs is so contrary to logic that it is a form of lunacy.

In the second half of the book the argument moves steadily into what I suspect was probably the author's reason for writing the book, namely the danger of Islamism or Islamofascism or Islamic fascism, call it what you will, that confronts the world today. The best section of the book comes toward the end when twenty reasons are given for recognising the fascistic character of Islamism. I thought the approach of a twenty point checklist comparing Islamism with Nazism was a compelling way of getting the argument across. Personally, I thought this section was worth the price of the book by itself, since it is a fairly short book and doesn't cost much. I found the whole thing thought-provoking and if you agree with the basic argument, as I found that I did, then by the end our prospects for the future look quite intimidating.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
This is a short book but a really enjoyable one at that. The author makes his attack not on any one particular religion or any particular belief or any bad history but the very root of religious belief, that being an all creating God, that he answers prayer and demands worship. These are the main beliefs of any religion, you can't be religious if you don't believe in these fundamental things yet as the author so wittily argues the beliefs are once really examined totally insane. It really deconstructs religious belief and examines it in a logical manner to find out the core beliefs and shows that they are highly irrational and that its believers are, well, mad.
Don't let that offend you too much of you are a believer, but you should really look into what it is you say you believe and decide then if its rational. I especially loved the first chapter on God which shows that the whole concept in unimaginable and therefor impossible and destroys the believers usual defense of hiding behind vague language.

Well recommended for anyone though i'm sure it will be more widely read by atheists and agnostics, still i guarantee a good laugh and a clear picture of what it is religious people believe.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
The book points out yet more reasons why religion is just a collection of ridiculous, contradictory ideas.

The reasoning is thought out and straightforward. I can't really see much wrong with the author's thought processes. I don't agree with everything he says, but it is a good read.

An earlier reviewer criticised what he saw as the book turning into a denouncement of Islam. Yes, towards the end it does. But I don't see this as a bad thing. The more that people speak up against things that they don't like, the better.

You aren't "allowed" to say anything against Islam, it seems. I don't agree.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
This little books of Sanity is so engrossing, Intelligently written and explanation of complex philosophical thoughts is so simple that you are bound to love it. It amazes throughout and amuses at places. Life long held beliefs are destroyed right before your eyes. You are defence less and speechless. It teaches you the art of thinking and thereby living. You will understand how to live a life well examined.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Real common sense. Well worth reading. I have never thought religious belief and doctrine has any logic at all so it was good to read such a clearly thought through synopsis of sensible reasoning. Religious belief systems are thinly disguised political ideologies useful for manipulating masses and,, where a desired outcome is required (usually fuelled by greed (we want your resources, thank you very much) and driven, as often as not,by testosterone (exuberant, enthusiastic war-mongers re usually male), a useful tool for brainwashing a given populace into conflict for the greater gain of the perpetrator. People might be offended by some of the content if they are fervent believers in one dogma or another but this little tome may help to at least drop the seeds of doubt here and there. Recommended reading.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
I have read many a books on religion, from dawkins to hitchins, and all good, but for thickos like me, sometimes a bit to deep and heavy. but this book is clear and logical from start to finish, very short, but should be read by everyone who cares about our world.
read it and stand tall for rationalism, or we are all doomed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
An intelligent and energetic work that requires an answer and challenge that I cannot give. I would love to see a reasoned counter to this.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
So many words used by religious believers are meaningless. Anyone who lives in the real world would find this book supportive.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Don't be automatically put off by the title, this is a book everyone, believer or non-believer, should read. For you the devout, whatever your religion, it won't change your mind but it will give you amazing insight into your underlying beliefs: Insight that might give you a new direction and your understanding of people of other religions. For the non-believer, it will be like a breath of fresh air that will remove any last doubts of how to lead your life. For officials in authority, it should cause alarm and prompt them consider if they are ignoring some vital truths clearly evident in today's society.
Using simple logic, the book analyses many aspects of religion to reveal many inconsistencies in holy text and human practices. The author writes in an insistent and direct manner pulling no punches that might offend sensitive people. Thoroughly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
I was enjoying this right up until the point where he claimed God is like a feminist because he has all the power and yet takes no responsibility. I would love to know in what universe feminists have 'all the power' because it is not this one.

In fact, the belief that women are inherently inferior and should obey men and are here purely to serve men and bear their children is a tenet of the three Abrahamic religions, so logically speaking that means female equality with males should be a key tenet of atheism. Certainly most feminists aren't religious.

TL;DR - atheist makes some good points then ruins it all by revealing his religious conditioning's still intact.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)