Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncompromising and thought provoking
This is a book of two halves. In the first half the author makes his initial claim very clearly and convincingly that the fundamental beliefs common to all monotheism are not merely wrong but incoherent. The argument is persuasive and it is hard to deny the conclusion that to sincerely hold to such beliefs is so contrary to logic that it is a form of lunacy.

In...
Published 8 months ago by Steve Calf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Okay read but not a patch on Dawkins
An educated insight into atheism. At least the man seems to have done a bit of homework. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in atheism
Published 6 months ago by Dunx


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncompromising and thought provoking, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
This is a book of two halves. In the first half the author makes his initial claim very clearly and convincingly that the fundamental beliefs common to all monotheism are not merely wrong but incoherent. The argument is persuasive and it is hard to deny the conclusion that to sincerely hold to such beliefs is so contrary to logic that it is a form of lunacy.

In the second half of the book the argument moves steadily into what I suspect was probably the author's reason for writing the book, namely the danger of Islamism or Islamofascism or Islamic fascism, call it what you will, that confronts the world today. The best section of the book comes toward the end when twenty reasons are given for recognising the fascistic character of Islamism. I thought the approach of a twenty point checklist comparing Islamism with Nazism was a compelling way of getting the argument across. Personally, I thought this section was worth the price of the book by itself, since it is a fairly short book and doesn't cost much. I found the whole thing thought-provoking and if you agree with the basic argument, as I found that I did, then by the end our prospects for the future look quite intimidating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward, witty and logical, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
This is a short book but a really enjoyable one at that. The author makes his attack not on any one particular religion or any particular belief or any bad history but the very root of religious belief, that being an all creating God, that he answers prayer and demands worship. These are the main beliefs of any religion, you can't be religious if you don't believe in these fundamental things yet as the author so wittily argues the beliefs are once really examined totally insane. It really deconstructs religious belief and examines it in a logical manner to find out the core beliefs and shows that they are highly irrational and that its believers are, well, mad.
Don't let that offend you too much of you are a believer, but you should really look into what it is you say you believe and decide then if its rational. I especially loved the first chapter on God which shows that the whole concept in unimaginable and therefor impossible and destroys the believers usual defense of hiding behind vague language.

Well recommended for anyone though i'm sure it will be more widely read by atheists and agnostics, still i guarantee a good laugh and a clear picture of what it is religious people believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many good points, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
The book points out yet more reasons why religion is just a collection of ridiculous, contradictory ideas.

The reasoning is thought out and straightforward. I can't really see much wrong with the author's thought processes. I don't agree with everything he says, but it is a good read.

An earlier reviewer criticised what he saw as the book turning into a denouncement of Islam. Yes, towards the end it does. But I don't see this as a bad thing. The more that people speak up against things that they don't like, the better.

You aren't "allowed" to say anything against Islam, it seems. I don't agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UTTERLY LOGICAL, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Helen MacAllister (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
Real common sense. Well worth reading. I have never thought religious belief and doctrine has any logic at all so it was good to read such a clearly thought through synopsis of sensible reasoning. Religious belief systems are thinly disguised political ideologies useful for manipulating masses and,, where a desired outcome is required (usually fuelled by greed (we want your resources, thank you very much) and driven, as often as not,by testosterone (exuberant, enthusiastic war-mongers re usually male), a useful tool for brainwashing a given populace into conflict for the greater gain of the perpetrator. People might be offended by some of the content if they are fervent believers in one dogma or another but this little tome may help to at least drop the seeds of doubt here and there. Recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Challenge, 11 July 2014
By 
G. Nottage (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
An intelligent and energetic work that requires an answer and challenge that I cannot give. I would love to see a reasoned counter to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think about it., 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
So many words used by religious believers are meaningless. Anyone who lives in the real world would find this book supportive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monotheism dismantled beautifully and rationally, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
This little books of Sanity is so engrossing, Intelligently written and explanation of complex philosophical thoughts is so simple that you are bound to love it. It amazes throughout and amuses at places. Life long held beliefs are destroyed right before your eyes. You are defence less and speechless. It teaches you the art of thinking and thereby living. You will understand how to live a life well examined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Okay read but not a patch on Dawkins, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
An educated insight into atheism. At least the man seems to have done a bit of homework. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in atheism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So true. When will people learn to think?, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
So true.When will people learn to think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Got to be a joke, 20 Dec 2013
By 
David Benton (Southend, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All God Worshippers Are Mad: a little book of sanity (Kindle Edition)
I liked the style of this book but it was very repetitive. I gave it up after reading about half of it. The writer made his point in the first chapter. The rest of the book gave the same compelling message by similar examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews