Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of best albums I have ever listened to
I must say I was never truely a great fan of RATM. When I heard ''Rage Against The Machine'' and ''Evil Empire'' my musical taste at that time was in bias of dance orientated, popular/commercial tracks, that on reflection held little depth and passion. RATM's first two albums I can say have lead me to a far greater appreciation of all styles of music. So when I heard this...
Published on 9 Feb 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars more RAGE needed
Enter Shikari's forefathers, in other words for people who like to think with their music. Ok it's not a necessity to care about what they are going on about but it only improves the experience.

RATM mix hip hop with groovy metal to powerful political effect, it should be a legal requirement to play RATM at any dissenting event no one could fail to be...
Published on 22 July 2012 by Anoosh Falak Rafat


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of best albums I have ever listened to, 9 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I must say I was never truely a great fan of RATM. When I heard ''Rage Against The Machine'' and ''Evil Empire'' my musical taste at that time was in bias of dance orientated, popular/commercial tracks, that on reflection held little depth and passion. RATM's first two albums I can say have lead me to a far greater appreciation of all styles of music. So when I heard this album was going to be released I was doubtful as to whether that raw, passionate anger would still excist, both In Zach's voice and the infamous bass lines. The first track I heard of the album was 'Born of a broken man' and was completely blown away. My favourite song from RATM is ''Bulls on parade'' and I thought no other track would come close to its vicious sound. Well ''Born of a broken man'' proved to me that RATM had certainly not lost anything from the previous albums. As mentioned this Is possibly the only album in my collection that I don't have to skip through. Every single song in its own right is awesome, with some of the best lyrics, outstanding bass work and pure funking rock!! Songs like ''Born of a broken man'', ''Guerrilla Radio'' and ''Sleep now in the fire'' are indeed standouts, but possibly the most arousing track is ''Voice of the Voiceless''. No matter what mood I am in, that track stirs up so many varied emotions. In conclusion any true RATM fan, might indeed think there are no classics resting on this album, however I truely think they excist as modern classics. I recommend this album without doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, mature, and downright brutal return to the fore, 18 Nov 1999
By A Customer
Having been less than impressed with the Rages last offering, the initial riff in Testify made my heart sink... It really does sound like a poor attempt to replicate the sound of their first album, and quite frankly demonstrates the band's lack of musical training. However, from the nanosecond Morello kicks in with Guerilla Radios first riff you will be left in no doubt that they are back on form... and then some. It is impossible to overstate the brilliance of Rage Against The Machine. Love 'em or hate 'em, Morello is without a doubt one of the most innovative guitarists of his time (perhaps ever), yet he manages to demonstrate sublime restraint thoughout the album... solos are perfectly timed, silence used as a devastating tool. De La Rocha is on typically brutal form, his lyrics as politically sharp as they are melodically powerful. Songs such as New Millenium Homes echo their first offering, with Voice of the Voiceless, or Maria showing just what they are capable of. In 1993 we all hailed Rage Against the Machine. In 1997 we reckoned it might be time to look to others for our anti-establishment inspiration. Oh how wrong we were...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick that on your Guerilla Radio, 5 April 2004
What can I say. I put this on my stereo system and was blown away by the sheer power of this music that was coming through my speakers. The raw tenacity of Zach De La Rocha's political lyrics could knock you through a brick wall. His words mean so much, it seems impossible that someone sould write anything that's so true and so moving. 'Same bodies buried hungry but with different last names' from the track 'Calm like a Bomb' is just a taster of the things that will amaze you if you buy this album.
Tom Morrelo's guitar work on this album is simply breathtaking. His guitar playing is unparelleled and when you hear his soloing on this album you can virtually smell the guitar riffs he is laying down. One of the album highlights is 'Sleep now in the fire' which boasts a stunning intro. Also the bass and drum playing by Tim Commerford and Brad Wilks only further delights your ears when you hear it. If you dont own this cd you must be insane as it can't be matched. From the first note of 'Testify' right to the last of 'War within a Breath' you will be on a rollercoaster of great tunes. Enjoy people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is there to say?, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
Once again, Rage are angry. Once again, they want to tell you about it, with such conviction, style, and sheer power, that even the most ardent, skinhead Nazi would be tempted to start putting posters of Che Guevara up on his walls.
The sound has changed again: whereas the first album trod a fine line between rap and rock, and the second focused on the bass, this is a more polished, all-out rock record. While Zack's rapping loses none of its power and boldness (not to mention his ability to carry a tune well), songs like "Sleep Now In The Fire" and (take note of the spelling) "Guerrilla Radio" feature Tom Morrello at his very best, delivering riffs that could topple the Capitalist system on their own. The solo on the "Sleep Now In The Fire" wespecially, no matter where I am, always makes me want to air guitar and scissor kick.
Meanwhile Rage tackle a more varied subject matter: international slavery in "Maria", media bloodlessness in "Testify" and all-out revolution in "War Within A Breath", to name but a few. Coupled with such revolutionary fury, superb riffs and solos, vitriol-filled lyrics and some fantastic basslines, this is the "Communist Manifesto" for Generation X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album by a long way, 6 Oct 2001
By A Customer
this album is a great one for any RATM fan its mint from a great beginning in 'Testify' with Tom Morrello yet again leting out some great sounds then with 'guerrila radio' used in the video game 'Tony Hawk pro skater 2' which is also great then 'calm like a bomb' which starts softly then an explosion of sound with more strong lyrics from Zack De La Rocha combining his music with political views. Then onn to one of the worst songs on the album but its still a monster mc check which has a rap feel to it. then my favourite song on the whole album 'sleep now in the fire' its a great song that makes u want to dance but also has very clever lyrics byh incororating Zacks political views as well. the next song 'born of a broken man'which is also great the only sonngs worth mentioning after that is 'born of ghosts' and 'ashes in the fall'
This is another great album by a great band and another 'crossover' style classic generally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it gets five stars cus it's different, but still the same., 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
i have seen the reviews here for this album, and the previous rage albums too, and i have to say, some people don't have a clue what they're talkin about. Evil Empire is criticised for not being the same as the self titled debut, but that's the whole point of the album. If Rage had came back with the same style, they would have been criticised for going stale, so they changed it, and sacrificed they sales of a few simple minded 'rebels'. The same applies to de la soul, who also showed that when u make a debut album so amzing in its style, u cant just do the same over again, cus it will be shit.
the same applies to batlle of LA. Zach displays his rapping dexterity on tracks like 'maria', where he has a smooth flow, and he has progressed from the crazy shouts and chants of there debut. they also have more traditional rock tracks too, 'sleep now in the fire', but still get across there poltical stance well. if ur a fan of rage, u won't say one album is better than the other, because u will realise is a natural progression of the style, and there style would seem faded and boring if they had just rehashed the original. buy it, buy there other albums, appreciate music with a meaning, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, yet totally different. Still perfect! :o), 2 Sep 2000
By 
RATM released in 93. Everybody everywhere loved it. Evil Empire comes in 97, and a lot of people don't like it. It was different. Now it's 3rd time round and another album, another change in style, and a lot of people don't like it this time.
I on the other hand love every little bit of it. If they released another mosh-athon or another diverse guitar hiphop collection, I would be dissappointed at them running out of ideas. Instead they have made another totally fresh delivery system for their message. More musical, with more flowing from Zack and some mighty fine works from the band. It almost seems like Rage have gotten a little older and are changing the music accordingly. It reminds me of how the Beastie Boys have changed lately. This is a good thing in my opinion, as this album makes you think, as well as making you want to jump up and rampage. As usual, if one of these songs appeared on a normal album, it would be the golden nugget, but in its setting, I can only say that all the songs deserve special credit. Rage haven't yet made a lousy song, and I think they'll have retired and become angry senators before they do.
Long live the kings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars basically... the best yet, 4 July 2001
By A Customer
After two powerful records, Rage have come back with another. However, I personally believe that this is the most rounded and varied album they have produced to date. "Testify" is a great start to the album, with soaring guitar and thumping bass, the all out attack upon media and corporate agenda is delivered with an outstanding level of passion. "Born of a broken man" brings different emotions through the lyrical style and content, alongside excellent musicianship. "Ashes in the fall" builds the tension, leading to a great finale, and the use of a violin bow on the guitar for the intro works well. However, Rage seem to have left the most powerful track til last (as on the first lp): "War within a breath" recalls the recurring themes of Mexican opression, mentioning the Zapatista uprising from "new years day" 1994. This song brings all the power Rage have, with a sense of hope.
All in all i find this the most emotional, varied and powerful album Rage have ever recorded, with no weak tracks, excellent musicianship, and some of the most hard hitting lyrics around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is this "it"? i think it is...., 20 Jun 2002
well, what can i say. r.a.t.m have done it again!!! an album of pure brilliance, not a weak song on the playlist. after having heard their self titled debut album i doubted they could produce another album to such standards. this is level with "r.a.t.m", it by no means beats it but has the same energy, talent and dedication as before. "evil empire", "battle of l.a."'s predecessor is a well written but takes a lot of listening for it to grow on you. "battle of l.a." still has the indefinite life span but is more instant dynamite and a very powerful listen. each song has the strong, catchy guitar riffs and infectious bass lines that are r.a.t.m's trademark. highlights are "sleep now in the fire", check out zack's scream at the start, "voice of the voiceless", short but with a killer guitar riff and "testify", a blasting opener to the album which lets you know that you're gonna love the rest of it!! a must for any rap/metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nail bitingly exciting, 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This is painfully hard hitting from its lyrics through to the symbolic cover. However it is the best in RATM's accomplished catalogue. It has some of the best riffing guitar work i have ever heard and this is from a Zeppelin fan!! The track 'Maria' always stands out from the crowd to me, however I suspect Guerrila Radio and Sleep Now in the Fire are the real masterpieces with their repetitive preaching, thumping their messages home effectively. I find it difficult to believe they pulled off this incredible work after the disappointing Evil Empire (although that is still sweet). I recommend this to every RATM fan!! All beginners should get the eclectic first album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battle Of Los Angeles
The Battle Of Los Angeles by Rage Against The Machine
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews