Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling this a covers album does no justice.
Critics generally passed this off, with the exception of a few music magazines that hailed what would be Rage Against The Machine's last album. But as one magazine said about RATM's previous album, "who cares? This rocks."
Rage make every song on this album their own. Even turning the Rolling Stones' 'Street Fighting Man' into a breakneck speed, beat and...
Published on 25 Dec 2002 by gentleartofchoking

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Renegades
`Renegades' is RATM's covers album and although it's not as fresh or immediate as their other albums, it has plenty to offer existing fans. `Pistol Grip Pump' has an awesome sound and never fails to get me psyched up and ready for the rest of the album, `Kick Out the Jam' is a particular highlight and their rendition of Springsteens `The Ghost of Tom Joad' makes for an...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Spider Monkey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling this a covers album does no justice., 25 Dec 2002
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
Critics generally passed this off, with the exception of a few music magazines that hailed what would be Rage Against The Machine's last album. But as one magazine said about RATM's previous album, "who cares? This rocks."
Rage make every song on this album their own. Even turning the Rolling Stones' 'Street Fighting Man' into a breakneck speed, beat and effect-driven whirlwind, Zack's voice going from lazy drawls to heavy whispering, to classic Zack screams.
The angry, violent 'How I Could Just Kill A Man' or the thunderous bass displayed on the cover Volume 10's 'Pistol Grip Pump' are amazing lessons in how rap and metal should be combined, as is the opening 'Microphone Fiend', or Afrika Bambattaa's classic 'Renegades Of Funk'. The last is practically a description of Rage in one chorus.
A groove-laden version of Bruce Springsteen's haunting 'The Ghost Of Tom Joad' is here, also a almost apocalyptic cover of Bob Dylan's 'Maggie's Farm'. There is one problem, but I am nitpicking, is that that the haunting whispered acoustic cover of Devo's 'Beautiful World' is not the closing song, but hey, Rage never did anything the orthodox way.
The only covers album to ever be essential. You need this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine curtain call., 17 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
By 1999, RATM felt like a spent force. Having spent aeons producing their second and third albums (four years between their debut and Evil Empire; three years between that and The Battle of Los Angeles) the cracks were starting to show. But the band confounded all expectation, releasing a covers album in tribute to the artists that influenced them growing up, produced by - who else, for a record of this nature? - Rick Rubin.

All told, this is a patchy album, but the better tracks more than make up for it, and a good way for the band to bow out. Springsteen's 'The Ghost of Tom Joad' is a gloriously echoing epic that made it justifiably into their latter-day setlists. 'How I Could Just Kill A Man' is a faithful, if slightly rocked up, Cypress hill song that feels like it was written for RATM. 'Kick Out The Jams' is one of the weaker moments due to Tom Morello's outlandish solo; always an inventive player, just this once the song would have been more suited to a normal solo.

There are less enjoyable covers here as well - 'Pistol Grip Pump,' 'Street Fighting Man' - but all the songs here, good or bad, are blown away by the closer, 'Maggie's Farm.' Previously one the standouts of Dylan's wondrous Bringing It All Back Home album, it's the song the band rework to the best effect. The song is almost completely unrecognisable except for the fantastic lyrics, with Morello's multi-textured, explosive solo replacing Dylan's wheezy harmonica with ease. It's six and a half minutes in length, and - just like 'Freedom' on their first album - is a fitting closer to the album and the band's career.

This album is not perfect; it may not even have been necessary. But if you want to complete all the pieces of the Rage Against The Machine picture, you need to buy this album, to see where the ideas came from for the most incendiary band of the 1990s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rage are Stunning in Zack's Breath-taking Finale!, 8 April 2001
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
After the shock announcement which leaves one of the most explosively vibrant bands of our time without a front man, and many fans without the band which was their inspiration and drive, comes RENEGADES; Rage Against The Machine's 4th album. Perhaps at first a curious concept for a band so inventive- its an album of cover versions- Rage's choice reworkings of a selection of politically conscious hip-hop, rap and rock songs blend perfectly. Stand out tracks include 'Kick out the Jams' (which will be familiar to anyone fortunate enough to witness their amazing live set), the anger unleashed that is 'In My Eyes', furious hip-hop groove 'How I could Just Kill A Man' and a storming version of the 80s classic 'Maggie's Farm'. Tom Morello's characteristically forceful guitar solos and Zack's hard-edged though surprisingly versatile vocal talents give RENEGADES a fresh, cutting-edge feel which recaptures the power of their self-titled debut. Add to this 2 bonus live tracks and you have an unmissable album no Rage fan should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not simply a covers album, 27 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. P. D. Bryant (Rhondda, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
This album appears to many as a covers album, using none of their own material. This is definately not the case. The reason for this album was celebrating and applauding influences and good friends of the band (Cypress Hill in particular), by re-recording their hits. I use the word 're-recording' because the 'covers' of the songs are completely reworked to fit the mould of the Rage style we all know and love. People who simply dismiss this album really haven't listened to it properly. It may not be the same without Zack's phenomenal and awe-inspiring lyrics, but it is still a masterpiece. If you listen to the original versions of songs, such as Bruce Springsteen's The Ghost of Tom Joad, you would definately not say it was a cover, but instead homage being paid to the Boss. This album has introduced me to new styles of music, the sort that made Rage what it is today, where Zack gains his rapping influences and friendships, with EPMD and Cypress Hill. After this album, i tried to listen to all the original versions, but the differences are more than significant, with the originals being awesome in their own way. I would now rate Cypress Hill as one of my favourite groups, only having discovered them through this album.
For any true Rage fan, it is obviously a must-buy. For any non-Rage fans, buy it and listen, you will be surprised what they can do, and in time may well convert you into a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a way to go out!!!!, 5 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
this is an excellent album; angry, moving and funky all at the same time. before i heard this album i was never really that into hip hop, but rage's reworkings of hip hop tracks has definitely opened up a new door of musical interest for me.
buy it! that's all i can say about this or any other album by rage, cos they were just such a powerful and sensational band.
just genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth checking out, 16 Mar 2001
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
I own all four RATM albums, and this is my second favourite after the self-titled album. My only gripe here is that it fails to deliver the anger and their controversial pollitical message as previous installments have done so well. Best songs on offer here are 'Pistol Grip Pump','Street Fighting Man','The Ghost of Tom Joad','In My Eyes' and 'Renegades of Funk'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rage are stunning in Zack's breathtaking finale!, 6 Feb 2001
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
After the shock announcement which leaves one of the most explosively vibrant bands of our time without a front man, and many fans without the band which was their inspiration and drive, comes RENEGADES; Rage Against The Machine's 4th album. Perhaps at first a curious concept for a band so inventive- its an album of cover versions- Rage's choice reworkings of a selection of politically conscious hip-hop, rap and rock songs blend perfectly. Stand out tracks include 'Kick out the Jams' (which will be familiar to anyone fortunate enough to witness their amazing live set), the anger unleashed that is 'In My Eyes', furious hip-hop groove 'How I could Just Kill A Man' and a storming version of the 80s classic 'Maggie's Farm'. Tom Morello's characteristically forceful guitar solos and Zack's hard-edged though surprisingly versatile vocal talents give RENEGADES a fresh, cutting-edge feel which recaptures the power of their self-titled debut. Add to this 2 bonus live tracks and you have an unmissable album no Rage fan should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ....... AMAZING, 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
This is RAGE at their very best. This is not an album of cover versions as was advertised before the release, but an album of originals remastered in the Rage style. They have kept to the original songs outline, while adding the trademark electric riffage of Morello and the hyped, firey vocals of Zack making this one of the best offerings from Rage yet. The two bonus live tracks shows that none of the crazy sounds are computerised but all just pure skill, They can definitly kick it live. This album is amazing in every sense of the word, a real must for any one who has bought the previous three masterpieces. Zack could not have left on a higher note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for RATM fans, 10 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
Rage return with a cover album which is excellent from the first trademark Morello sounds to last cheer of the crowd on the bonus live tracks. A warning not all of this record is typical rage but all of it is brilliant. It sees the band return to their hip-hop and punk roots. 'Kick out the Jams' wouldn't be out of place on a beastie boys album and Cypress Hill's 'How I could just kill a man' sounds more like its ratm's own work. The poignant 'Beautiful World' shows the diverse talent of the band and particularily singer Zack De La Rocha. 'In my eyes' is pure punk and Sringsteens 'The Ghost of Tom Joad' is hardly recognisable. The bonus live tracks are a consolation for those who will never hear these songs live after the departure of De La Rocha from the group. If you like ratm buy this record if you dont buy it anyway, this is album is a must for hip-hop,metal,punk,funk well music fans everywhere buy it now....go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Original Artists, 3 Feb 2006
By 
Michael Schoenborn (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renegades (Audio CD)
1. Microphone fiend - Eric B and Rakim
2. Pistol grip pump - Volume 10
3. Kick out the jam - MC5
4. Renegades of funk - Afrika Bambattaa
5. Beautiful world - Devo
6. I'm housin' - EPMD
7. In my eyes - Minor Threat
8. How could I just kill a man - Cypress Hill
9. The ghost of Tom Joad - Bruce Springsteen
10. Down on the street - The Stooges
11. Street fighting man - The Rolling Stones
12. Maggies farm - Bob Dylan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa28e0dd4)

This product

Renegades
Renegades by Rage Against The Machine
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews