Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THE albums you must own
RATM burst into the scene with this album. It is sheer class. As soon as the funky opener 'Bombtrack' begins, you are hooked right until the final track as you are taken through the expletive filled 'Killing In the Name' through heavier tracks such as 'Bullet In The Head' and heavy/funky numbers such as 'Take The Power Back', and 'Know Your Enemy'. If you own one Rage...
Published on 15 July 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too angry for me
I like guitar based music, and having read the reviews felt this was a good introduction to this band. Now I get the politics and I felt some of the guitar work on the album was very good, however the constant shouting of the singer and the over the top foul language just became boring.

I got to the 6th song and took the album out. I will go back and listen...
Published 6 months ago by Smartin


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THE albums you must own, 15 July 2002
By A Customer
RATM burst into the scene with this album. It is sheer class. As soon as the funky opener 'Bombtrack' begins, you are hooked right until the final track as you are taken through the expletive filled 'Killing In the Name' through heavier tracks such as 'Bullet In The Head' and heavy/funky numbers such as 'Take The Power Back', and 'Know Your Enemy'. If you own one Rage album, make sure it is this one. Sadly, the original line up have called it a day, and I was privileged to see them perform live. This was also one of the graet things about Rage, in that they are superb live, and equally good on record. This is definitely a must have and shall remain a classic 9 years on from its release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Union, 24 Jan 2001
Many associate Rage with the nu-metal revolution. Let me make it clear that Rage are not part of any Limp Bizkitt dribblings. They are the real thing. They are leading their own revolution with political standpoints and views.
The combination of hip hop and rock was originally coined upon by The Beastie Boys. But Rage took this and produced one of the greatest albums I know. Throughout the album the riffs leave you with an unexplainable need to funk. Zack's voice is aggressive and never seems to faulter. Tom Morello is an absolutely quality guitar player. He is unusual in that he comes from a generation of people who believe simple guitar playing is good (Kurt Cobain, Black Francis, Billy corgan). But it is too easy to associate Rage with rockers. Their main influences (not that i like it) lie in the world of hip hop with rap groups like Public Enemy. Perhaps this is what makes their debut album such a classic...
The union between hip hop and rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rip roaring album of anger and frustration superbly done, 15 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Well, what an album. Killing in the name is one of those songs that you can not fault. The first time you hear it you just think; oh yeah! It some how makes you feel bigger allthough the song as with many of rage's, is fairly negative. There is certainly a political spine to this album allthough this is more blatant in battle of l.a. with sleep know in the fire, testify etc. Bullet in the head is another highlight, with a fantastic riff at the end which sounds a lot like a '10 years after' song called hey little school girl. However the songs couldn't be more different lyrically, with the bullet being a metaphor for large corporations getting into our heads with their adverts ( we're just victims of the in house drive by). Know your enemy - compromise, conformity, assymilation, submission, ignorance, hypocricy, brutality, the elite, all of which are american dreams (repeat way after music has stopped), this next song has an excellent melody and inspiring lyrics.
I have missed out most of the songs, purely because i could spend half the day praising them. Basically you must have this album. I have listened to it many a time in the last decade or so and it is a benchmark metal album, expertly created full of high emotion rage and addictive vibes, which you'll never forget.
This and batlle of l.a. are their best, allthough don't miss bulls on parade, revolver and renegades of funk from the other albums. It is a real shame that we won't see any more of zack with the band, but hey they quit whilst the going was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest ever hardcore fusion, 25 Aug 2000
Firstly, let me cure some people of their obvious ignorance. The Red Hot Chili Peppers have never made hip hop or metal music. The Peppers' music is primarily funk, and is fused with hard rock. The first ever hardcore fusion of hip hop and rock is the song "Sophisticated Bitch" by Public Enemy, featuring the greatest guitarist since Hendrix, Vernon Reid. Since hearing this historic classic, I wished for nothing more fervently than a band that would commit itself to producing this incredible fusion on a full time basis. I had to wait many years for the first to appear, but words cannot describe how worthwhile the wait was. With its debut, Rage has achieved nothing less than to produce the sole hip hop album comparable in both musical and lyrical quality to Public Enemy's "Nation". "Rage" is a unique album, being the first to fuse the two genres of hip hop and metal into a distinct subgenre. Unlike any other previous attempt to bring these two genres together, "Rage"'s music would not simply be hip hop if the heavy metal element were subtracted. The rhythms, basslines and vocals would mark the music as something other. Yet, at the same time, it is obviously hip hop. This unprecedented achievement would be sufficient on its own to immortalise "Rage", yet it is merely the beginning of the album's innovations. The most striking thing is surely the guitar playing of Morello (the greatest guitarist since Reid), which on its own achieves the perfect hip hop fusion: Morello is a hybrid of DJ and lead guitarist. The same may be said of de la Rocha's vocal performance, as he swings effortlessly between the roles of rapper and screaming metal vocalist. Never have I heard such an unbridled expression of angst and rage. The regular use of a drummer to produce funky beats, rather than a drum machine, gives another unique dimension to the sound of "Rage". And the bass, by driving "Rage"'s hip hop rhythms as much as the drums, added the fourth unique dimension. I cannot recall any other band which has achieved such bona fide innovations of both style and subgenre, as both individual members and as a unit. "Rage" simply must be one of the most original recordings of all time. With "Rage", Rage showed us that an injection of metal can make a new hip hop, and an injection of hip hop can make a new metal. And they have given me one of the greatest and most powerful albums I will ever hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self-entitled- By far the best of the 3, 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
If you think metal is just power chords and noise, this album is going to blow your misconceptions away. The first, and best Rage album, the 10 tracks are all greats in their own right. Most people only ever mention anthemic songs like Bombtrack and Killing in the Name, which are great, but there are 8 other equally good tracks on the album. The band manages to combine great dynamic contrast with great solos of Tom Morello and the attacking lyrics of Zack de la Rocha. In my opinion Tom Morello is one of the best guitarists of our time as well as being one of the most imaginative people on a guitar. He can make his guitar go from sounding like scratching through to heavy, low, "metal" tones. And his solos are not the typical "metal" solos, they are radically different, sounding musical but making no musical sense. A true guitar genius. Just listen to solos on Take the Power Back and Fistful of Steel, some of few. Put together with Zacks great lyrics and rapping, the band rocked onto the scene with this album, and have never really managed to emulate it again. When people get into a band they normally buy the latest album. DONT. Buy this one, even though it is 8 years old, it is by far their best album. Even if you don't like the band, this record is a must have for any disconcerning music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rage.....makes amazing music, 25 Feb 2007
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Rage Against the Machine...the name of the band says everything about their style. Pounding beats, amazing riffs, and completely rage filled lyrics and singing-these are some of the things that make Rage Against the Machine so compelling. There is NO filler in this album, it just pounds and rages through the entire length. Anarchy is a constant feature in Rage Against the Machine's songs, especially in this album. Songs like 'Killing in the name of' and 'know your enemy' show exactly how this works. For example, 'F*** you i wont do what you tell me' in 'Killing in the name of' pretty much underlines the entire band's purpose; stirring up controversy while keeping musical elements in their songs. The bands name says a lot about their style - the name is a term for rebelling against the authority, and their music surely proves that the name is rightfully used. Zach De la Rocha's singing/rapping goes very well with the band's heavy baselines and beats. Though this CD is around 15 years old, it still seems as fresh as ever. I think it is a great pity that the band broke up, and even though the remaining members (everyone minus Zach De la Rocha) of Rage against the Machine went on to form Audioslave, Audioslave much less controversial, and (in my opinion) their lyrics and baselines a lot less powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget "Nu-Metal": this is the real deal, 28 April 2002
By A Customer
This album would be a bargain at 50 quid!! If you worship at the rock-rap temple, then "Know Your Enemy", "Bullet In The Head" and the mighty, mighty "Killing In The Name Of" will be your holy trinity. Having said that, the other tracks are no make-weights either with "Freedom" one of the greatest exits to an album that you'll ever hear. More than 10 million copies sold in the US while Fred Durst & co were still sucking their thumbs . Listen closely to the lyrics too - hard hitting, political, intelligent, delivered with bile and menace. Will have you moshing round your bedroom in air guitar heaven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-educates newbies, 15 May 2001
By A Customer
I notice that ppl often overhype music on this website, but I can safely say that they aren't on this. RATM's debut charted the direction of rock and metal in the 90s...unsurprisingly the album still sounds fresh as it did when it was released at the beginning of 1993. Guitarist Tom Morello's hooks are irritatingly catchy, by the time you've heard this album twice you will be humming all the tracks to yourself. Best track? Standouts are obviously Killing In The Name and Bullet In The Head, but growers like Freedom and Township Rebellion prove to be just as good if not better. If you know anything at all about music this album needs no introduction. If of course you are a silly newbie kid who worships Korn, Papa Roach etc. you will clearly see that this band probably have more talent in their appendixes. One of the most essential albums of all time - and for the 90s, along with Nevermind, the most important release of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic album, 10 July 2006
By 
hatebadmusic (Bolton, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was lucky enough to dicover this band first time round. I'm writing this review many years later, after just replaying this record for the first time in years. Back then I always thought this was a great album, but now it's turned into a masterpiece. Tracks like wake up, which I thought were good back then are now standouts. I must admit I don't usually go for music with a political slant, as it can all seem to fake. Not so with this record, the rants of Zack de la Rocha are genuine and straight from the guts. Backed with a tight band and a guitarist with perhaps the most unique approach of the last 20 years. Although many people call this "rap metal" don't draw comparisions with the likes of Limp Bizkit. This a genuine record, not the nu - metal and metal core dirge that passes for rock music these days.

I was lucky enough to catch this band live at the time of this record and when "Killing In The Name Of" was powering through the mainstream charts, and was getting regular daytime air play on Radio 1 with all the language blanked out. The band live could only be described as incendiary. This album is a must buy for anyone into music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Rap Metal!, 19 Mar 2005
I hate rap. I hate it with vengeance. But i love this band. This is one of my favourite albums of all time. I'm usually a thrash metal man, but this is something really different that took my fancy. Each song is so good. You can really shout along to most of the songs, especially if you agree with the whole rebellious feel against 'The Machine' that is still relevant now, despite all of this being written in the 90's. This album also happens to be one of the only albums to come out of the 90s that i've really rated highly; the band, instead of following an already over crowded grunge scene, made music in a way nobody had ever seen before.

Zach de la Rocha on vocals is the centre of attention throughout; his anger, emotion & just general presence & charisma shines through. His voice & lyrics give the music a personality that you just can't find anywhere else; this is RATM & he's making sure you know it.

But beyond the iconic figure of De la Rocha is a character that has become an icon himself for a very different reason; Tom Morello's guitar speaks in as much volume as any vocalist. Riffs that make buildings crumble not to mention the great solos this guy has at his finger tips aswell as the ability to make the weirdest noises possible on an electric guitar.

There's not much point in going into details about each indiviual song as they are all very powerful, angry, guitar driven with funky rap verses & cool bass lines. The classic 'Killing in The Name' and 'Wake Up' stand out as my personal favourites but this really is brilliant from start to finish.

This is completely essential and has the power to insight rebellion like no other music

5Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rage Against The Machine
Rage Against The Machine by Rage Against The Machine
Buy MP3 Album1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews