Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Hitchcock
This is the master at his most characteristic, if not quite on his best form. A hugely enjoyable propaganda romp with first rate performances all round (take note of Robert Benchley and Edmund Gwenn in minor roles). The film is a model of economy and for those looking for Hitchcock's visual 'touches' we have the assasin fleeing through a crowd of umbrellas, to quote only...
Published on 16 Dec. 2003 by J. Skade

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Read all about it!
Hitchcocks second American foray is a romping flag waver echoing themes presented in the 39steps and subesquently followed in Saboteur. The bones of the tale are wrapped in a story about an American reporter sent to cover political upheaval in Europe. He sets about shadowing the leader of a political peace movement and soon discovers it to be a hotbed of fifth columnists...
Published 13 months ago by Steven


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor presentation of great film, 21 April 2009
By 
stickinsect (Sydney NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not quite top-notch Hitchcock, but still a great movie. Unfortunately this UK DVD edition contains a mediocre print and no extras. Avoid this at all costs and instead get the US R1 Warner Bros edition which has a better print transfer, and contains the theatrical trailer and a making of documentary "Personal History: Foreign Hitchcock".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foreign Correspondent - worth its weight in gold, 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film not only because I lenjoy this film era but to study the fashions etc for an exam I was taking. I enjoyed the film very much and it was very good for my study too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Look forward to watching this film again. Very good service. Love Alfred Hitchcock. I shall be purchasing more in the future.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early Hitchcock, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very dated early Alfred Hitchcock. Well performed if slightly corny, but an enjoyable nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love with a girl, and I'm going to help hang her father, 24 Aug. 2008
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another of Hitchcock's "forgotten" classics, few realise that this film was nominated for SIX Academy Awards, including Best Picture and Best Original Screenplay.

It's certainly difficult, even more than 65 years after it was made, to watch this without one eye on the propaganda "message" of the film, but Hitch's first thought was always towards the entertainment value of his movies. And whilst this may not be a North By Northwest, say, it certainly deserves to be ranked towards the upper echelon of his efforts.

Johnny Jones (or Huntley Havestock if you will) is an American journalist sent to London to eek out a war story for his newspaper. He finds himself battling against mysterious forces after witnessing the apparent assassination of peace activist Van Meer.

Joel McCrea is strong as the eponymous hero of the hour, although he is hampered by some ridiculous flaws within his character, and whilst Laraine Day is good as the love interest Carol Fisher, their romance is perhaps less than believable. Whereas in the 39 Steps you could see why Pamela would fall for Richard Hannay, despite her initial frostiness to his behaviour, it jars just how quickly Fisher starts to believe Jones/Havestock and falls in love with him.

There are some good supporting performances as well, not least Herbert Marshall, as one of Hitchcock's trademark cultured villains, which go a long way to overcoming the few minor problems that exist with the film. Albert Bassermann, despite learning English phonetically for the part, managed to grab a best supporting nomination at the Academy Awards.

Hitch offers up some fantastic set pieces (Van Meer's assassination, the chase to the Windmill and, best of all, the climactic plane crash) and whilst it can be difficult to have much empathy with Huntley Havestock (you will at times feel more sorry for Marshall's villainous but human Stephen Fisher) at it's heart the movie is a rollocking roller-coster ride of action.

Yes it's a bit slow to get going and does perhaps have too many endings (although one can understand the need to clear everything up AND make a fairly direct plea to America in respect of the War that was raging in real life) but these are minor considerations. Whilst there are bettter films in the Hitchcock canon this remains a stong entry and one that is very much worth a couple of hours of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitle at all, 21 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the movie, but there are no english subtitles.
I like to watch movies with English subtitles, because sometimes I can't catch up with the dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hartley Haverstock - another great Hitchcock name, 6 Oct. 2013
Its reputation seems to have declined somewhat over the years but it seems to be the link between The 39 Steps and North By Northwest - the three great Hitchcock chase films. Clever, suggestive dialogue; an urbane enemy; a McGuffin no one needs to care about but is about world domination in one way or another; a grand climax, guns and chases. Always interesting and benefiting from three, to my mind, class leading men in Joel McCrea,George Sanders and Herbert Marshall. Also Robert Benchley as an amusing reformed drunk, Stebbins. I'm not sure about Laraine Day - there's not the amusing by-play of Robert Donat and Madeleine Carroll or the highly charged scenes of Cary Grant and Eva Marie Saint - perhaps that's what it lacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Hitch, 24 Nov. 2008
By 
Gizmophobic - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The other reviews cover most of the points I was going to make so I'll be brief. I expect there are many taking advantage of the various Hitchcock boxset offers around and after being delighted with their quality are wondering whether to pick up the remaining Hitchcock films at a slightly higher (per film) price. There need be no qualms with this one. Although comments about the contrived plot are relevant, you could make the same argument about many of today's supposedly sophisticated thrillers. What we have here is a compelling,visually wonderful, romp through the wartorn Europe Hitchcock had just left behind. When you consider the context the speech at the end is a great cinematic moment. Hitch also gets believeable performances from nearly all the cast- Laraine Day was a complete surprise-I thought for a moment I was watching Colbert or Theresa Wright-whatever happened to her film career?
So if you like your boxset you need this-as well as Rebecca, Notorious, Lifeboat etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WEAK HITCHCOCK, 8 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Foreign Correspondent (DVD)
Despite director Alfred Hitchcock’s brilliant visual technique, he cannot make this much more than patriotic propaganda designed to persuade the United States to join forces with the British Empire against Nazi Germany. The love story gets short shrift in favor of the plotting, and the sexual chemistry is not present in any case. The usual sexual humor is also therefore weak and we really do not care for the couple because they are little more than stereotypes. This makes the silly plot all the more distracting - as it was not in the similarly-themed but far superior Casablanca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Early Gem, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Foreign Correspondent [Blu-ray] [1940] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
A hugely enjoyable comedy thriller from Hitchcock.Criterion have to be congratulated on their beautiful transfer.Start your Hitchcock collection right here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews